We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Erosion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casaroro Falls

Casaroro Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marawi, Philippines
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Near Erosion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The falls is a refreshing retreat from the city's scorching heat and noise pollution. 30 min jeepney ride to Valencia Town and another 30 min habal-habal ride from the town proper. You'll get a chance to see the falls at it's best. But i don't think there should be fees for this natural attraction. I noticed as well that the government should make ways in improving the park since the earth is slowly eroding. The path and stairs are slowly covered by mud that had fallen during the night rain before when I went here solo. The cottages/huts are also dilapidated and worn out. But as you come closer to the falls it's beautiful and you can feel as if you are enchanted to its beauty. I love it! Too bad the local government is not taking care of it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    51
    20
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

when going to casaroro falls i thought it would be easy but then I realized that to be beautiful you need to be ugly and that is like in Casaroro falls in order to see the beauty you need to first hike the impossible but at the end it was worth the hike

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Floyren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice spot away from the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Overall the waterfall and drive to the waterfall are quite beautiful. Not nearly as amazing as the waterfall in Siquijor, but still worth a visit if you have time. Recommend shoes even if it isn't raining. Flip flops are doable, but once down in the canyon you are climbing over rocks to get to the waterfall. I knocked my toes up a bit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Casaroro Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Took a tricycle up to Valencia and then went via motorbike up to the trail. Paid 10pesos each for entrance fee, walked down the 300+ steps (not difficult, just man up!) Where you arrive at a few small pristine pools which are perfect for photos. Clamber along the side of the boulders and cross the river further up to see the breathtaking falls. Definitely NOT challenging, just wear suitable footwear and watch your footing! The water runs down from the mountain top, so is fresh and cool. Perfect for a warm day. When you're done, gear up for the march back up 300+ steps surrounded by the echoes of nature!

Almost a let down when you return to Dumaguete city having been in such an unspoiled area!

Stunning place, will definitely be back and will then conquer the mountain and volcano!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice but need safety improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Nice hike but need safety improvement. They neeed to plant trees before the fall to stoo erosion. I liked it

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casaroro Falls also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 

Been to Casaroro Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing