We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good mid-range option in the middle of Ella” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alta Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alta Vista
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good mid-range option in the middle of Ella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the convenience of being close to many restaurants. The rooms here are very spacious with nice balconies overlooking the hills. You can't see the famous Ella Gap, but the views are very green and peaceful. It's in a good location in the middle of the (very small) town, but the climb up to the hotel is fairly steep. The room is fairly standard with limited satellite TV. The bathroom we had was huge and fairly recently renovated, which was nice. The staff were fine and helpful with local information. The only thing we didn't like is this was the only hotel we stayed in Sri Lanka that didn't have wifi, however all the local restaurants and cafes have it, so it wasn't a real problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidOg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
20
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Being set back from the main road and up a hill it is very quiet here and has great views from the balcony. We had a triple which was more than adequate for a family of four. Everything worked and the bathroom was nice. Sadly no wifi. Right in the centre of Ella so an easy walk for hiked out legs to all the eateries.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Hotel Alta Vista is affordable good hotel to stay in Ella. Rooms were clean and has more space.
The view from the balcony is nice but it is not the Ella Gap view as displayed in their website. So if you are expecting to see the view from your room don't book this hotel.

Staff were friendly , food was grate its a nice and happy stay their at Hotel Alta Vista.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tharindu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Excellent property. Has been recently renovated. Situated on the hillside it is located in a prime area of Badulla. A little far from the Bandarawela town, but amazing to stay if your looking for some peace and quite. I like the view from the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lushan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Absolute rip off - no wonder they ask for a 50% deposit on booking. If they didn't they'd go broke! What happened to the roof garden and bar, looking out to the waterfalls? The place doesn't have a license to sell alcohol, there is no roof garden, it's nothing more than a back packers place, which is okay, but not if you've been sold something else. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessiecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very spacious room and bathroom but very basic so dont expect something spécial
The view is amazing
Breakfast ok
The receptionist wasnt really pleasant but the service was good

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We arrived on Christmas Eve for a three day stay in Dec 2010; it is situated in the middle of Ella (albeit up a very steep slope!) which suited us perfectly as it was close to all the restaurants. The hotel is modern and isn't the most characterful but on the plus size the room was a very good size, clean and the bathroom was great - enormous and lots of really hot water - something that was missing from most places we stayed in Sri Lanka. Our room had two double beds and one single, the double beds weren't quite the size of a double bed in the UK so my husband and I were a little crushed.

We had coffee/fruit juices each morning but other than that did not have any food here so can't comment on the quality.

All in all a pleasant place to stay, we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.9 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Country Comfort
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 10 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 140 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alta Vista

Property: Hotel Alta Vista
Address: Ella Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alta Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing