We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wOw, Very Clean & Modern hotel :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alta Vista

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Alta Vista
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wOw, Very Clean & Modern hotel :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Excellent property. Has been recently renovated. Situated on the hillside it is located in a prime area of Badulla. A little far from the Bandarawela town, but amazing to stay if your looking for some peace and quite. I like the view from the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lushan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
21
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Absolute rip off - no wonder they ask for a 50% deposit on booking. If they didn't they'd go broke! What happened to the roof garden and bar, looking out to the waterfalls? The place doesn't have a license to sell alcohol, there is no roof garden, it's nothing more than a back packers place, which is okay, but not if you've been sold something else. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessiecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very spacious room and bathroom but very basic so dont expect something spécial
The view is amazing
Breakfast ok
The receptionist wasnt really pleasant but the service was good

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We arrived on Christmas Eve for a three day stay in Dec 2010; it is situated in the middle of Ella (albeit up a very steep slope!) which suited us perfectly as it was close to all the restaurants. The hotel is modern and isn't the most characterful but on the plus size the room was a very good size, clean and the bathroom was great - enormous and lots of really hot water - something that was missing from most places we stayed in Sri Lanka. Our room had two double beds and one single, the double beds weren't quite the size of a double bed in the UK so my husband and I were a little crushed.

We had coffee/fruit juices each morning but other than that did not have any food here so can't comment on the quality.

All in all a pleasant place to stay, we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Small guest house with 11 rooms in the small town of Ella. Stopped over on our way too Kandy for 1 night only. Room was spacious and clean and the views from the balcony are just amazing. Restaurant serves limited but good food and the service is exactly what you need.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at Alta Vista for 2 days .the hotel has great view of the mountains and the rooms are very clean and kept according to the standards .the only problem was thier meals are bit expensive but over all i would recomend this place to any traveller for a calm and peacefull stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerRanitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

I was very grateful to have been reccomended this place by my driver(a very nice chap Sampath Ekanayaka
E-mail Address(es):
udayasampath02@gmail.com)

as i was due to stay at another place in Ella where i had a most terrible experience.

The manager and chef at Alta Vista were very polite friendly and accomodating and made my stay most comfortable.

I also appreciated the impeccable cleanliness of this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean,Nice Staff Nice View
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravelling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.9 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Country Comfort
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 10 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alta Vista

Property: Hotel Alta Vista
Address: Ella Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alta Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing