We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have a look” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Catherine of Alexandria Cathedral

St Catherine of Alexandria Cathedral
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Have a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We popped in when it was quiet and just sat enjoying the cool and had a few moment reflection. Along side the building there are burial places of Priest and perhaps Parishioners. There were a few beggars outside mostly old ladies who obviously needed a few Pesos.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank baz7903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Freising, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“enjoyed the silence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Went there from the noisy streets downtown just to escape from the dirt and noise. Found a very nice place to relax. I am not a follower of any religion but love places like that to a kind of meditate. I spend almost an hour wandering, sitting and finding good thoughts. Warm welcoming place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steffen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“beautiful! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Came here before going to dinner and what I liked most about it is how the lights brought out the beauty of the cathedral especially the altar.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank auds817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Fifty-three years ago, my parents were married in this church. When I was 6 years old, I had the chance to visit the church again and I remember being awed by the air-conditioned confessionals, which at that time was luxurious indeed. Next visit was some 35 years later and found the church no longer as awesome but still interesting. In a predominantly Protestant city of Dumaguete, it stands proud and full of history, and in my family's case, very personal history indeed.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Aline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,524 reviews
477 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,217 helpful votes
“It looked fantastic lit up at night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The St Catherine of Alexandria Cathedral is located right next door to the Bellfry and is the largest church in the city and located in the city centre.It was constucted in the same year as the Bell Tower. Unfortunately as we only had an overnight stay in Dumugette I was only able to view this beautful church at night but she looked fantastic all lit up.The local markets are located a short stroll away from the church.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Catherine of Alexandria Cathedral also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 

Been to St Catherine of Alexandria Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing