We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good on the outside but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Country Comfort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

As part of our 3 day tour of the hill country our driver brought us to this place. Having been on safari all day at Ula national park we drove up to Ella by late afternoon. Upon arrival the exterior looked colonial and pleasant. The ground opposite by the train station was holding a parade for school kids marching to their drums. We were shown to our room which was large, very dated and all the windows left open for the mozzies to sneak in. After noticing that the windows didn't actually shut properly we gave up worrying due to tiredness kicking in. The bed was comfortable even though it felt like we were staying out someone's grandparents house. Our meal that evening was forced upon us because they actually don't have menus. You get what's cooked for you if you like it or not. The owner of the establishment sat and ate his dinner with us as we were the only guests staying. He watched cricket on the tv and moaned at his staff. We decided to head into town to find the famous Nescafé shop, which was really a hippie bar serving coffee! In the morning we was served the usual fruit breakfast. As rough guide suggests there are plenty of other places to stay in Ella and I would advise the same. It's a shame because if this place had a luck of paint, a bit more savvy and updated the furniture this would be a top destination but it sadly lacks all if these.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynnjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is a good way-station and just a short jog from the railway station. Pleasant staff - and a lot of them for the number of clients they had. The room was large and clean although the windows did not seal and the worn curtains did not cover the space. From the marks on the wall and some buzzing around my ears I found it prudent to use my mosquito net. Basically a ramshackle peculiarly laid out building. It almost seemed that it wasn't quite complete and that constrruction was still underway. The breakfast was the worst we received - basic doesn't describe it. For one night it was fine; for any longer I would look elsewhere..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canontnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't be happier.

The rooms are large and clean and the shower is the best we have has so far ( including 5 star resorts). Good water pressure and very clean.

The dinner was the highlight, about 5 different bowls of curry, vegetables and soup and rice of high quality. Plus fruit salad for dessert. You can choose the time to eat as well which allows flexibility.

There is no fridges in the room which is a small drawback.

Very friendly staff and well located in the main town but off the main road so very quiet.

We had a room on the 2nd floor which has a nice outlook.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor have a large bay window which is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When you arrive by train, the Country Comfort hotel is very nearby. It lies behind the train station, behind the field you see. Take the small path on the left of the station; it's the fastest way to reach the hotel.
The Country Comfort hotel is a very nice place to stay, large rooms, good shower, good food, very friendly and helpfull personal. The lack of a fridge wasn't a problem for us, it was very easy to drink something cool in the garden. WiFi is only reachable in the restaurant and has to be restarted now and then.
We were very satisfied staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I felt sorry for the two staff members that had to carry all services at this hotel. Admittedly it was off-season but the hotel should provide enough staff to provide all normal services at normal prices. No coffee making facilities, but the hotel is within view of the rail way station so it is an easy down hill walk.There are ample guest houses in Ella that will provide an excellent Sri Lankan experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have only just arrived into this hotel on our first night of two and are looking at an alternative for the second night. If we hadn't arrived late evening we would have walked right away. We have two young children with one on the bottle. No room fridge, no tea/coffee facility, no kettle to boil water, was provided with a dirty cot, room musty, bathroom smells of sewage, mould on bathroom ceiling, filthy shower stall, uncovered electrical wires on room wall, filthy plastic bins no liners, television with no aerial, zero info provided in room for hotel facilities/town & tourist sites, awful bed linen and blankets and thread bare bathroom linen. I cannot ever recall being so deflated regarding accommodation whilst travelling any where, and I have had to spend a night in a bottom bunk of a two person caravan when on a business business in a remote part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotso72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed for two nights. Short walk from the train station and the town centre. Staff we friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine (eggs, toast, fruit, etc.). Good sized room with seating and small table, no balcony. Bathroom was okay but had a grill that opened directly onto the hallway, so anyone could hear you.

If you want views or are on a budget then this is not the place to stay, it was okay if you are walking in the area etc. and want to be able walk to the centre for the restaurants/bars in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandHanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Country Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Country Comfort

Address: 32 Police Station Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Country Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Country Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Country Comfort Ella
Comfort Inn Ella
Ella Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing