We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I would first like to thank the entire staff of Ndame. I really felt like I was right at home. I travelled to Zanzibar with an open mind and it helped a lot. From the day I set my foot in Ndame Beach Lodge to the day I left I have nothing bad to say. My room was clean at all times, the food was great (especially the pizzas), ocean view as I was promised and the best service ever. I love and miss everyone and I can't wait to go back. Thank you to all! Asanteni!! - solo traveller from Cape Town

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phakamisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you felt so welcome as a single female traveller and that our staff made sure that you had everything that you need. We hope to welcome you again here soon! We are sending lots of love from the entire team to Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    94
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
39
104
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here with a friend for 5 nights in April. We had a really lovely time there. The location is amazing, right on the beach and our room was lovely. We had a twin room, very clean, and on arrival there were fresh flowers on our bed, which was a really nice touch. The room was cleaned every day and every day there was a fresh basin of water left outside our room for us to clean our feet. We did have to ask for fresh beach towels. There were two power outages while we were there so it's always a good idea to have a backup torch! Internet was available at reception. My only problem is the price really. Meals and drinks were quite expensive compared to what we had been used to on the mainland, however, we did have a walk down the beach and ate at some other places and the prices at Ndame were the same as along the strip so I think this is probably reflective of the area. We also had a morning trip we organised through Ndame to go dolphin spotting and snorkelling. Unfortunately, another family on our boat were feeling unwell so we only had about 30 minutes dolphin spotting and about 5 minutes snorkelling but we still had to pay the full $60. However, overall I really enjoyed my stay at Ndame, the staff were lovely and very friendly and the personal touches were lovely. Oh, and the beach is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obries11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are taking your comments on board. The reason that you had to ask for fresh beach towels is probably due to the fact that we try to save some water by not changing these towels every day - however, we will pass the information on to housekeeping to keep an eye on this. Regarding the food prices, you quite rightly compared it to the places along the beach - in comparison we find that we have a great value for money. Coming from the mainland though, we understand that the prices were rather high in comparison. This is unfortunately the case in all of Zanzibar - being an island presents a geographical challenge to have everything supplied at a reasonable price, therefore prices for everything (not just food) tend to be higher than on mainland Tanzania. We wish we could change this, but we are trying our best to keep the value-for-money at its best.
We have passed on your comments regarding the tour to our captain - it is unfortunate that you had a less than satisfactory experience with the dolphin tour.
We hope to welcome you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at Ndame Beach Lodge for three nights over the New Year holiday and it was bliss. Ndame has everything you are looking for in a place to stay in Paje: great location on the beach, beach bar, decent food in the restaurant. The hosts are very helpful and responded to our many email questions. There are a few friendly Masai that help manage the beach chairs. Ndame is a bit more expensive that other Paje places but it is worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are about 30-40 meters back from the beach and all face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we are happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay with us! You seem to have enjoyed all our key features, such as the great beach, overlooked by our beach bar, and the yummy food, served by our lovely team. We are a tiny bit surprised that Ndame seems to be more expensive as we find our prices lower and value for money better compared to similar establishments around Paje - however, you stayed during peak season when everything on Zanzibar is unfortunately a bit more expensive. Nevertheless, it's been wonderful to have you hear, and it would be wonderful to welcome you in our little paradise on the beach again - the bliss is still here and waiting for you...
Sunny greetings from the Ndame Beach Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stumbled upon this place by chance having got a cab from Stonetown to find another place in Paje. How lucky were we? Simple, beautiful, delicious food and friendly staff. Couldn't have asked for more. We were supposed to stay a few days we stayed for about ten. Breakfast on the beach in the morning served up by a smiling chef with a flower in his hair made it hard to leave. The Food manager had clearly put loads of thought into the meals and the BBQs were amazing. The manager was extremely helpful, and even lent us her Vespa for a day out. Beach bar was in a perfect spot, and great location if you're into kitesurfing.
(We stayed last July meant to write this ages ago)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our place, and we are happy that you stumbled upon our place. We are glad to hear that you have had a relaxing and enjoyable time in our little paradise on the beach, and appreciate your comments. Our chefs still like to flower up the breakfast buffet - one of our assistant chefs has now earned the nickname Mr Flowerman. It's always nice to hear that our guests have a positive experiences with our staff and our food - we certainly do our best to make everyone feel comfortable at home.
We hope to welcome you back one day
All the best from the Ndame Beach Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

First, I don't think it's right to charge $75 for twin room and $95 for double bed. Whats the difference if it's still two people?? Second, I will never understand why owners in the year 2014 still allow smoking in restaurants! How do you think your nonsmoking paying $95 a night guest feels when they sit down in the morning about to have breakfast and instead get to inhale someones cancer stick? I had to move 3 times to get away from people trying to give me lung cancer!!!!! The rooms are basic, very uncomfortable. Soap in the shower still from the previous person, ants and bugs everywhere, holes in the mosquito net to be bitten all night. I've stayed in bungalows all over Indo, South East Asia, South America, Central America and you can get the same basic rustic room for more like $40 a night and have been very comfortable. Only good thing going for them is the staff and breakfast. Nice people, but the owners should give them something to be proud of to work for.

Room Tip: Find a place with a/c or good mosquitoes nets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review Ndame Beach Lodge – we appreciate the feedback, but it is unfortunate to hear that you’ve had a biased experience in our establishment. First of all, regarding your comments of different prices of rooms – all our rooms are very different and there are hardly two rooms alike. Our prices are not based on the number of people staying in the room, but on the quality of the rooms. We’re not sure whether you have had a chance to look at the individual rooms, but we are sure that you would agree with us that we cannot charge the same rate for every room as the standards vary. We like to keep it this way as it gives our guests with different budgets a choice.
Regarding the smoking, there is no law against it, and so far it hasn’t been such a problem that a guest would feel the need to write a review on TripAdvisor about it – this would mainly be due to the fact that our restaurant is open on two sides and usually the smoke does not disturb other guests. We assume that it had been a rainy day, which is why the smoke will have bothered you as there was not much breeze coming through the window. Unfortunately for you, the laws in Africa are somewhat more lax than in America, and while we can understand that from your background this would be a responsibility of the owner to ban it completely, the culture here is somewhat different.
If you read about Zanzibar before travelling, you might have also got the information that unfortunately, Zanzibar is a bit more expensive compared to the rest of Africa, and especially compared to Asia and South America. As a matter of fact, price ranges in Zanzibar are far higher than in Asia. We appreciate that you are able to draw back on a wealth of travelling experiences; however, it is difficult to compare one continent to another as the circumstances and influences are completely different. Zanzibar is an island which has some infrastructural and logistical challenges as well as a few not well-chosen policies implemented – a combination which results in prices being generally higher and budget travelling more difficult. The value for price in our lodge is more than adequate if you compare it to other accommodation within the region or along the beach with a location like ours. For your ideal budget of $40, you tend to get a much lower standard in accommodation and service, which maybe you have found out on your remaining travels across the island.
Finally, we appreciate that you recognized our staff to be one of our most important assets. Despite your impression, they are proud to be working for Ndame Beach Lodge and we have a good team. Most staff that we told about this review were very surprised to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It would have helped us to hear your comments during your stay as we haven’t received any complaints from you while you were still at the lodge. Retrospectively, we can only say that we are sorry to hear that our little paradise on the beach, which many other guests comment on favourably, did not live up to your expectations. We hope that your remaining journey had more pleasant experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHANGHAI
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The lodge seemed not well managed.When we 6 persons arrived at 9PM,the receiption was cloased and only some handymen helped us to find our room.One of the room was different from what we booked,not twin beds, no sea view. When I complained on the next morning, the offical answer was "room was recoded"(!) and since ours were prepaid by credit card,there was no refund of the difference between the sea view room and normal one!!
Besides, the waitress of the bar was not good either, I puchased an bottle of water on 2000TZS,meanwhile, it costed one of my friend 5 USD!!!(1USD=1600TZS), only because he had no TZS cash...
To be fair, I must report another thing.We ordered a set of lobster on one dinner.The poor lobster seemd to have stayed on land(instead of the Indian ocean) for too many days and tasted not good at all. The lodge finnally reduced the price of the lobster from the total amout of the dinner.

Beyond all above all, the Paje beach with smooth white sand is very quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XUEGANG Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience at Ndame Beach Lodge. It seems that you made your blackmailing threat true and left a review on TripAdvisor, despite the fact that we tried to accommodate your unjustified complaints. TripAdvisor is under the impression that your review follows their guidelines, but from our perspective, your review has major flaws and includes lies.
First of all, you were made aware of the fact that the reception is closed after 6pm in previous email communication, and we had advised you that there would be someone taking you to your room - we are a bit surprised that this causes you to leave such comments because it all happened as agreed in previous emails. The miscommunication regarding the room was not the official answer - we tried to explain how it happened, and we provided you with an alternative room as soon as possible. If you book via an intermediary, refund becomes a more complicated matter. Furthermore, you were under the impression that you had a sea view room booked when your reservation via a third party did not explicitly state sea view. The room is front line beach and offers partial sea view.You asked for a complete refund of one night when the price of staying at our hotel does not only include the room or view of the room, but also the atmosphere, location (which you admit was beautiful), breakfast and our staff. Obviously, this review is the result of your frustration of not having been granted the refund that you have hoped for.
Regarding the missing change in the restaurant, the waitress in question remembered you as guests but you never ordered with her, so it seems that this incident happened in a different hotel. Even in case there is no change or a guest has only US, change is given in TZ Shillings - if not right away, we make every effort to solve it as soon as possible. You never asked or received the discount that you mention as you finished the entire lobster - our waiters vividly remember how every one in your party liked it so much that you would make sure to get every single piece of meat of it. It is unfortunate that you don’t even mention the fact that the kitchen staff prepared an octopus lunch for you on special request for which you were very grateful – at least that was the impression that you gave to the staff.
We are disappointed to see that you felt the need to write such a fabricated and wrong review of the events at the hotel. We pride ourselves in having a great team of staff which makes our guests feel welcome and relaxed within a laid-back atmosphere in our little paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I had booked a room via email and drove here with my family from stone town. Unfortunately the manager had messed up our booking and the only other room available in paje was very dodgy:/ however, we did get lunch on the house but it was a very long drive for nothing :/

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hejdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review the hotel, and we appreciate any feedback. While there has been some internal miscommunication regarding your last-minute reservation (which unfortunately can happen during the busiest time of the year), it is unfortunate to hear that it has influenced your experience in such a way that you did not enjoy the stay in Paje. We did make every effort to find alternative accommodation for you and accommodated you for free lunch, and since you only spend a couple of hours in our hotel, it seems that you are now reviewing the alternative hotel instead of ours as you have only experienced some aspects of our hotel. It is a shame that all our efforts to make up for your experience do not seem to be enough to satisfy your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
1.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
24.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#4 of 8 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar

Property: Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Address: Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndame Beach Lodge in Paje Zanzibar has been a dream beach holiday destination for more than 8 years. Sun-seekers and Indian Ocean lovers from all over the world come to stay with us. Our 14 bungalows with 31 rooms are strung along in lush tropical gardens on the shores of one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Stretching more than 250 m along snow white beaches, where the warm, turquoise waters caress the shores. From Ndame you can start a variety of activities like swimming with the dolphins, kiting, diving, visiting the local markets, snorkeling, learning about local culture and the spices which grow here in abundance. The Arabs called it the Spice Island. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our restaurant and bar, have a chat with interesting people from all over the world. At times we accommodate guests from more than 20 countries. A much loved highlight is our bonfire grill below the sparkling stars of the southern hemisphere. In our local style beach bar we serve you fresh fruit juices, tasty cocktails or exotic local drinks for the daring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Hotel Paje
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing