We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Teddy's place - very expensive for what it is” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Teddy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Teddy's Place
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Zanzibar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Teddy's place - very expensive for what it is”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We've paid a lot to have practically a hostel accommodation. Shared bathrooms, no water (so the bathrooms were not very clean), dirty sheets and mosquito nets, not curtains on the windows, no waste bin, no privacy, breakfast was ok.
For the conditions, we would have expected to pay not more than half!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beatrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    36
    14
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
41
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I spent 2 weeks at New Teddy’s Place and I was very happy with my choice. It's ideal for backpackers and all "young souls", who prefer good vibes over 5 star conditions. All bungalows have sandy floors and the bathroom is shared. The food at the bar is good and the prices very reasonable. The location is perfect for kitesurfers, as it's very close to the beach. There are also several kite schools in the closest neighbourhood.
But the best at Teddy’s is its staff - always friendly and helpful. Greetings to Nadja, Simba, Genius & Co. And remember - "Life is a chicken!" ;)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

In start to make a difference, theres is a Teddy's place and New Teddy's place. We stayed in New one. What to say, being on this longitude and lattitude you dont need much to feel great and for this price you can afford to stay longer. It's great place to spend time, staff is very friendly, food is very good, toalets clean. Forget about shoes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sne_Mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The New Teddy's Place is great value for your money with exceptional hospitality. The staff made be feel welcome and comfortable as soon as I arrived. The guests are super cool, and it is easy to meet people around the bar/dining area which is an open and friendly environment- day and evening.

Rooms and bathrooms are exceptionally clean (rooms have nets and fans). Delicious breakfast is included. The menu for dinner and lunch has a lot of variety and is very reasonably priced.There is a beach volleyball court on site. Paje beach is blissful, and water activities can be arranged.

I had a very fun and relaxing stay.If I return to Zan, I will be returning to Teddy's. Thanks!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The staff were friendly and the position and make up of the accommodation was simple yet effective as you felt like you were on a beach holiday. The chill out area was wonderful and the cleanliness was out the top draw.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed in a big bungalow with sand floor and hand-made wooden furniture. Bed was a small climb to the top of the hut. Really nice and romantic.
There's a backpacker vibe in this place, mostly young people which we thought was great. It's really easy to meet new people at the bar. Staff is also very nice. I recommend the friday night buffet, there's lot of variety and good tastes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h4b4nero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reykjavik
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is the Happy Place in Zanzibar. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, relaxing environment and the beach is amazing..We were supposed to stay there for 2 nights, but stayed there for a weak.
..................................................................

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kolla p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 21 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Jambo Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Property: New Teddy's Place
Address: P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — New Teddy's Place 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your New Teddy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing