We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2006

We started our trip here at HM Lodge, and were initialy feeling insecure about whether the driver would collect us. The phone number they had given us to confirm the time for our collection was incorrect, and we had to search our papers and talk to the locals who finally made the call for us

There was a rather incompetent short little Italian woman behind the desk who didn't seem to know anything about anything and I found her to be hopeless and annoying. WHY be employed there if you have no clue about the hotel? For example, I was looking at the activities that the hotel could arrange, and there was an impressive list of things to do. I asked her about some of them - and her answer was, 'I don't know. That was before my time. Someone else wrote that.'

When we first arrived, we told the guest relations person that we wanted to arrange fishing too. He promised to look into that. But, when we asked the reception about any developments of this request later on that evening, they had no clue what we were talking about. Seems he had gone home. Every day we asked about the fishing trip, and nothing happened. Finally, on the 4th day, a new guy finally arranged something - but we didn't know it was organised. No one told us anything. We went back to the reception on our last night and asked again, and that's when they told us we had a fishing trip booked the next day. It only took 4 days to organise!

Communication was all around VERY bad. It is management all together that's doing this place in. The MD sits like a king around the place...being served meals and sitting at the bar for nightly drinks. The staff themselves were friendly and helpful, and the site is quite striking. The natural beauty of Zanzibar saved this place.

The only other thing I would say is that I was surprised that the MD and owner were Italian - but the coffee SUCKED! We walked down the beach about 20 minutes to find another Italian owned resort - and they had FANTASTIC coffee from the espresso machine.

Don't go for the coffee Go for the quiet and it's best if you have a DO NOTHING attitude.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culturebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2006

While the beach is breath taking, especially at low tide, the poor mgmt and indifferent proprietors make Hakuna Majiwe a place I would not stay again. It started with our driver not showing up to collect us at the airport which was not only inconvenient but a little scary since it was pitch black outside and we had to pay a stranger 40 USD to drive us 90 minutes to the hotel. We had tried to call the hotel to find out where the driver was but there was no answer. Then our room wasn't ready when we finally arrived at 10pm and though the manager did apologize there was no offer of dinner or a free cocktail, nothing to try and make it right while we waited almost an hour for our room. Instead, everything was blamed on a manager that had been fired a month earlier even though my confirmation of a room and airport pickup (a week prior to our arrival) had been done via email with one of the current managers. Then at checkout there was problems with the bill, they were trying to charge us twice for one of the nights, and they had lost our flight info and itinerary which THEY recommended giving to them so they could confirm our flight home. Our flights were never confirmed and we ended up getting bumped. The only good service we received was from the wait staff and housekeeping. They were warm, helpful and, most of all, Did Their Jobs! You should definitely go to Zanzibar but avoid this place.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

Hakuna Majiwe is fine - clean, large rooms and bathrooms, set on the beach and with a large pool.
There is nothing particularly special about the place though - the food is average but not that cheap and the menu does become tired after a few nights there. Service is OK but the lodge does not take credit cards so remember to take enough cash with you.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

We stayed in Hakuna Majiwe for 5 nights. It was not bad, the rooms were spacious and clean, however after 3rd night all the food tastes the same, not a great choice for breakfast and not much to do there either. The low tide went very far, so we could only swim in the ocean until about 10:30 and then after 16:30. We went on the snorkling trip organized through the hotel and saw nothing even we tried 5 different spots. I'd say that shorter stay there would leave us with better impression. On the plus side there is a good size swimming pool there.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank susa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Hakuna Majiwe on the South East coast of Zanzibar Island. The service was good, the rooms were clean, and the beach was beautiful. The restaurant has good food, you just need to order in advance or wait along time for the food to come. There are some other restaurants in Paje and Jambiani (2-3 km) that you can walk to along the beach, but walking on the beach at night is discouraged for safety reasons. Bring cash because they don't accept credit. We very much enjoyed this place and would stay there again if we are ever back in Zanzibar.

7  Thank alexpburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

We were picked up at the airport by a hotel car and taken to the hotel, which was a little beyond the end of the paved road (more pavement does seem to be on the way).

While I was checking in, my girlfriend kept tugging on my sleeve to taste the juice we had been served while we checked in. I thought she was delirious from the trip. Then I finished checking in and tasted it. Wow. I don't know what it is exactly but by the end we had it for every meal and had them spike it for after dinner.

We were only there for two nights but we found the resort very relaxing and calm. The service was nice - finding us to take our dinner order from the beach and generally being very attentive.

The only negative was that the conditions when we were there did warrant an air conditioner. But obviously we survived.

A neutral comment is that there appeared to be a number of dive shops down the beach (to the left looking towards the water) but the hotel only put me in touch with one. I found out too late that their contact couldn't go when I could, and I had been led to believe he was the only one nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2005

We just returned from 4 nites at Hakuna Majiwe and couldn't have picked a better place to stay! After 3 weeks of hard safari driving (over 1,500 miles of rough roads) we wanted something small and comfortable, not a big all inclusive resort like Cancun, MX and this place fits the bill! Once you arrive you kick off your shoes and never put them on till you depart. It's very casual. The 18 rooms are in sets of two each two under a giant grass roof w/ very large porches all "on" the beach. There are a few bushes between you and the acutual beach itself but it's all sand, no sidewalks or concrete. The large "all purpose" room has a reception desk at one end, a very nice bar and lounge at the other end and on the beach side with great views of the ocean are the dining tables. no phones, so an employee walks around from room to room in the afternoon with an extensive menu taking your order for lunch or dinner and the times. The rooms are very large as are the baths and there is a separate room for your luggage w/ lots of shelving. Each room has just one queen size netted bed so if you want to bring the kids (or in our situation - 2 single, straight women), they will set up a twin bed and netting in a jffy. The room was still very large even with the 2 beds. The rooms also have a coffee maker wtih tea and coffee. The beach is very clean and very quiet but at low tide it does go out very far so the pool is perfect. The pool is very large for the size lodge and crystal clear. I think they use desalinized water to fill the pool as you can float without trying. The only down side on the pool is 90% of it is over 6'. When we were visting the manager had some people looking at the pool so it's possible they are going to make more of a shallow end. The place caters to Europeans and mostly couples and some adults as there is nothing for kids to do there. The food was better than average with an Italian flair and the staff was more than helpful in setting up day tours to the Spice farm. One complaint is their electric. Usually in Tanzania you use a converter for England but since this place is owned by Italians, alot of their items are from Italy so the converter I brought didn't work. They may have one you can borrow but I'd double check with them on what you need before you arrive. Not too many people know about this gem so get there before the word gets out!! I give this place two thumbs up for sure!!

44  Thank Root B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
25.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 8 in Paje
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
564 reviews
42.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
42.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge

Address: Paje Beach | South-East Cost, Paje, Tanzania (Formerly Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Price Range: £88 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dotted between the palm trees of Zanzibar's South East Coast, along an unfurling swathe of postcard-perfect coastline, sits Hakuna Majiwe, the Place of No Stones, a site so idyllic that we named our hotel after it. The 21 luxury cabanas of Hakuna Majiwe Lodge are spread out along this quiet, palm-fringed beach, each leading straight out onto the hourglass-fine sands and jade waters of the Indian Ocean. The cabanas pay homage to our host culture, mixing thatched roofs and wooden floors with the intricate ornamental vidaka plasterwork of the Swahili Coast to create a space that is both shamba chic and authentic in style. Walk-in dressing areas, artisan four-poster beds and generous bathrooms ensure that style is complemented by the comforts expected on your holiday. Be it a private honeymoon retreat or hosting your family in our dedicated 5 bed suites, comfort and privacy are always guaranteed. And at the heart of the tropical splendour of our spacious grounds sits the Tradewinds Restaurant, from where our hard-earned reputation for can-do hospitality has been forged. An evolving menu of Swahili-Zanzibari cuisine using locally-sourced ingredients is freshly prepared with International flair each and every day, paired with carefully-selected wines and juices, to create lasting culinary experiences, worthy of your visit. Private dining, with butler service, is always available for those seeking intimate memories to dine for. Jungle Spa and landscaping our expansive, palm-lined pool sheltered in the abundant tropical splendour of the Hakuna Majiwe estate. With a kite school for the more intrepid guests and an excursion centre for the more curious wishing to explore the island, there is always something to do if the relaxation becomes too much. Our home is where our heart is, though, and Life is Always A Beach at Hakuna Majiwe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe Hotel Paje
Hakuna Majiwe Hotel
Hakuna Majiwe Paje
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing