We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got robbed in our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arabian Nights Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The sea view room was spacious and right on the beach.
The man who checked us in showed us how to set the password on the safe and told us to keep our valuables there.
After returning from lunch a few hours later we opened the safe to find a good portion of our US cash stolen.
We confronted the manager and he denied that this had happened and refused to believe us. He asked us to leave the next day (which we were extremely happy to do). When they refunded us for the remainder of the nights we had prepaid for we were 'cheated' again!
Two of the US100 bills were pre 2003 (not the new crisp bills we prepaid with) and are not accepted in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HogwoodBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Arabian Nights Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

At the end of april begining may myself and fiance visited zanzibar we stayed at paje beach arabian nights. Upon arrival we were picked up by a tour operating company from the airport. We were abit sceptical and nervous at first but once we arrived at our hotel and met masood the manger at arabian nights we were extremely happy. The manager and staff gave us world class service through out our stay, we really formed a 2nd family as we were given the best treatment ever. thanks to miraaj (waiter) and kayumba (cook) the food was phenominal. They arranged All tours,transport and food for us :) I would defenatley go back to arabian nights masoods manager is a great guy and he did a great job to keep us happy and satisfying our needs, his a gud magician aswell lol thanks arabian nights keep up the great hospitality
From adil & nadia south africa

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adilnadiasouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

it was our last 2 nights left in Tanzania and this place was good enough to have a nice and relaxing moments on the beach .Good food it has good value for the money .we never knew how these 2 days went by . we will definitely come and visit Tanzania next year and our kids also enjoyed this place .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have stayed in 3 different places along the beach at Paje now. We stayed here in November 2011 so apologies for only getting round to reviewing now. We had booked an ocean view villa and the room was very spacious and generally clean. The cleaning ladies made a great effort every day creating different flower arrangements on the bed which my G/F loved.
The check-in was very easy and the staff very helpful. The private pool was a lovely retreat when we wanted some quite time off the beach and we would happily sit here with a cold Safari in the early evening.
We only ever ate breakfast and the food was a very typicaly Zanzibarian breakfast which usually consisted of some eggs (spanish omlette, fried or scrambled) and some bread / toast. It did the job without being spectacular and we never had any reason to complain.
We loved watching the cows walking down the beach and that coupled with the fact that we had an unhindered view from our room straight out on to the Indian Ocean was pretty special.
I would happily stay here again; it was certainly value for money although it wouldn't be classed as luxurious. I love the people and Zanzibar so I may be a little biased but I have been to Zanzibar 3 times now and stayed in 6 or 7 different places.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gxm158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I left StoneTown Zanzibar with the thought that i would just go to Paje for 2 days with no accommodation booked . Checked out a few hotels and found The lovely Masoud the manager of the Arabian nights hotel i decided this was the perfect place for me. I booked in for 3 days and now i'm still here booked another 3 days I just don't want to leave.
So now about the hotel
I have booked mid range room poolside its just beautiful clean and spacious and the staff are something else . So attentive helpful and honest. The restaurant food is fantastic I had the best spiced prawns ever and so fresh nothing is a problem to them just ask.
Masoud the manager should be proud of the way the place is running he is doing a wonderful job . Well done Masoud and hope the new season is wonderful to you and your amazing staff. I will be back .

Room Tip: just go within your budget . all the rooms are great and they accommodate all levels of budget. . Th...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Arabian Nights for seven nights March 2012, Suite room closed by to the sea. The room was Amazin!! nice location, very clean, and have it's own private beach! My husband and I we were like at home, early in the morning wake up, and watching the sunrize!!...It was fantastic. Foods at the restaurant was wonderful and the staff was lovely to us, and helpfully. We will deffinitely go there again to have fun. Is a small hotel, but there is a lot of things that you will never experienced them before. I recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to enjoy Zanzibar!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have reviewed many places and am usually really positive, so don't think I'm normally a whinger!

I'd booked to stay here for 4 nights as a treat after our safari April 2012. We arrived from Stone Town by taxi and Mohammed asked for cash for our 4 nights immediately. There was absolutely NO WELCOME or friendliness at all until we had paid.

The room (sea view) was nice and pool too (there is no sea view from pool - Arabian Nights Annex has much better pool), staff were super and room was thoroughly cleaned. Sheets were clean but quite stained. Shame the loungers from the front are too low for sea view too...! With a little bit of effort the front (overlooking sea) could be made lovely. Breakfast was fine.

Would have been really nice to receive a warm welcome - we felt like we were intruding and it really put a downer on our arrival and stay. Also it would be a nice touch to have a bottle or two of water in the room each day - USD $100 per night is a lot to pay and these small touches would have made the difference.

Would really recommend Ocean for food (just behind Airborne) - they are INCREDIBLY friendly (nice change from hotel!) and the food was excellent. Dow Inn also very good food.

*NOTE TO ALL* The only ATMs in Zanzibar currently are in Stone Town and most places - kite surfing/trips included - do not accept card as payment, so make sure you have enough cash before arriving. Paje by night accept card, but food and service was terrible.

Room Tip: Would recommend Sea View room for sunset
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JessScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#5 of 8 in Paje
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.0 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Nights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Nights Hotel

Address: P.O Box 791, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Price Range: £86 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian Nights Hotel is a small hotel located in Paje, on the South East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Located only fourty minutes from Stone Town of Zanzibar or Air Port, this is the perfect place to go and find your self in another world all together. There is nothing better than feeling the waves of the Indian Ocean lapping at your feet, and only at Arabian Nights can you feel this when you step out of your hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Arabian Nights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arabian Nights
Arabian Nights Hotel Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing