We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great views and lovely room”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night with my husband. Room was clean with a balcony overlooking the mountains and ella rock. Beautiful views. Only issue I guess is the bugs tend to fly in at night so I think one piece of feedback would be to install nets around the bed posts.. Overall great hotel, good service and a pleasant stay. Dinner and breakfast at the hotel was pretty ok as well.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    218
    60
    24
    6
See reviews for
133
316
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is the perfect place to stay for fantastic views of Ella Gap from your own private terrace. The rooms are light, airy and modern with huge sliding windows where you can step right out onto the spacious balcony to watch the breathtaking sunrise. The bathroom is huge although we did find quite a few ants! The view from the hotel is simply stunning, with Little Adams Peak to your left and Ella rock on your right. You can also easily walk from the hotel into town within 10-15 mins where there are some great restaurants. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty good and nicely presented, you get the same great views from the dining area. Driver accommodation is also provided. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our trip and we would definitely have liked to stay here more than 1 night! Highly recommended and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYM1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As we checked into the hotel, I could hardly bear to tear myself away from the dining terrace as the view is utterly spectacular. I needn't have worried, as the rooms all have a very spacious private terrace with the same amazing view of Ella Gap. Our room was spacious, comfortable and stylish with huge windows to make the most of the view. There were some great touches, like a huge bean bag for relaxing on and it was a great place to cool down and rest. Staff are really helpful and friendly. We were there at New Year and they set up a lovely table of sweets which they were very keen to share. It's really handy for a walk along the railway to the beautiful Nine Arches Bridge. It is a really peaceful location until a train goes by, but there are only about fiver a day. It's a small hotel - only ten rooms, I think, but even so there are plans to put in a pool, which would make it pretty perfect. Did I mention the view? It is pretty special.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the side of a mountain and every room has a view. There are a few stairs and no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaHavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is amazing. Literally in the clouds that come and go throughout the day. It's managed by a small staff which are a bit untrained for managing such a property. they have good attitude and do try but in our case they forgot to inform about certain food items which were not included in the half board dinner and also failed to properly register the number of people in our party, asking for extra charges (not high though).
The room (7) was spacious, clean and simple but suffered horribly from noise issues. Apparently the staff watched TV all night which was clearly heard in the room.
There aren't many alternatives around, so I hope management will try to keep noise levels down the throughout the night time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were not booked in this hotel, but our planned hotel in Ella was overbooked so our local agent upgraded us to this hotel! And yes, it was certainly an upgrade! Pitty we stayed only for 1 night! The location of the hotel is breathtaking! The panoramic view on the mountains is just heaven! The room is large and nicely decorated! And as said, from your balcony u have wonderfull panoramas! Staff are very friendly! No complaints at all! Would like to have stayed here 1 or 2 more nights! Also the town of Ella is very nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect stay in room 10... In fact my boyfriend proposed as the sun rose on our first morning!!! The staff were so friendly and food amazing. I would highly recommend for at least two nights. We also hiked to mini sdam's peak which was great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fionanmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in Room 8 on the top floor, which had fantastic views. We really enjoyed our stay – the staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was spacious and stylish and the bed was the most comfortable of our trip. The food was fine (Sri Lankan evening meal better than the breakfast) and the kitchen staff went above and beyond to provide us (and our driver) with a packed breakfast when we departed at 4.30am for a trip to Horton Plains. The only negative was the number of bugs – including giant ants in our toilet and also the toilet in the restaurant area – but this is Sri Lanka (even though the room itself feels very Western!) and the staff quickly provided us with strong ant spray which did the trick. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 12 in Ella
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 12 in Ella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ella
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 12 in Ella
97 reviews
16.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Property: The Mountain Heavens
Address: | Kitalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing