We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Teddy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Teddy's Place
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great place to stay! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at teddys from the 5th to 7th July. It is a beautiful place to stay especially in our own private huts. The staff were very friendly especially at the bar and made it very fun when we had a few drinks one night. It's perfect location as it's a 2 second walk to one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen! There was a volley ball net at teddys which my boyfriend took part in one match against lots of different people staying there! Really good place to meet other travellers! The only negative point I have about teddys is that we ordered a chicken curry one night which came out with raw chicken. We sent it back and received another meal fairly quickly however we were then very ill 12 hours later for about a week afterwards which was diagnosed as food poisoning. Therefore a week of our trip in Zanzibar and Tanzania was not as enjoyable due to being very ill. However I would still recommend teddys but just stay away from the chicken! Could have happened anywhere though!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hey guys thanks a lot for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your time here. We are more then sorry about the food accident and checked everything straight after we heard that. Again sorry so much and we hope it will never happen again and we hope that even it happend you will choose our place again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    36
    14
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
39
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The manager and team never feel like service providers but more like friends you are spending time with. This provided atmosphere is transferred to all guests. In combination with the rooms and bar on the white sands makes new teddy`s to the perfect and most familiar traveler place. First place to stay on Zanzibar!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
You guys have been so super cool guests and we would be so happy to see you again. Thanks for staying with us and the good time we had with you guys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I´ve been at New Teddy´s in April. It was my second stay over there and I didn´t expect it to be even better than the first one. But in fact it was. I only wanted to stay there for a few days and ended up staying there for two weeks in total. You will find just the perfect mixture of nice people, a beautiful location and a great spirit. The stuff is extraordinary, and you will fall in love with each character as they all contribute to a beautiful experience. The manager is wonderful and helps you with whatever you need. She really loves what she does, which you will feel right away. I´ve been to a lot of places all over the world and I wouldn´t consider myself as somebody who visits a place twice, but I would go there again, any time. With its exotic, colorful and warm appearance, New Teddy´s embodies the character of Zanzibar. It is by far the best price-performance ratio which you can get in town. From my experience I can tell that New Teddy´s guarantees you a great time at one of the most beautifule spots in the world. And a special thanks again to the stuff. You guys are amazing! Thanks for creating a place which makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
dear conny thanks for your lovely review and we where super happy to see you again. We are happy that you enjoyed your time so much and have nothing else to say then: we hope to see you soon a 3. time - Karibu sanaaaaa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at New Teddys as we were looking for somewhere cheap for our time in Zanzibar.
The dorm room was similar to other Zanzibar hostels with a sand floor. The bathrooms were nice and clean.
The bar was quite fun with nice bar staff.
I agree with previous reviews however that the lady who owns the hostel is quite abrupt and can seem rather grumpy. This affected the atmosphere of the hostel and was one of the reasons we didn't stay longer.
Overall teddys is ok as one of the few budget places to stay in Paje.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our place and had a good time. Sorry if the manager seemed to be grumpy but we are sure that wasn´t ment to be in any bad way but of course even that review we will take serious. We hope you had a good rest time on zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking for the following things, then New Teddy's is a fabulous place: budget accommodation (as far as we could tell, this is the cheapest place to stay in Paje), great location (although please note that it is not on the beach but rather inside a wall a few hundred meters from the beach), and lively social atmosphere. If you are a young, single traveler, New Teddy's is a great place to meet people as they plan social activities and outings, and the bar is lively every night. Also, their free breakfasts are delicious! We didn't try any other meals so can't comment on the quality of the rest of their food, but their menu certainly looked good.

If you are looking for comfort or a good night's sleep, this is not the place to stay. The huts have sand floors, and some kind of creatures (mice? large insects?) chew on the roof thatching at night making lots of noise. Bathrooms are shared (they're actually nicer than the huts and kept very clean), but the showers are cold. If you want to sleep early, there is no escaping the nightly loud music from the bar.

A note about the price: Paje in general is expensive. New Teddy's is the cheapest, but it is expensive for what it is. Comparing this to other hotels is like comparing apples and oranges as New Teddy's is more like camping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review and the honesty. As you say we are one of the cheapest places in Paje and offer accommodation on a backpacker budget. Most of our guests love the sandfloor and we also promote that officially on our website. We are located quite near to the beach but have to deal with the located animals (insects/ bushbabys/ birds - who acutally love it to jump on the roofs in the early morning hours) We offer mosquito spray in all our rooms to provide a proper sleep for our guests. We are sorry if you couldn´t get a proper sleep cause of the bar music. But of course we appreciate it if you come directly in the morning and tell us that we can change it immediately to give you a nice and relaxed holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
339 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a great stay here, we stayed in a "hut" and it was all in all nice, might need new mosquito nets that are whole and fits all the beds but apart from that it really nice.

It can be social, we stayed for a few days and some of them where really social and some were pretty dead so to say, the prices are good and the food is ok.

The staff is really great, lots of fun with these guys.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep and be the most sure you will be able to do that stay as far away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TozCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy that you had a good time here. And also thanks for the advices only like that we can improve. Hope to have you back one day. Your New Teddy´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a great time at New teddys place, but we thought it was a bit expensive, but maybe zanzibar in general is expensive, because this was the cheapest place we found in Paje.
The rooms were ok, but it was sand all over the place. The dorms were walls and roof on the sand. It was a bit cool in the beginning, but you get really tired of all the sand everywhere. The woman that owned the place seemed a bit cranky and were not specially good in service. The food wasn`t that good either, but just ok. The people in the bar were cool, and we met several backpackers there. That was nice. The location was ok, but since the beach wasn´t that nice, I would rather stayed at a place with a pool if you´re looking for tanning. We went to paje by night every day to eat lunch and tan by the pool.
If you are going for kiting, the place was crowded. But we heard that it´s a nice spot for kiting. We did some kiting in Mosambique with much less people, and for that we are glad. But we met a lot of cool people in Paje and had a really good time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#3 of 21 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Jambo Beach Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Summer Dream Lodge
Summer Dream Lodge
#4 of 21 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Property: New Teddy's Place
Address: P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — New Teddy's Place 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your New Teddy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing