We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply average”
Review of Ak Zhaik Hotel

Ak Zhaik Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ak Zhaik Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Atyrau
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply average”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed 2 nights in a single room in august 2013. The hotel is not so bad situated, on the road beetween train station and main area of Atyrau. My room was ok. Breakfast is awful and staff isn't always dedicated : some do their best to help, others don't care about anything. Hope you'll catch the good ones ! One good point : there's a pub inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_Paris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I arrived here by bicycle after camping wild for a few nights. I knew of this hotel after I’d stayed in their sister hotel in Aktrau. It was a welcome sight. It’s a nice modern hotel; the rooms are fairly small but perfectly comfortable. Wifi in the room was good.
Staff are friendly and helpful and despite the language barrier they always try their best to understand. The management staff are also good they even let me leave my bicycle and luggage there whilst I had to fly to Turkey for a few days.
The Guns and Roses bar downstairs seems to be full of western men working in the oil business who are stopping in town before flying home, many of whom were drunk but they weren’t any problem. The bar staff are also very good and remember what you drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsonabike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed a few days in the Ak Zhaik Hotel, especially for a business trip.
The hotel, which has just been renovated, is pleasant. The staff is well trained (most speak english), pleasant place, comfortable rooms and perfect for a business stay. (Wifi in all rooms).

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The biggest plus point for the hotel is the Guns & Roses Pub located on the ground floor. This is certainly one of the best places to come for a drink in Atyrau, especially on a Wednesday when they normally have live music.

The hotel itself is err.......... interesting. The rooms we had were a little dated and a bit on the small side but nevertheless clean and perfectly adequate for a a few nights. One of my colleagues checked in to find there was somebody already sleeping in his room (unfortunately male!), which I guess was a bit of a shock but a good travel story to tell at a later date!

Another funny incident happened one night when we went up to or rooms to find two stray cats fighting in the corridor. I am not sure how they got there as we were on the fifth or seventh floor but it certainly made for good entertainment and the noise incredible!

The coffee shop in the foyer was very nice and the sfaff very polite. We did not use the restaurant but ate in the pub which was okay and had a nice atmosphere. It also has free wi-fi.

There was not a great choice at breakfast.

In summary I would say not the best hotel in Atyrau but the price is reasonable. I think we paid around £200 for 4 nights which is the equivalent of 1 night at the Renaisance and certalinly on your return home you will have some interesting stories to tell!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for a delux room, they are not much more expensive than a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neila505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

It was a standart room however with a large bed. Anyway, the room was very small fitting this bed. I had a room on the 6th floor windows towards the internal yard or whatever it may be called. The huge disappointment for me was the cafe on the ground floor. On friday they had a party till 3AM and imagine - I could hear the drums&bass from the downstairs on my 6th floor with the earplugs bloking my ears!
Brekfast was very poor. The Guns&Roses pub is fair. Later in the evening and I suppose in the night you might see very strange couples in the lobby and particular women on highheels and short skirts (in black).

Room Tip: If you going to stay there make sure the windows of the room face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamparams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

You can do better. Go to the Rennaissance across the river. Best advantage of this hotel is that you're closer to downtown. Other than that, not a great hotel. The staff routinely act indifferent and don't treat you as a valued customer!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

During our work visit in Atyrau, I use to stay in this hotel for long time.It is located in well connected place in Asia side of Atyrau. Reception staff and management people are very cooperative and friendly.Breakfast are really good, a perfect Turkish breakfast.It has cafe, bar shop, gym. A good hotel in budget for stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atyrau hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria Palace
Hotel Victoria Palace
#13 of 17 in Atyrau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europa Residence
Europa Residence
#6 of 17 in Atyrau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Home Hotel
Sweet Home Hotel
#8 of 17 in Atyrau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chagala Hotel
Chagala Hotel
#3 of 17 in Atyrau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tengri Hotel
Tengri Hotel
#10 of 17 in Atyrau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Atyrau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ak Zhaik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ak Zhaik Hotel

Property: Ak Zhaik Hotel
Address: Azattyk Avenue, Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Atyrau Province > Atyrau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Atyrau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ak Zhaik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing