We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Teddy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Teddy's Place
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in New Teddy's Place. The place has a great feel to it and a nice location right on the beach in Paje. The main attraction though is the staff. Some of the most fun people ever. most nights there is some kind of event going on and just hanging out in the bar is as fun as anything. there have to be some thing done about the beds though, they are horrible. I'm not a tall guy but I could not fit in mine. Also they are kind of hammocks so unless you are OK with sleeping like a banana it kind of doesn't matter how short you are. Sorry it now sounds like I wasn't pleased with my stay and that is wrong. I enjoyed tremendously my stay in New Teddy's Place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks a lot for your fair and nice review. We appreciate every kind of review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay in New Teddys Place. Hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    36
    14
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
39
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This place is very friendly, staff is amazing, they are mostly locals so u can feel the Zanzibar best atmosphere. It is not a hotel so if u expect perfect condition u will not find those there, but the atmosphere rewards all. Best double Rum&Cola, good prices of food an beverage. Only disadvantage is that it hasn't got direct access to the beach - u need to go over the wall - 100m.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmichu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for that great review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope that you where able to enjoy the nice beachview from our amsterdam and hope you are coming back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Really good beach and nicely designed place. Rooms good value but food and drink a bit expensive. Simba the Barman is a very cool guy. There could be some more sunbeds on the beach. But otherwise great!! Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
thanks so much for your amazing review! it's a great pleasure for all of us to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here with some friends for 3 week in December 2012 and it was the best time ever! The people are so fun and it is a chill young atmosphere all the staff and friends are very friendly and hanging out there at nights are always fun. The food was great and good prices. The sand floors were really cool and no shoes are required, we did not wear them for 3 weeks!! Great location with beaches not overcrowded, the water is blue and clear as can be :) We stayed in the dorms and felt comfortable having all my belongings and camera in there and beds were comfortable as well. Would totally recommend this place if you are looking for a fun, young cheap place to stay with great staff and location!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

After hearing about this hostel and having taken a look at the website, we had high expectations about this place. Unfortunately, there was a big mismatch between what we expected and what New Teddy's Place offered us. Although we like and appreciate the philosophy behind the hostel (affordable food and stay, a free and 'hippie' atmosphere, everyone is welcome) and staying there is indeed very affordable, we feel like the philosophy has been pushed through too far and has gone wild. Staff is welcoming you and behaving as in the episodes of MTV Cribs (with the same overdone language and attitude). Everything is an exaggeration which made us feel very uneasy and it felt awkward being there and wanting some privacy that we did not get. We did not have the chance to really relax, because staff was constantly approaching us in a pushy popular way. I would say that for people who like to be with others (who are not genuine, trying to be who they are not and have a fake and exaggerated attitude) constantly, and like to be 'sandy' all the time (going to bed with sandy feet, because there is a sand floor everywhere), this is the place to be. For others, take a look at the other beautiful accomodations that are nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T_Koomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for using tripadvisor to review your stay here. We have been working with this page for many years and are glad about any constructive criticism. We are now able to work on it to make your future stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We've paid a lot to have practically a hostel accommodation. Shared bathrooms, no water (so the bathrooms were not very clean), dirty sheets and mosquito nets, not curtains on the windows, no waste bin, no privacy, breakfast was ok.
For the conditions, we would have expected to pay not more than half!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beatrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I spent 2 weeks at New Teddy’s Place and I was very happy with my choice. It's ideal for backpackers and all "young souls", who prefer good vibes over 5 star conditions. All bungalows have sandy floors and the bathroom is shared. The food at the bar is good and the prices very reasonable. The location is perfect for kitesurfers, as it's very close to the beach. There are also several kite schools in the closest neighbourhood.
But the best at Teddy’s is its staff - always friendly and helpful. Greetings to Nadja, Simba, Genius & Co. And remember - "Life is a chicken!" ;)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 21 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Jambo Beach Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Summer Dream Lodge
Summer Dream Lodge
#4 of 21 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Property: New Teddy's Place
Address: P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — New Teddy's Place 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your New Teddy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing