We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savanna and Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savanna and Ocean
Ranked #3 of 16 Paje B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I love to stay in the African inspired hotel with the palmtrees around me while lying in the hammak or sitting in the restaurant drinking an icecold milkshake or eating some of the delicious food the staff serves with a smile on their faces. And with only 50 metes to the beach where you can kitesurfe, eat in one of the nice restaurants or plan a dive to one of the million spots around Zanzibar, or take a walk to Paje town only 10 minutes away, you can easely spend a whole day in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
22
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Savanna and Ocean is a great charming hotel in the heart of a little village called Paje, which is located on Zanzibar. The hotel is placed in a walking-distance to the beautiful zanzibar-beach and there are good opportunities for bathing, kiting and diving. The atmosphere at the hotel is warm and cosy. And the people who works here are so friendly and will do anything for your wellbeing. So i give my warmest recomandation of the Savanna and ocean hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having stayed at Savanna And Ocean for some time, I have experienced the great rewarding cousy feeling you can get at Savanna And Ocean. The Hotel is the cheapest in Paje and located only 100 yards from the beach. Unfortunately you don't have a view of the Indian Ocean. This however is also very nice sometimes and helps with the cousy little feeling you get at savanna and ocean. The staff is very nice and likeable. It is easy to talk with them and some of them know a few danish phrases (my nationality) because of the adventure school located just beside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterDahlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Good value for money - $60 for an ensuite, double room with air conditioning and mosquito nets. Hot water a bit hit and miss but not really a problem in a hot country. Not on the beach but only about 2 mins walk away. Thoughtfully designed, little oasis with plenty of room to relax. Is at the northern end of the beach but only 10mins walk to a cluster of restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paje
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Fantastic place to be if you want to have a nice and relaxing stay. It´s near to the beach ( which by the way is amazing), has the sweetest and most helpful staff, has good food in the restaurant and is surrounded by colorful flowers, palms and an authentic african ambiance - in the good way. Really recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissVisitTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This fits into what I call the East African Mid range hotel or guest house. Reasonable rates. Clean accomodations and a great host. I love this place!

Good restaurant, great beach (when the tide is in) and a wonderful staff.

The tours offered by the hotel are good.

This is generally a great value and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennethDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I experienced an amazing week staying at this hotel!

Highlights:
Right next to the beach!
Great rooms- with air conditioning!
Awesome restaurant- i suggest the beef burger!
Fun atmosphere- great lounge above the restaurant, plus hammocks and lounge chairs in the sandy court yard to relax with other guests

But what makes it different from the other hotels are the staff. Every member of the staff was extremely committed to making my trip as great as possible. They helped me set up all of the activities for the week (blue safari,blue lagoon, Prison Island, Cave tours, Spice tours, Jozani forest). They also helped me book a flight to Tanzania. Plus, they were extremely friendly.

Great Trip!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Kendwa
Sunset Kendwa
#141 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savanna and Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanna and Ocean

Property: Savanna and Ocean
Address: Paje east coast, Paje 0915, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Savanna & Ocean Hotel in Paje on the beautiful east coast of Zanzibar. Here you can relax in the peaceful surroundings, while you are being swept away by the adventurous Zanzibar with its countless senses of impressions. When Zanzibar a few years back was given an honour by the BBC for being the world’s best holiday island, this was mainly because of the combination of paradise, adventure, history and the grand hospitality. Words that we do not just agree with 100 %, but also really believe meet the values of what we have to offer here in our little paradise hotel. We wish to inspire our guests with an authentic atmosphere and give them the opportunity to experience the many facets of Zanzibar and Tanzania. Our friendly and obliging staff will make sure that you get exactly what you wish for, out of your stay. We offer you one of the world’s most beautiful beaches, where you can relax and just dream away for a while, we are specialists within a big range of experiences for those who wish to explore that inner adventurer, we have local African art visible everywhere in the hotel area, and we offer short afternoon courses for those who would like to be introduced to the local language, Swahili or if you simply have interest in the Swahili culture in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Savanna and Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savanna And Ocean Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing