We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget Hotel”
Review of Ella Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Holiday Inn
Ranked #118 of 153 Ella B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a room downstairs which was ok for the price. it was a bit cold in the room but it was quiet enough, we only stayed one night. The front desk staff was quite nice and helpful. The Hotel is situated on the main road and offers a restaurant and a Kottu Roti stand, it was a little busy and the service was very very slow. I had to ask 3 times if I could order food. I saw many people get up and leave because of the service. The food is nothing special, we found many better places to eat in Ella. This is fine for one night and is definitely a budget place, they offered hot water but we didn't have much hot water at all.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are quite cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gseppe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    47
    38
    16
    18
See reviews for
17
59
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Decent accommodation in the centre of Ella. Big, clean rooms with four-poster beds and hot water in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially regarding activities in the local area. Our 'private balcony' looked over a car park - not worth paying extra for this.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davevalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We were in a downstairs room for LKR2500 per night no meals included. The room looked out over an unfinished concrete wall and was very cold. The beds are unbelievably uncomfortable and hard with only one tiny thin blanket for two of us. Though the location in town is good and the service by the receptionist was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had dinner at the Holiday Inn restaurant and this was very tasty! The day after we went back to have a second time dinner there (Ella is quite small) and again very satisfying! The manager of the hotel arranged a taxi for us so we could leave at 4am for worlds end the next day, despite us not staying at the hotel, and this taxi was on time and very comfortable. Afterwards the manager explained to us which buses we had to take. So good food and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miekesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Bad Points:
-crappy breakfast (usual in Sri Lanka), just pay for a roti downstairs as they're decent.
-noisy at night. Loud thumping music, barking dogs next door and busy reataurants on all sides.
-right on the main road so not a place to chill at all. Lots of people coming in and out constantly.
-dirty rooms and bathrooms, smelly thin towels, poor quality linen and unwashed bedding.
Good Points:
-upstaris balcony good for drinks while kids in bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevillePettersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Great place! Location can't be better, staff is extremely helpfull (and patient ;-)) advising over busses and also ringing hotels in orher places on your request. Rooms are big and clean. The attached restaurant and rotti place have goid and cheap food.

Just make sure you end up in the main building; there are some rooms attached to a family room/house under the restaurant. The guy there is a grumpy ******. If you stay in the main building, you'll never see him, so no worries about that!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muizemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went out for dinner and came back at 10:30 to find the hotel locked up and no-one around to let us in! It was quite extraordinary, there was absolutely no-one from the hotel working at all. It took an hour to get in by going to everywhere still open in the village to eventually find someone who worked there. The next morning the owner seemed to think we should have known this and that it is a normal hotel policy!

To make matters worse we ordered a taxi to take us to our next location, but when we arrived they hadn't actually organised one. There were no taxis available in the village so we ended up taking a tuk tuk for 3 hours - which was actually quite fun, but not our plan.

Finally the rooms were pretty basic - ok but no better than that.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingofstroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Country Comfort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Rawana Holiday Resort
Rawana Holiday Resort
#70 of 153 in Ella
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spice Hut Hostel
Spice Hut Hostel
#125 of 153 in Ella
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Holiday Inn

Property: Ella Holiday Inn
Address: Main Street, Ella, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ella Holiday Inn is situated in the famous town of Ella, in the eastern part of the central hills. We are pleased to offer beautiful and comfortable rooms, each complete with balcony, en suit bathroom, hot water, satellite TV, computer and internet access. We offer delicious Sri Lankan and International food in our restaurant. Nearby is the world-famous Ella Gap, and within 5-10 minutes drive you'll be able to reach several historical heritage sites. We also offer tours (local and national), safari and trekking, as well as camping in our eco site with our specialist guides. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ella Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing