We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teddy's - the place to be on Zanzibar!”
Review of New Teddy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Teddy's Place
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Hildesheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Teddy's - the place to be on Zanzibar!”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I've rarely seen a low-budget place as beautiful as Teddy's! If you come there you really become part of the Teddy's Place familiy...The Zanzibar vibes just go right into you...being able to relax, leave all the stress behind you and just enjoy your time. On ZNZ there are lots of things to do..from snorkelling, dolphin tours, discovering the island (e.g. ZNZ National Park or the Zala Reptile Park) and Stonetown or just swimming in the great Indian Ocean on the beach that seems as if you got it right for yourself, and partying as well of course :-) The staff will always help you with this. They really know what they're talking about and will not try to palm you off, they will really put their shoulder to the wheel.
Prices are really affordable and the food is just delicious. The rooms (which are called Bandas) are simple but clean and equipped with mosquito nets and fans (spray against mosquitos is also available). I can really recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porcellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    38
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
43
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Teddy's Place is surely the best option in Paje and reasonably priced (in comparison to the high prices elsewhere on Zanzibar). The Bandas have sand floor and everything is very clean (so are toilets and showers) and superromantic. It's not right on the beach (half a minute walk) and they organize every Wednesday a big party till the morning - the rest of the week is very quiet. The part-time manager Nadine from Germany is very helpful in all matters. I even got after-sun and Aloe Vera to cut in the beautiful garden. After the dolphin tour we bought a fish and Teddy, the owner and cook, made a delicious fish and even invited us for the rice and preparing. Also Teddy likes cooking and finally someone adds spices :-)
Nadine is also very helpful with internet and is working constantly to make the place even better - also Markus from Germany who works there is always helpful with good advices. They all put so much effort in this place to make the stay a great time (btw, they just opened in spring 2010). No doubt, one of the best plaes I stayed in Tanzania on my journey in 4 weeks!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomrom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

i stayed here after finishing a six month work contract in zanzibar and to be fair i knew the guys who worked there before i came to stay. That being said, i had worked and lived in a 5* hotel so this was always going to come as a major shock havin previously had air con and internet in my room!
The whole place is really charming and so are the people who work there and they will literally do whatever they can to make your stay better. The huts you stay in have 2 small beds in each one and the floor is sand but the beds are clean and comfortable and obviously have the mozzie nets as well. If you want the bed changing after a couple of days you just need to ask as other than that nobody will go in to your room.
The 6 nights i was there, there was a party in the bar a couple of the nights but everyone staying at the time was aksed if they wanted to have a bit of a blow out the day before so there was never any ill feeling toward the bar for that. Dont forget thought that this place is a bar as much as it is a hostel and there are people coming and going during th day and night for it.
They have a big wall around the whole place and the main gate is always locked and manned during the night.
I dont really remember if i was ever charged for my breakfast let alone how much but others staying chose to eat breakfast which was always fruit and then omlette with bread.
I would only offer one word of waning, be careful not to drop something into mr cool's hair, you might not see it again! haha!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benkeirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

lovely place teddy's place, teddy does the best goat in zanzibar in my opinion, and the staff are really friendly, good fun and easy going. Zanzibar isnt the cheapest place but teddy's is very affordable, both the rooms and food and drink. Rooms are clean, comforatable and rustic,, with fans and mosquito nets, and the beach is just a stones throw away. if you visit, make sure you get yourself the renound teddy's place cocktail - tasi taxi

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank clubnile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.5 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 23 in Paje
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Property: New Teddy's Place
Address: P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — New Teddy's Place 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your New Teddy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing