We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterfalls Homestay
Ranked #3 of 165 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

There are some places that when you find them you just know they going to be perfect, Waterfalls Homestay, Ella is one of those places, Perfect in every way!
Set in a stunning position on a hill surrounded by jungle and overlooking the waterfall, we stayed in the Veranda room for four nights. To wake up and see the early morning sun shining across the veranda and the waterfall in the distance is just beautiful. Our room was lovely, bright and spacious, with a large comfy bed and en suit. The delicious breakfast is taken on the veranda with the other guests, usually watched over by the local troop of monkeys. The home cooked food we had for our evening meals was outstanding. A stunning selection of tasty Sri Lankan dishes always different every night followed by a (sometimes two) tasty little desert to finish.
There is so much to do while staying in Ella, made more enjoyable by Karen and Martins enthusiasm for the area. The walk to ‘little Adam’s peak’ was stunning, we also visited the fascinating hand loom factory and equally enjoyable tea factory, a walk along the railway line to the waterfall is well worth it too.
Ella is in a fantastic part of the world so clean and green and getting around is so easy, we travelled to Ella on the 6 hour train from Kandy as well as the train we used local buses and the very reliable tuk tuk driver Lanka.
Thank you, Karen and Martin for what was an absolutely terrific stay at Waterfalls. We would love to come back again one day, but if not, perhaps you would like to join us when we get our place in Italy.
Many thanks, Nigel and Kate

Room Tip: The veranda room was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gondolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Waterfalls Homestay is the most beautiful, relaxing place on earth. At night you fall asleep to the sounds of the waterfall. Amazing hosts Karen and Martin provide a wonderful dinner and fabulous breakfast. We loved this place and unfortunately only stayed one night so make sure you stay longer. Could have done so much more in Ella.

Room Tip: Walk to Little Adam's peak through the tea plantations great and the Roti Hut from the main plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Waterfalls Homestay is the best place that I have ever stayed!!!! My husband, 2 kids and I stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The house and gardens are beautiful and our room and bathroom were spacious and immaculately clean. The food is amazing- the best we had in our 16 days in Sri Lanka, and the scenery and ambiance just so relaxing, friendly and peaceful. Karen and Martin are great company and wonderful hosts and have created something very special in Waterfalls Homestay!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sugarbooger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A warm welcome from dogs Skippy and Armanda, cat Tinkerbell and Aussie owner Karen. Chef Arkamel rustles up excellent food. The setting is superb, with the waterfall as a backdrop to breakfasts al fresco. Everything about this place is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were on a motorbike driving through Sri Lanka, no hotels booked except for this one. It was an absolute blessing!

There is so much to do in the area and the home-stay is located a bit off the busy road which makes it a perfect hideaway! And the local tuctuc driver Lanka is of great assistance bringing you around for a fair prize.

As the name says it you have a view on a beautiful waterfall and receive the service of a lovely couple and their dedicated staff. The food is excellent, ever changing, varied and very healthy. However if you come back from a trip of swimming in the nearby waterfall they will whip you up a ham and cheese sandwich without hesitation.

Thank you for making our stay in Sri Lanka even more memorable! Enjoy life as I am sure you will!!!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are great and for that prize a bargain and befitting a perfect home-stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandrineNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This place is beautiful!
Karen is an amazing host and cook. We stayed 2 nights, one in the studio and the second in the veranda, and both rooms are nice. The vue is stunning!!
The other guest were very interesting people so we enjoyed sharing dinner and breakfast with them.
Karen recommended us things to do in our short stay in Ella: waterfall, tea factory, little Adam's peak, temple, market... We adored the visits.

The problem was the tuktuk driver named Lanka. After traveling around Sri Lanka (Tangalle), now we know his prices are abusives. So either you establish the price prior in the homestay with the owner, either you find another tuktuk in town.
The last day he drove us to Barandawella to pick the bus to Tagalle there. It was a good plan because the bus leaves from there, so if you are in advance you can have a seat. But Lanka "arranged" for us the seats with the driver, that meant : we have to pay a lot more, Rs 400 each. They didn't give us a ticket with the price like they normally do in the bus in Sri Lanka (bus from Tangalle to Bentota Rs 180 each) and the "reserved seats" were the first after the driver seat, so when a monk arrived at the last minute I have to leave him my seat and travel separately from my husband the whole trajet.
Without Lanka arrangement and price, we could just arrive with time and pick the seats by our own, like we do in other trajets and pay the "local" price.

We will come back to waterfalls homestay, Karen left us a good memory.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank analiagarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Incredible place, Karen has created a little paradise. We stayed in the Verandah room and loved it.
Breakfast at the terrace every morning was fantastic, and dinner is really excellent, probably the best meals that we had in Sri Lanka.
Ah, try the massage, it's really good!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bito22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.3 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chamodya Home Stay
Chamodya Home Stay
#1 of 165 in Ella
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.4 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#10 of 165 in Ella
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfalls Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfalls Homestay

Address: Watagodawaththa, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: £25 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfall Homestay perched on top of a hill, directly in front of a waterfall, surrounded by jungle makes this one of the most stunning places in Ella to stay. Choose from three beautiful rooms, two with 180 degree views and one with french doors opening on to a large veranda. Relax on the sundeck and watch the monkeys playing in their jungle garden while Kamal, one of the best cooks in Sri lanka, prepares your meals for you. Waterfalls is a piece of paradise and only 1.5km from the town of Ella makes it definitely worth venturing of the beaten track for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterfalls Homestay Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing