We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paje by Night Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot, at least 3 times a year. This place is the beat I have found. It is the hotel that actually makes the destination and not vice versa.

Marco, Nadja, Katia are always around. This hotel is perfect for me and my friend, but i can see that people coming with different expectations (honeymoon, sleeping early etc.) should ask before they come.

Me and my Greek friend George loved this paradise. It is a dream. We will come back end of February.
Make sure you drink all cocktails on the list.

All best from Suite 6, thanks for the memories ;)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indivat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    84
    31
    28
    33
See reviews for
27
138
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had some great days in this gorgeous hotel. It is a fancy setting close to the beach with a beautiful pool and a good bar. Loved the style of the exceptional rooms and the relaxing atmosphere all around. Got to know several people at the bar while hearing fantastic music. There is a great service with a friendly and helpfull manager-team. (Thank you Nadja and Kathy, we really enjoyed our trip!) The Restaurant serves fresh and very tasty food.
We tryed out to kitesurf (there is a kitesufing school next to the hotel). It was actually great fun!

Hope to come back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this place about a year or so ago, and made the mistake of going back this year. If you're looking for a good night's sleep - do NOT stay here. Both times I've stayed here, they've kept the bar music on full blast until 3 / 4am - making it impossible to sleep. Both times, I've had to go out to the bar in the middle of the night to beg them to turn it down (even though there were NO customers at the bar, just workers lounging around at 3am with the music all the way up).
Each time I've had them turn it down, Marco the moronic owner or manager, or whatever he is has shown up after the fact with his entourage and made the works turn the music back up to full blast.

They charge waaaaay too much for their drinks, and they definitely water down the alcohol.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenifa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is not on the beach, but 200 meters behind. The rooms are simple but fine and colourful. Take care of your personal belongings in the room! Ah, don't forget to ask for a receipt at the end of your stay. The Italian owners are rather arrogant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
It is true the hotel is behind the beach, this is stated on both websites for the kites centre and hotel, and on windy days is a benefit as it provides a wind free heaven for those not wanting to kitesurf, but as some reviews say 20m and those one says 200m, either way, I could throw a tennis ball that far.

"The rooms are simple and colourful" …what more does one need on holiday than a big comfortable bed, bathroom and a beach …and a receipt at the end of your stay.

On a more serious note, all King Size rooms have a safe and for all Standard Rooms (and in case one safe is not enough for a King Size) we also have a main safe in the office. This is explained on the webpage and repeated during check-in.
We would have appreciate to hear about your issue whilst staying with us.

As for arrogant Italians, …find us one who isn't? But as they would tell us when accused of such a thing, they did after all invent culture, language and anything else we may try and lay claim to, so take them with a pinch of salt and a smile, as for certain our Italian is always smiling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I spent just only 4 nights....and it was too short! I had a really good time with those guys, and specially with Marco, the owner. Honestly is the best place to be if you are young and you want to scape for the typical tourist hotels....Paje By night is different! I hope to come back soon...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurea_miquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Absolutely fantastic place. The girls who run this place and the kite centre are approachable, friendly and they really do run a tight ship. We cancelled 2 other hotels whilst travelling around Zanzibar just to stay here a little but longer. A particular thank you to Kathy for putting up with us hogging the hammocks (they were very hard to leave) and to Amanda for putting up with us not having a clue how to kite surf.

As for Paje this is a must visit part of the island. Not quite ruined by the tourism of the north but just enough "westernisation" for home comforts makes a great balance for a brilliant holiday.

Absolutely great stay in Paje by night. The food, rooms company and above all ambience earns this hotel a place on my revisit list!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hey Hammoc!

We are really sorry to hear that such nice guests cancelled two other hotels - but of course we are moremore glad to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us so much and that we had the opportunity to spend some awesome moments with such awesome guests. It's to that Paje still keeps its charm far away from classic all-inclusive-resort-feeling.
If you like, also check out our Paje by Kite page on Tripadvisor to tell the world your experience.

PS: missing your daily "could-I-grab-a-towel"-visits at the reception! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

it was probably one of the best holidays we ever had. We would like to thanks Paje by Night staff for their availability and friendliness. the situation of the hotel is perfect (20 m from the beach) and the created cosy atmosphere thanks to the people and the place itself is making Paje by night a perfect place to release the pressure from our today's boiling life. As well, the kite school and the highly competent kite instructors (thanks you to them) make this place a real springboard for new bee who want to try this addictive sport. At last, but not least, the restaurant is simply magic with all the choice and flavours the cook is offering on your table, be aware: you need to do sport as well not to gain kilos ;)

Room Tip: excellent bungalows with the necessary level of quality to enjoy a perfect exotic and relaxing new s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.8 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#4 of 8 in Paje
179 reviews
5.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.2 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#5 of 8 in Paje
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paje by Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paje by Night Hotel

Property: Paje by Night Hotel
Address: Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paje by Night Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paje By Night is located in Paje, along the south-east coast of the island. We are unlike any other hotel in Zanzibar. While we have white sand, palm trees and many traditional building techniques in the hotel, that is where it ends as you will find our unique personality in everything from the lamps, to light switches all the way to our very unique pool. Since Paje is one of the best kitesurfing spot on the island, most of our guests are kitesurfers however we also have some leisure travelers appreciating both the beauty of the lagoon and our eclectic style. The best months for kitesurfers go from June to September and then again from mid of December to February and at that time the beach can be quite busy. October, November, beginning of December, end of February and March are non-windy months hence perfect for leisure travelers. Beginning of June can be windy but yet not busy. Important to know we are not located right on the beach but just a minute's walk, through a path of fine white sand, will lead you there and it’s a great beach with stunning turquoise, emerald and aquamarine colours. Our kite centre and kite school are however located straight on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Paje by Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje By Night Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing