We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor upper management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Country Comfort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I felt sorry for the two staff members that had to carry all services at this hotel. Admittedly it was off-season but the hotel should provide enough staff to provide all normal services at normal prices. No coffee making facilities, but the hotel is within view of the rail way station so it is an easy down hill walk.There are ample guest houses in Ella that will provide an excellent Sri Lankan experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Country Comfort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have only just arrived into this hotel on our first night of two and are looking at an alternative for the second night. If we hadn't arrived late evening we would have walked right away. We have two young children with one on the bottle. No room fridge, no tea/coffee facility, no kettle to boil water, was provided with a dirty cot, room musty, bathroom smells of sewage, mould on bathroom ceiling, filthy shower stall, uncovered electrical wires on room wall, filthy plastic bins no liners, television with no aerial, zero info provided in room for hotel facilities/town & tourist sites, awful bed linen and blankets and thread bare bathroom linen. I cannot ever recall being so deflated regarding accommodation whilst travelling any where, and I have had to spend a night in a bottom bunk of a two person caravan when on a business business in a remote part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotso72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed for two nights. Short walk from the train station and the town centre. Staff we friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine (eggs, toast, fruit, etc.). Good sized room with seating and small table, no balcony. Bathroom was okay but had a grill that opened directly onto the hallway, so anyone could hear you.

If you want views or are on a budget then this is not the place to stay, it was okay if you are walking in the area etc. and want to be able walk to the centre for the restaurants/bars in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandHanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My first visit to this hotel and it was quite a surprise.

Situated off the main street but within walking distance, a family run hotel with excellent service.
Rooms were large and reasonably comfortable but no AC (not needed), new bedroom furniture and bathroom fittings.

The evening meal was rice & curry - it was the best freshly made for us within a few hours of our arrival, it has to be the best meal we had in days, the waiters were attentive, polite, efficient, and even wanted to refill our dishes when empty, good fresh food freshly cooked - could not ask for better.

Walls were devoid of pictures of any kind which may have made if homely, however the staff were excellent so was the food.
I will recommend this hotel to my guests as it is good value, friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: No tips as most rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilsmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights over Christmas with 3 young kids. We got two big rooms on the ground floor. The beds were comfortable and we did get help with our bags. The shower was nice and warm and we found the price/quality adequate. The breakfast was pretty standard toast with marmelade and a fruit plate. It is not a luxury hotel, but more a family hotel so the staff is not trained, but seemed to do their best.
Negative: the room was not cleaned and the beds were not made.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

It is a very appealing hotel with the rooms large and comfortable. There was no a/c but still being in the mountain area it wasn't missed, and I feel the heat.

The bathrooms are hilarious, tacky fake black marble, but otherwise adequate.

It is next door to the police station which is comforting.

It is a very short walk to the main street with plenty of dining options, bars and massage. A very touristy town. The wifi was good, with a strong enough connection to have access in my room - rare in Sri Lanka.

Breakfast was awful, totally indelible aside from the fruit.

Service was terrible, almost non existent. Despite seeing female guests struggling to carry bags down the stairs, no lift available, no one helped. You could here the staff all laughing from the kitchen area at the base of the stairs but the food service was bad also, so who knows what they were doing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucypoocy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Spent a couple of nights at Country Comfort Inn in Ella whilst on a tour throughout Sri Lanka. Very much enjoyed our stay. Rooms were very pretty and quite large, with lovely views onto the English style garden. Bathroom was clean and more than adequate. Very quiet location - only a couple of minutes walk into the centre of town.

We did not eat at the hotel, as there are several cheap options in the main street. Did not encounter many staff during our stay. Someone below mentioned that WiFi is available, however I was not made aware of this!

Ella is a sweet little town to enjoy a quiet break between visiting the various sights nearby - we loved our couple of days there.

My only complaint - there was a caged dog at the rear of the property, a young man told me it was used for "fighting". The cage was small and concrete and the poor dog also barked incessantly. As an animal lover... I found this quite upsetting (and very unappealing for a hotel environment).

Overall, hotel is more than satisfactory for 3-star accommodation. Recommended!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank liss0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Country Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Country Comfort

Address: 32 Police Station Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: £46 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Country Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Country Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Country Comfort Ella
Comfort Inn Ella
Ella Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing