We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the young at heart” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jambos Bar and Restaurant

Jambos Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Paje
Cuisines: American, Bar, African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“For the young at heart”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The party!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!It rocked! In real Isaland style! Rasta invited me and I was doubtful to go but it was really fun to be there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Palesa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Jambo Bar - a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Contrary to the previous post, I must comment that we loved Jambo Bar and its people. Yes, the food took a while, but they went out and brought everything fresh that you ordered, then had it prepared in another hut. We went everyday for the 10 days we were on Paje. Perfect place,cool hosts, loved Biali, Fire and everyone. It made our visit special because we were with locals. It was different and special ... not the norm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hamnerishlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi Pakistan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly over-rated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

After researching extensively we discovered this bar/restaraunt which had the highest rating in almost every category. Unfortunately, the reality was quite the opposite. We ordered the chicken burger and a plate of calamri with fries - the chicken burger was actually a chicken breast piece forced between two pieces of bread, no garnish, no mayo no nothing. the calamari was slightly better, but only marginally so. the service was deplorable - these two dishes arrived one hour twenty minutes after ordering them and our requests for the food were met with, 'Okay...ill check with the kitchen' but no one would get back to us.
The only thing lovely about this bar/restaurant was the beach - but then you can get that anywhere along the entire stretch! But the prices are relatively cheaper....so...if you are looking for a warm drink/coke/beer, with poor service, poor quality food you will enjoy this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Summaiya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dancing and Drinking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Jambo bar is the place to be every Friday night. Here the locals come to dance, Jambo style and you can dance the night away or simply sit down and enjoy the atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shazza b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“friday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

if you are looking for a friday night party: the place to go. unfortunately, they play a lot of commercial music, but it's a nice mixture of tourists and locals. amazing spot, directly on the beach, fair prices, entertaining barkeepers!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank k_dreamer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jambos Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Paje, Zanzibar Island
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 
Paje, Zanzibar Island
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Jambos Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing