We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Top Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Top Inn
Ranked #46 of 140 Ella B&B and Inns
Mannheim
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very comfortable guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at the Sun Top Inn. The staff is very friendly and keen on giving advise on what to see in the area. The rooms are very clean and especially those on the second floor have an excellent view. In Addition to that, the guesthouse has a very comfortable common area with a TV and lots of possibilities to relax and chat. Moreover, Sun Top Inn is located very close to Ella town and only a 5 min walk from the Train Station away. Sun Top Inn is therefore close to Little Adam's Peak from which we enjoyed a very beautiful view over Ella Gap and Ella Rock. Food is good, but there are also really nice opportunities to eat in Ella town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    78
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
112
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We paid about 20€ a night and stayed 3 nights here. Service was very friendly and helpful and they quoted very fair prices, we took their offer of a driver to Tissa. Rooms are good size, hot water and excellent mosquito nets! The fan and light switch are right by the bed which is very useful and lots of rooms have a small balcony. Great views and great breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frankfurt_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is well located, next to a small road in the village. (This is not the case for many hotels in ella) You can get huge rooms for a very decent price, so there's that. WATCH OUT: There's a teenager who "runs" the hotel while the parents are off doing other things. Here's my advice: don't change his tv channel. The kid hated us after that, slapping his hands on the ground when we walked by, refusing to serve us food, when he did make us breakfast, our tea was full of ants. Yes, hundreds of ants in our teacup. Other than that, it's calm, and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
1,006 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I didnt stay in the hotel, but location is nice and quiet - not far from the restaurants, shops, bus and train station. I came just for the cooking class, which I heard is great! I was the only "junior cook" at that evening, but I enjoyed time spend in the kitchen with Niranjala Thilakerathne who is preparing cooking classes for several years. She made a lot of different meals. I liked curryes and coconut flavor. Even jackfruit was great, as usually I don't like it! Good way to spend an evening in Elle!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sun Top Inn. It's set back slightly from the main road through Ella, so I enjoyed sitting on my top-floor balcony watching folks head to their respective spots up on the hill: kids going to school, police officers heading to police headquarters, and tourists taking a short cut to the picturesque Ella Train Station. My room was nicely decorated in locally produced fabrics and breakfast was so plentiful that I didn't usually eat again until dinner. The family is friendly and the rates were reasonable. I've added Sun Top Inn to my list of favorites in Sri Lanka…it's a lovely place.

Room Tip: I enjoyed a top floor corner room, with a balcony on one side and windows on the other. Terrific vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Attracted by the positive reviews, we booked a room for 3 nights. As mentioned, the family (staff) is really nice. They go out of their way to arrange all your needs. However, our room was very humid and the bed linnen was damp, making it very difficult to sleep well. Secondly during our 3 night stay, the room has never been cleaned. Even when one of the staff offered to do so. I think there are better alternatives in Ella. One note: to our standards this was the cheapest stay we had in Sri Lanka (20 euro). So maybe we are a bit spoiled :).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you are looking for a night's stay at Ella for an affordable rate, this is the place to be at. The owners were very friendly and I had a game of carroms before sleeping off for the night. The location is very good and is located very close to the railway station. There are affordable restaurants and cafe pubs nearby Sun Top Inn - there is an ATM closeby and is not far from Little Adams Peak. One could negotiate on the rates during off peak time as most of the rooms are vacant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahulr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#54 of 140 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.4 mi away
Forest Paradise - Ella
Forest Paradise - Ella
#56 of 140 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 140 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
#45 of 140 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#22 of 140 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#7 of 140 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Top Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Top Inn

Property: Sun Top Inn
Address: N. 18 Police Station Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Have total 8 rooms with attached bath room with hot water. Big open sitting area.Serves home cooked fresh Sri Lankan, Indian, Western, Chinese food to order. Do transport service air port picks and drops, day tours, drop hires too. Ayurwedic comisioner aproved Ayurwedic Massage center. We offer special discount for residence guests. Provide information and maps to walk in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sun Top Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Top Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing