We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice all around, very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights after our arrival from the USA to Tanzania, and it was flat out amazing. The cabins were fairly basic, but that was fine because I was hardly ever in mine. The beach was clean and without seaweed. Plenty of places to sit around. The water was as colorful as the pictures show. The real surprise to me was how good and affordable the food and drinks were here, despite the fact that you were essentially isolated and forced to eat there. Kudos to management for not gouging. The breakfast was also quite good.

All in all, I had a great time and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely experience with us and that you enjoyed our lodge, particularly the food. While we are happy that you ate within our establishment most of the time, we find that there are some nice alternatives in the surrounding area - in comparison though, we do find that we have one of the best value-for-money. We hope that you will be able to join us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Ndame Beach Lodge was suggested to me by my Kite surfing instructor! What an amazing recommendation! I stayed there in July 14 with my family and couple of friends. It was absolutely perfect! The rooms are cozy and nice, village hut type, the rooms have all you need in this surrounding. The room is just in front of the beach. White sands. Amazing place to go kitesurfing in July season. The restaurant has the best food in the area and occasionally cultural shows. I would go back any time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suba U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our little paradise on the beach - we are glad that you got recommended and followed the tip, and we are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. Paje beach is great for kitesurfing, and we also think that our lodge presents the ideal base for a great kiting holiday. We hope you are able to join us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Africa the first time for us, and we had a great time staying at NDAME for 3 weeks. To note is the excellent food, plenty of it and freshly sourced! Not to forget the friendly Chef who we enjoyed chatting to. Staff helpful, informative and accommodating our needs. The location we found a little paradise: having breakfast while enjoying the view of the Indian Ocean only a couple of metres away will remain a wonderful memory. The owner a 'good guy', and a real source of knowledge about African culture. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a nice review of our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the food and the friendly staff. Big boss Hans certainly knows how to share a story or two, and Chef Mike knows how to cook up a lovely dinner, that is for sure - we are glad you had a good time! We hope that you will be able to join us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and left very upset we didn't stay longer.
Very beautiful setting with discreet bungalows hidden among trees and a beautiful beach with enough loungers.
Didn't book a sea view but our bungalow had one anyway which was nice.

Food was excellent and good selection of cocktails and drinks.
Such a good relaxed atmosphere and highly highly recommend.

Have absolutely no negative comments - what a great place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fcrazza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our little paradise on the beach - we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Of course we would have liked for you to stay much longer, but let's hope that one day you are able to join us again at this lovely beach with our great staff and yummy food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We found this place by accident while driving in Paje. The beach is stunning (at high tide tough only) with the restaurant and cafe right in front. The place is very cozy with sand. The food was always succulent as the chef changes the menu based on fresh products. Try the Swahili food but also the pizza. Was disappointed by the cocktail bar (very slow service, pole pole, and not generous with alcohol) hence I preferred the local beers. Finally the bungalow, bathroom were nice, clean and with all you need to feel at ease! I still give it a 5* but would be good to fix the few little issues mentioned above.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hussein D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking you time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly the food, the beach and the room. We find the beach stunning at both low and high tide because we think that the changing of scenery makes a nice 'beach TV', we are glad you enjoyed it though. We will take your comments regarding the bar service on board - we haven't had anyone commenting on the lack of alcohol so far, and we do follow the standard recipes and procedures without any funny businees. Nevertheless, we hope that next time you come and visit us you will have a more favourable experience. We hope to welcome you here again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stunning island stunning beach lodge stunning food - everything was just awesome! Owners were friendly, approachable and so relaxed!

See you again in December 2014 for more sunshine, tourist attractions and more importantly fun and relaxing !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Alun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our little paradise on the beach, and it is great to hear that you are coming back. Our white sandy beach and turquoise blue ocean is waiting for you, as is our fantastic team. Let's hope your second stay will top the first one, we have made some improvements in the past year so let's see what you say! Karibu tena - you are welcome again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I just came back from Tanzania and Zanzibar trip. I was travelling with my friend from Uganda and by coincidence we came to Ndame Beach Lodge. Wow! We weren't sorry even for a minute! Such a nice place to stay at! Rooms are nice and big, clean. Houses are spaced enough from each other people can't disturb you (this is a big plus!), beach is just in front of houses, now the restaurant - omg that food is so good, i want to go back now :-) Mr.Mike (or Michael) who is taking care of cooking - you can see he is real expert! Chicken, fish, pizza... everything was soooo good. Especially Hawaii pizza with black olives and tasteful ham! Prices are ok, not too expensive (but i am from Europe, so prices at home are higher). Everyone is very friendly, all the staff in restaurant, the other boss (Hans?), just everyone is always smiling and willing to help. Restaurant is such a nice quiet place, nice wooden tables, very relaxing place - i could sit there for hours. One day ill go back to Zanzibar and i dont even think of going anywhere else than Ndame. The only thing they need to fix is put wi-fi in restaurant although there is wi-fi 30 meters away from restaurant at the reception but we people are lazy ;-) All the best and I hope to eat your pizza again Mr.Michael!

Matjaz from Slovenia & Irene from Uganda

Room Tip: Any room there is nice but we stayed in number 24 i think. very nice and quiet section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and would love to welcome you back! Our restaurant has become very popular in recent years, and we know that this is due to Mr Mike and his team with their fantastic cooking.
Although it is a bit late, we can now tell you that the only fault we had according to you has been fixed: Wifi is now available in the restaurant without any problems!
We hope to see you here again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.1 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 8 in Paje
186 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
564 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#4 of 8 in Paje
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar

Address: Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range: £51 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndame Beach Lodge in Paje Zanzibar has been a dream beach holiday destination for more than 8 years. Sun-seekers and Indian Ocean lovers from all over the world come to stay with us. Our 14 bungalows with 31 rooms are strung along in lush tropical gardens on the shores of one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Stretching more than 250 m along snow white beaches, where the warm, turquoise waters caress the shores. From Ndame you can start a variety of activities like swimming with the dolphins, kiting, diving, visiting the local markets, snorkeling, learning about local culture and the spices which grow here in abundance. The Arabs called it the Spice Island. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our restaurant and bar, have a chat with interesting people from all over the world. At times we accommodate guests from more than 20 countries. A much loved highlight is our bonfire grill below the sparkling stars of the southern hemisphere. In our local style beach bar we serve you fresh fruit juices, tasty cocktails or exotic local drinks for the daring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Hotel Paje
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing