We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home is where Paje by Night is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paje by Night Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Reviewed 26 March 2014

During my last stay - while staying also in various hotels and hostels - I always spent most of my time at the wonderful atmosphere at Paje by Night. As I really loved the beach and island vibe as well as the kiting spot, I had to come back. That what makes Paje by Night so special are the people behind it and the good vibes between the hotel guests and the team.
This was the reason why I absolutely was looking forward to check in there this year - luckily the hotel had availability!

I was not disappointed at all and it surpassed all my expectations!

What I also have to mention the new member of the Paje by Night family - Otto. A beautiful and lovely "baby" greate dane. You will only have fund and lovely moments with him.

When I first time entered my room - I had to take pictures to make my friends jealouse in what a nice room I will spend my next days and weeks. But the rooms don't only look stylish , they also really comfortable. I slept so well, that I even didn't hear a rainstorm during one night. Anyway, the highlight of my room was the high-tech-shower, which was a gift after spending the whole day kitesurfing or doing yoga on the beach.

KITING! A MUST - for EVERYONE and EVERY LEVEL - on this stunning beach! I came with some skills in waterstart but decided to take some lessons at the hotels kite centre Paje by Kite. Instructors "super geil" and IKO-licensed, I improved quickly. After a couple of hours, I was issued the official IKO-card and could rent out equipement with the centre. Everything run smoothly, you even have beach assistance (guys helping you with the set up, starting and landing). Payment is more than easy as hotel guests can add everything on their room and settle everything at check-out.

I am really looking forward to come back to Paje by Night and its great team!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerstinCologne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pajebynightadmin, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

KerstinCologne84,
you are rock'n'roll! And in the end it didn't matter that you didn't bring domenico.

We miss you and hope to see you again soon!

Smiles
/nadja & the crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We discovered PBN on our second day in Zanzibar. We were staying at a hotel in Bwejuu but came down to Paje Beach everyday. There is a disco ball above the pool, a little area outside where you can watch TV, tons of hammocks and sofas around the property where you can just hang out, and a bar. We were there every afternoon for drinks. The cocktails are 10,000 tsh each but they are awesome! The food was great too, but service is super slow so be prepared to wait. Since we came here everyday, we decided to spend our last 2 days at PBN instead of going to Stone Town.

The rooms are far back from the beach, but it wasn't a big deal to us since it was a short walk. The rooms could use some updating, but they weren't terrible. We did see more bugs in the room than we did in our tent in Tanzania though, and I got my first and only 2 bug bites while staying there. I'm not sure who decided that black tile would go well on a bathroom wall but it only makes it look dark and older. The water pressure wasn't too great and spilled out all over the floor, but it was the first place we stayed that had hot water so that was really nice! The pillows were super uncomfortable.

You get a large spread at breakfast. Tea/coffee, one glass of fresh juice, either fruit salad or a plate of fruit, basket of bread, eggs how you like them and sausage or you can have bacon for additional money. Everything was good.

Despite the rooms not being the best, the whole place just has this relaxed atmosphere. Everyone is lounging around, laughing and having a good time. We really enjoyed hanging out here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheslikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hey ShelikeTexas,

thank you so much for your awesomely kind and constructive review! We are completely "wahoo" that you have been convinced of not (only) being guests of the bar but also of the hotel!

Taking suggestions seriously, we are working on the bathrooms: some of them are already equipped with brand new rain-massage-showers! (Well, they are black as well, all matching to the proper PbN-style, but how beauuuutiful they feel!?). Come back to check it out whenever you like…

All the best,
Nadja & the crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at Paje by Night for almost 3 weeks! It was a beautiful place to be! Because of the nice atmosphere in the hotel, you can easly make a lot of contacts and feel at home. You can also use the pool 24h...The bungalow was nice and clean( the bathroom is basic, but the shower is big). They cleaned our bungalow every day and changed also the towel every day ( and every night they sprayed some mosquito spray). Sometimes the music could be lould but for us it wasn't a problem. The food was good ( large choice and good wine) and the drinks at the bar were fantastic! Just the breakfast wasn't the best( the fruits and juice were very good). The service could be very very slow but in vacation we had time, therefore it wasn't a big proplem to wait. We had also Wifi at the bar and restaurant but it is very slow. The kite atmosphere that we found at Paje by Night and Paje by Kite was ideal and we will recommend this hotel to every Kite fan :-). Thank you Nadja, Kati, Bangee, Aiste (perfect kite instructor)and all the staff for this beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: Bungalow 10: you don't hear the music Bungalow 11: very big and nice, good AC and nice LED ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedencarotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

As representatives of our whole team, we would love to tell you that we feel more than blessed knowing that you enjoyed your time at PajeByNight and the little new inventions such as new big showers and mood lightening.
Hope to see you around again soon!

/nadja, marco & the crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

spend your holidays in a dream! paje by night is a unusal, clever and great concept for your vacation. the concept is far away from a boring resort or a sterile hotel. the best choice to explore the spirit and the easy way of life on zanzibar. a place where you have everything, relaxation or join a exiting party, whatever, it is up to you and your mood today. the staff is really friendly and they give you the feeling to be surrounded by friends. food and drinks are incredible. from italian selfmade pasta to swaheli food, again up to you.
the only bad thing is..... - to leave at the end....
special thanks to: nadja, marco, cathy, idi, bungee, tereza, mona, dina, gibson, elias, jhonson.

it was my best vacation ever!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toni j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hey toni j!
No words could be enough to express our gratefulness for this amazing review!
To hear that you spend the holiday of your life at our hotel shows that we reached our highest goal: “giving our best to make our beloved guests happy”.
And let us tell you the best: it was not a dream, it was all real!

You smile will remain attached on these walls….

Love big time!
/nadja & the crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We didn't stay over night at PBN as we were staying in a resort in Kizimkazi (down south).
We spent half a day at the beach in Paje (probably one of the best beaches in the world), a lot of kite surfing and excellent white sands. Our two children (6 and 3) loved it. We tried to look for a place along the beach to have a cold beer and we couldn't find one. Luckily, our driver had parked right in front of PBN and we entered to have a cold alcoholic drink.

Perfect spot for a drink, and the ambiance created makes you still feel you are at the beach.

We ended up having 2-3 beers as an aperitivo, bought a sandwich and then left for our resort down south.
The place was exactly how we expected it, and it looks like it get rather busy at night but all this is explained well in their website. Actually, PBN was one of the locations I had looked for as accommodation, but of course having 2 babies we thought it wasn't really the appropriate place and chose for a quieter option. nevertheless, the bar tender (a lady) did mention to me that during the low season the place gets rather quiet and families with children also stay there. I can't comment on the rest, but the pool looked nice and clean and the pub/bar is spot on. Especially after a long day spent on the beach under the scorching sun, that is all you need.
We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is called Paje by NIGHT for a reason; breakfast, lunch and lounging during the day at Paje by Night is not very pleasant. The food is very poor (let alone the breakfast!!) and the staff comes across as very unhappy to serve guests.. especially during the day for some reason.
If you show up to breakfast 10 min before it ends the staff might literally throw the food on the table unhappy they might have to work 5 min longer than planned.
However, at night the bar is happening (people show up from all over Paje) and the atmosphere is not bad..
The beach is beautiful - keep in mind everything here is on the primitive side of life so there are two or three chez lounges but there is absolutely no service on the beach.
Great place to kitesurf but I'd recommend you stay somewhere close by and maybe spend an evening by the bar in PBN.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mundinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spent our time there during October 2013. Two friends, for 4 nights (or so), booked the cheap double room on offer. The entire resort is just an amazing place, offering everything one might need, restaurant, activities like blue safaris, drivers for distant travels within the island, and even cash-back... It has very very nice pool for midday cocktails and it is located a breath away from a stunning beach with plenty of kite-centres and local restaurants. The room was right for its money, but generally you don't usually spend a lot of your time in a room when in Unguja. The staff was fantastic, helpful and polite. The managers very relaxed and capable to assist with whatever case in hand. The boss of the resort is just crazy and adorable. Definite place for relaxed and easygoing travellers. Definitely going back there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyTheLuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 8 in Paje
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#4 of 8 in Paje
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paje by Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paje by Night Hotel

Address: Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paje by Night Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paje By Night is located in Paje, along the south-east coast of the island. We are unlike any other hotel in Zanzibar. While we have white sand, palm trees and many traditional building techniques in the hotel, that is where it ends as you will find our unique personality in everything from the lamps, to light switches all the way to our very unique pool. Since Paje is one of the best kitesurfing spot on the island, most of our guests are kitesurfers however we also have some leisure travelers appreciating both the beauty of the lagoon and our eclectic style. The best months for kitesurfers go from June to September and then again from mid of December to February and at that time the beach can be quite busy. October, November, beginning of December, end of February and March are non-windy months hence perfect for leisure travelers. Beginning of June can be windy but yet not busy. Important to know we are not located right on the beach but just a minute's walk, through a path of fine white sand, will lead you there and it’s a great beach with stunning turquoise, emerald and aquamarine colours. Our kite centre and kite school are however located straight on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paje by Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje By Night Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing