We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ate there, hope to stay another time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just ate there, hope to stay another time”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I had wanted to stay here, but a room was available for 1 of the 4 days i was in Ella, so i stayed elsewhere. But i decided to have dinner here one evening.

It was a little difficult to get on the right road leading up to MH (the manager says their sign on the main road got taken down): though drivers may try to convince you you need their services, you really don't need a tuktuk for the 1 km hike up unless you're carrying a load of luggage, or really out of shape.

i doubt you can do better than MH for a view of Ella Gap from any accommodation in Ella: it's the highest and directly faces the Gap. Sure, there are private dwellings above with better views, and the best view is from the top of Ella Rock, but the view from MH promised to be stunning enough that i was enticed back next morning for some photos.

The entrance leads to the reception/roofed restaurant area, from which stairs lead down to rooms and a terrace. A set of deluxe rooms were being built above the restaurant which should gives slightly better views of the Gap.

But you can only enjoy the view for so long. You'll notice the service here is quite young, and that includes the manager, Prasanna, who already seems to have become a hit with other reviewers here — add me to the list! i had several nice chats with Prasanna before dinner and then the next morning when i forgot my camera at MH.

Yes, dinner was delish, specially the veggies. The price was a little on the high side for Ella i felt, but that's a minor cavil.

i hope to return to MH someday for more than a dinner!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    215
    57
    23
    6
See reviews for
129
309
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This was one of our favourite places that we stayed during our 3 and a half week tour of Sri Lanka and was recommended by our driver guide, Mr Nimal de Silva.

We were actually quite unwell on our arrival at the hotel and the staff did a great job of keeping an eye on our welfare. We stayed in one of the rooms at the bottom of the hotel with the lawn out the front. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The view from the room was amazing and could also be enjoyed while eating meals from their airy restaurant. The food was superb, I highly recommend the garlic curry. We were also treated to a cooking class with the chef! We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, who was a very kind and interesting man. All the staff were exceptional. Ella is a very beautiful place, and Mountain Heavens is a great place to take it all in!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

A basic guesthouse with superb views of the small Rawana Falls and Little Adam's Peak.

Ask for the rooms at the bottom with a patch of lawn. I think it has the best views in Ella!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank et5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The view was the reason we selected Mountain Heavens over the other places in Ella and it was certainly worth it. We had one of the rooms next to the garden, which was newly renovated and very nicely fitted. They were in the process of fitting some deluxe rooms at the top of the hotel which will have even more stunning rooms. The one downside with the rooms was very poor pillows (a problem across SL) which made sleep rather uncomfortable.

We ate breakfast and dinner most days - breakfast was good and dinner was excellent (and plentiful). Staff are friendly and helpful - they did a couple of loads of washing for us and didn't charge us. The hotel is not as close as some of the places in Ella itself and has a relatively poor road to drive up to it, but you can take a short cut along the railway line to the village centre. It's on the right side of Ella for the start of the walk up Ella Rock which is a stunning walk and well worth doing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ao Nang Krabi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

The view here is out of this world, and we had a great time with the manager, Prasana, very helpful, nice guy . We will be back , his boss. Should double his wages. Cheers Kevin & Dutch

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theroverAoNangKrabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I enjoyed three nights here, arriving by train from Haputale and leaving by bus for Matara. I climbed nearby Ella Peak, caught the train to Bandarawela for the Sunday market, and between times enjoyed the hospitality of Prasanna and his team - particularly the great meals. A good break, away from the heat and hustle of the coast, and Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Ella a truly breathtaking sanctuary after the incredible beaches and wild life reserves. Situated ver close to the mini ravan waterfall this 6 room hotel has a million $ view. Try and book yourself in one of the two rooms with a garden sit out. The restuarant is excellent and boasts of a chef with 27 yrs of work ex; he makes the best curry and rice in that region. The service is taken care by the one man army 'prasanna' and he does a spendid job at what he knows best. has great nature trails around and is a five minute walk from the station.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parchedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#3 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Property: The Mountain Heavens
Address: Kithal ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing