We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh seafood”

Lab-as Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 149 Restaurants in Dumaguete City
Cuisines: Philippine, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manila, phil
Level Contributor
217 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A lot of complaints about this restaurant was the slow service. But we noticed that it was like that for most, if not all, of the restaurants we ate in, so nothing out of the ordinary. Seafood was great, really fresh (after all, "Lab-as" means "fresh") and reasonably priced. The place was packed when we were there but didn't have to wait long for a table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gafrancomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    113
    53
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good seafood !”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

First to catch our attention was their roasted (organic) native chicken. It's good. The grilled bangus belly was the best and reasonably priced too. The calamares was not so good. Service is ok. Considering we ordered a lot,the dishes came one after the other. Their selection of fresh fruit shakes is not worth your indulgence. They skimp on the fruits

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 117CaliElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“you whine then dine!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

You will just complain and get impatient because service was very slow!!! It seemed like there was only one cook working. This restaurant has been around for a long time and I can honestly say their food is the best but if you have to wait that long then it is not worth it. There are other places in the city that you can dine. You go there for their food and not for service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, but . . .”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If seafood is to your liking, this is the place to go. But, service is tentative and rather slow. Need to focus to prompt service!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CrimsonGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dumaguete express ok”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had to try the dumaguete express which is like the Bicol express sans the spice and with mixed seafood in coconut milk with toppings of lechon kawali ( it does look like lechon kawali instead if the bagnet I know from Ilocos)

When it arrived, we were surprised by the serving ( it could serve2-3). We also ordered the sinuglaw a combination of sugba (grilled) pork with kinilaw fish. It was ok I guess except that the fish were minuscule and few it was overpowered by the coconut/vinegar ingredient.

There was a pianist playing music while we were eating.

What I don't like about the place was the service. They have lots of waiters around but none had the initiative to ask us if we wanted something else, they just took our orders with barely a smile on their faces and when we paid did not bother thanking us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KuhGorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lab-as Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 

Been to Lab-as Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing