We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Paradise”
Review of Demani Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Demani Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Island Paradise”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I couldn't think of a better way to end our 3 months in Africa than at Demani. The staff was super helpful and friendly, the food and drinks were really good (and a good price considering the location), the breakfasts were delicious, our bungalow - double ensuite - was perfect and had a hammock right outside the door, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. I felt like I should've been paying wayy more per night, which probably added to the appeal. Basically, I loved it and would definitely go back.
The beach is across the street, which was actually really nice because there were no hawkers around and it felt super private when you were just trying to hang out. The area of the beach they're on is maybe a 20 minute walk up the coast to Paje, where all the kite surfing and things are, which means where they are is nice and secluded for watching the sunrise and relaxing. The pool is a good substitute for the beachfront, anyway.
The one thing I would say just as a disclaimer is, if you're there on a Saturday night, as they advertise on the website, be ready for music that's bumping until 3am. We slept through it, but some people were roomed much closer to the bar than we were. I couldn't say enough good things about our stay.......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sighchedelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    31
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
53
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I rented a single room for a week. The room was small and basic (no air con or fan, concrete floor, single bed and a cupboard. But a mosquito net!). I wouldn't have stayed here so long if I hadn't enjoyed it: the bar and food and staff are amazing and I really only used that room for sleeping.

The beach is a few minutes away, across the road and it is stunning. Paje itself is about a 25-mins walk away. Or you can just rent a bicycle.

They provide daily room service and that was impeccable. Unlike many other places, Demani has a pool and it is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ele75FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Found the Demani lodge by chance because our other hostel didn't have room for us for another night but it turned out to be a good thing. Great place, very nice staff,, hot water, clean and comfortable rooms. Did not say it is excellent because it is not exactly by the beach but a 5 minute walk away. The rest is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbonavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here last year and were not disappointed on our return. Actually the huge pool is a major luxurious improvement for those days when it's a bit too windy on the beach (or you're too lazy to walk the 2 minutes to the beach). If you are looking for chilled vibes at a very affordable price, with friendly service and good food then look no further! This is the place to be!

Room Tip: Ask for the new en-suite doubles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

At the Demani Lodge, you get all the amenities of a hotel (shower, hot water, breakfast, pool, etc) at the price of a hostel. Definitely the ideal place where to stay whilst backpacking in Zanzibar! The owner is helpful and the staff are all the time pending to whatever your needs are.

Room Tip: Take a private room with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here for a week and had an amazing time! Was good value for money and in a really good location. Staff were very friendly which created a very good atmosphere around the pool and bar. Recommend for any backpackers!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

If you visit Zanzibar this hotel is an absolute must-stay!
I arrived alone and was made to feel so welcome, the staff here did everything to make your stay as good as possible!
The most picturesque hotel I've seen and awesome value for money.
I will definitely be back to visit for sure and very strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Summer Dream Lodge
Summer Dream Lodge
#4 of 22 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demani Lodge

Property: Demani Lodge
Address: Jambiani Road, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers, Kitesurfers and barefoot beach-lovers will adore the easy retreat oasis of Demani Lodge. Situated just a kilometre from Paje on the Jambiani Road, Demani's lush garden, swimming pool and easy access to the beach are topped off by flexible accommodation options with singles, doubles, triples, dorm room and nice, big rooms with wooden floor and bathroom en suite. Pick-up's can be arranged for extra cost. We have a BBQ with live music and party with DJ every Thursday, delicious food in the kitchen from 12 pm - 22 pm, and an open bar as long as there is people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Demani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demani Lodge Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing