We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Paper thin walls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is amazing. Literally in the clouds that come and go throughout the day. It's managed by a small staff which are a bit untrained for managing such a property. they have good attitude and do try but in our case they forgot to inform about certain food items which were not included in the half board dinner and also failed to properly register the number of people in our party, asking for extra charges (not high though).
The room (7) was spacious, clean and simple but suffered horribly from noise issues. Apparently the staff watched TV all night which was clearly heard in the room.
There aren't many alternatives around, so I hope management will try to keep noise levels down the throughout the night time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    211
    56
    23
    6
See reviews for
128
303
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were not booked in this hotel, but our planned hotel in Ella was overbooked so our local agent upgraded us to this hotel! And yes, it was certainly an upgrade! Pitty we stayed only for 1 night! The location of the hotel is breathtaking! The panoramic view on the mountains is just heaven! The room is large and nicely decorated! And as said, from your balcony u have wonderfull panoramas! Staff are very friendly! No complaints at all! Would like to have stayed here 1 or 2 more nights! Also the town of Ella is very nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect stay in room 10... In fact my boyfriend proposed as the sun rose on our first morning!!! The staff were so friendly and food amazing. I would highly recommend for at least two nights. We also hiked to mini sdam's peak which was great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fionanmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in Room 8 on the top floor, which had fantastic views. We really enjoyed our stay – the staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was spacious and stylish and the bed was the most comfortable of our trip. The food was fine (Sri Lankan evening meal better than the breakfast) and the kitchen staff went above and beyond to provide us (and our driver) with a packed breakfast when we departed at 4.30am for a trip to Horton Plains. The only negative was the number of bugs – including giant ants in our toilet and also the toilet in the restaurant area – but this is Sri Lanka (even though the room itself feels very Western!) and the staff quickly provided us with strong ant spray which did the trick. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed ther for only one night (sorry) on our round trip to Sri Lanka in february 2014. The hotel is very nice and the view down Ella Gap is fantastic, bouth from our spacious room (and shower) and from the restaurant. The service and the food is exelent too.
This was no doubt the best place we stayed on our round trip, and perhaps the hotel with the best wiev we ever have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stalemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainheavens, Manager at The Mountain Heavens, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Many tks for the wonderful review.
Almost every visitor talks about the view and as you suggested those who have widely traveled all over the world share that they too have not seen a similar view in any where in the world.

Thank you for choosing The Mountain Heavens and glad that you had a memorable stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you once again.

prasanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Booked a deluxe double room which was beautiful, spacious and very clean. The staff are superb, very helpful and create a wonderfully calm atmosphere whilst being very attentive. All meals are delicious and the location couldnt be better to explore stunning Ella. We were very sad to leave!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D3cadence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here en route from Kandy to Aragum Bay. Took a bit of a risk. Arrived at the station knowing we were booked and got a Tuk Tuk to the hotel. Town is really a transfer station of travellers heading to and from Kandy and Aragum, but is fascinating 1 road town and really chilled out. Tuk-Tuk took us up the steepest hill and wound along a dirt track. At this point we were concerned. What we arrived at was stunning. Open fronted hotel with amazing staff and the most fantastic view of "The Cut". We were in a room....or should I say, suite, below the main dining area. I would suggest these rooms as a preference. The view and balconies are exceptional. We stayed at 98 acres on the way back from Aragum bay and this place has better views in our option and is better value for money and better service.
The staff could not do enough for us. We ate here and the food was superb. The Curry and rice came with 10 sides. The Banana flower curry and Garlic curry were excellent.
We stayed up chatting in the bar area and as mentioned in other reviews they did run out of beer (We had been drinking for about 3 hrs and it was after midnight) The poor staff were trying to help but was getting late. They left 1 waiter purely to look after us until the small hours.
Advice would be to stock up on Beer for the tourist market, or have some Spirits as a back up.
This is the only fault and realistically we could have picked some up previously in the town. The Hotel doesn't specifically have any bar so we viewed this just an aside for guests.
We found a quicker route into town via the rail tracks reminiscent of Stand by me, but at least we knew the train times and had planned for this. One bit of advice, watch out for the wire when walking.
During the morning we had monkeys running across our patio!
We did an organised trek by a guide the hotel had sorted out for us. Didn't really need this, but was disappointed in the guide (not really the hotels issue).
Trek up to Ella Rock was really good and the views even more spectacular. It was pretty hard going in the heat, but great fun. Only issue was on the way down the guide was trying so hard to "Con" us or upwell us to go to certain massage shops renowned in the area. This and ending the trek in a bus we had to pay for for him as well left a bad feeling. As I said not the hotels problem. If possible try and get better guides if you need one.

Love this place, the breakfast was excellent as well and the open fronted atmosphere of the main hotel was awesome.
Keep doing what you are doing.
Only advice,
1.) Get more beer, but this may spoil the peace and quiet.
2.) Get better trekking guides that don't spend the whole trek upselling you to go to their "friends" massage shop.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Lower rooms beneath the Main restaurant seemed to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sl59906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#4 of 92 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Property: The Mountain Heavens
Address: Kithal ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing