We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, relaxing holiday was had”
Review of Jaribu Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paje
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jaribu Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Paje B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
“lovely, relaxing holiday was had”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

From beginning to end, we had a wonderful experience staying at Jaribu. During the online booking process, Rachel was extremely helpful with every little question I had, and gave great advice. On arrival, we were really taken by the setting and the clean and tastefully decorated bedrooms, down to the flowers laid on the beds. Each room had it own private veranda overlooking the ocean. The restaurant was the first prize though, right on the beach, comfortable couches and a great rustic and relaxing vibe.

Mosquitoes were a problem, but when we mentioned this, they came to spray our rooms daily.

Nothing was too much hassle for Rachel and Masood. We mentioned drinks we liked from South Africa, and they sourced them for us. The men in our group wanted good meat, so they organised a spit braai for us.

I spent many hours on the beach sun beds under the umbrellas, and it was the perfect place for me to recuperate after my gruelling hike up Kilimanjaro. The location is great, between two fishing villages, both easily accessible by foot, but away from the noisy party scene. We had an amazing stay, and would love the return. We would recommend this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridM285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The manager is very nice and the rooms are very simple quite new and spacious, nevertheless there are build in a way not to take advantage of the evening breeze, even if there is a fan it isn't enough, the water is not always working especially at night it wasn't at all functional ( what if you are sick to your stomach?) - this was the main problem , electricity broke down serval times day and night and there wasn't a generator , the staff did not clean the room every day, so this is no place to stay for shy people , you need to ask for everything, I survived building my own shower but sincerely for this price you get better hotels with more options and service. Also only cash payment .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acquanimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel-ZnZ, Owner at Jaribu Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

Regarding the rooms: Our rooms are built in such a way to take advantage of the sea views. The breeze direction changes throughout the year, & sometimes there's no breeze at night.

Regarding water: Any issues with plumbing/water are normally dealt with promptly. We advise our guests to report any issues they may have, so we can put things right straight away.

Regarding Electricity: Electricity power cuts are a normal everyday occurrence on the whole island. We have no control over the main power grid. We do have a generator on-site.

Thank you for your positive comments, but I feel the rating you've given us (Terrible), is not a true reflection of our service and establishment. We have many satisfied guests who stay at Jaribu!

Kind Regards
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paje hotels

BenAhmed
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Rachel and Masood have a good team. The place is still finding its feet a little and you feel that its a work in progress rather than a finished product.

Rooms with a fan, simple bathroom with sink, shower and w/c. The beds were confortable and sheets weregood quality and clean. You have your own little porch for lazing around and watching/listening to the sea.

The grounds are well planted, and well kept, and right on the edge of the indian ocean.

Breakfast was great. A mix of toast, fruit, and an egg cooked anyway you wanted. Coffee and tea.

Lunch and Dinner were great. All the time! However, you do wait, and wait. The service is great, and the beer is cold, but don't wait until your hungry.

Its a great find, you'll have a really relaxed time and the team there will go the extra mile. It's definately worth staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

...Simply it is so cheap that you as if pay very little, therefore you get very little in return. Which isn't a complaint. Rooms are very basic, but fairly clean, same with bathroom. There was actually plenty of warm water and water pressure was much stronger than many other places. On a check in, you get couple of "locals" lazying about in what looks like reception, who then eventually sort things well for you - not a good first impression when you arrive thou. Breakfast was decent, very little, but nice. Arguably had the smallest glass of juice I ever seen and still was half empty/full. I'd imagine beach is stunning, we however saw lot of seaweed. On the beach and in the water, which makes swimming less pleasant. "Locals" say they can cook you dinner etc, but haven't got menu, it is just catch of the day... We ended up walking towards Jambiani to get some food - simply as after being offered so much stuff on beaches/streets with no fixed price and need for haggling, we just wanted to see a thing and its price and get on with it.

Overall this place is alright. As said, it is so cheap that you can't expect much back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found it a dream. It is on a very quiet part of the coast just what we were looking for. Whoever does the cooking is very skilled we had some lovely evening meals there.. The breakfasts were the best we had in all of our stay in Tanzania. yes we did have the nice touch of flowers and rolled towels on the bed. i do not think not getting these is a reason for complaint! Our room was of good quality comfy bed, intact net - nice bathroom, always hot water from a good shower and it was all very clean. The music selections were extremely interesting being an eclectic mix of world music - a refreshing change from a lot of inappropriate western rubbish to be heard in a lot of the other hotels. It was very good value for what we got. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zero550657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We were the only guests at the time that we stayed. It was extremely quiet round and about. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The place seems to be still finding its feet a little. Breakfasts were interesting but filling. Good value for money.

If you are travelling on a budget, this is a good place to stay. If you are expecting 5 star luxury, go somewhere else. We had an enjoyabale few days here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern_Rachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It’s very nice place, very quite. Where we arrived nobody was there but we liked the place so couple minutes of waiting for some stuff was ok indeed bus driver already wanted to take us to other hotel. First day we got some blankets and towels and they cleared away a hornet nest. We had very delicious prawns and calamari there first evening, actually we ate all our four dinners only there. Breakfast was supposed to be served from 7:30.. in 8:20 we woke up the cook and in 9:00 we had nice breakfast but this improved next days. And we didn’t like when they coated chairs, table and door with oil in our bungalow..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paje hotels
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.0 mi away
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean Blue
Zanzibar Ocean Blue
#6 of 19 in Paje
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 24 in Paje
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaribu Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaribu Beach Hotel

Property: Jaribu Beach Hotel
Address: South East Coast | Paje/Jambiani, Paje PO Box 450, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaribu Beach Hotel. We are a newly opened hotel, situated on the South East coast of Zanzibar, on the border of Paje/Jambiani. We offer affordable, comfortable, clean accommodation. Our authentic rooms are all sea-facing with an en-suite bathroom and private veranda. Our restaurant and beach bar overlook the stunning turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. Here you can enjoy freshly cooked meals, whilst observing the picture postcard views and occasional passing Dhows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jaribu Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing