We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterfalls Homestay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfalls Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterfalls Homestay
Ranked #3 of 140 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waterfalls Homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely place and a great location --- made far more effort than is usual in these places. Food was superb. Very relaxing. The room was like staying in a treehouse. Worth heading to Chill cafeim the town for lamprais

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    35
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
103
320
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at Waterfalls Homestay. The location is incredibly tranquil, but a pleasant stroll along the railway line takes you into the centre of Ella. Karen was very friendly and welcoming and our clean and comfortable room was perfect for the 4 of us. We ate in on both nights and the food was outstanding and excellent value for money. We especially enjoyed sitting round the table with fellow travellers from different parts of the world over a beer or 2 afterwards.

The homestay (and Ella) was the highlight of our trip around Sri Lanka and it really deserves its high TA rating.

One small thing to make it even more perfect would be the addition of a blind or curtains on one of the windows. We woke up early with the light coming into the room and whilst it was lovely to look out over the trees to the waterfall, we would have liked to have slept in a bit longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so unusual! My veranda room was so cool!! I had my own table for breakfast with waterfall view ! Stunning !!!! Room was clean and comfortable. The linen bed was so soft! I had a dinner with other guests . It was a bit uncomfortable at beginning , but then everybody started to tell stories , so we had a fun time and great dinner. Really great experience !

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Polina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent 2 weeks travelling around Sri Lanka with a guide/driver and as it was an organized tour we mainly stayed at large 4 or 5 star hotels. We arranged in advance to make an amendment to the tour to include Ella and the Waterfalls homestay for a day/night and we're really glad we did - what a refreshing change! Not to mention excellent value.

Karen especially was very welcoming and had a really easy-going, friendly style. We had dinner with the two other couple that were staying and it was interesting to hear about their experiences in Sri Lanka and previous travels.The food was excellent: home-cooked Sri Lankan dishes with lots of variety. Karen even arranged for a special less-spicy dish for my husband who isn't so keen on chilli.

We stayed in the Vernadah room, which although simple was spacious and had a good-sized ensuite. Our only recommendations for Karen and Martin on our stay were to do with the room:
1) My husband didn't like the fact that the bathroom had a curtain instead of a door....there is space for a door and it would provide better privacy.
2) We're light sleepers and the lack of curtains given the size of the beautiful french doors and windows meant that we woke very early in the morning.

I had a massage which was very nice - definitely recommended.

Finally, the location of this place is breathtaking and the terrace where you can have a beer in the evening or enjoy breakfast in the morning really makes the most of the views and natural surroundings. The walk up Little Adam's peak is a must-do and the 9 Acres hotel is a perfect place for lunch or a cold drink on the way.

Thank you for a memorable stay, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethCuevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfallshomestay, Owner at Waterfalls Homestay, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Many thanks for all your positive comments about our little home stay and thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to some aspects of your room that weren't entirely to your liking......firstly......we deliberately haven't put doors onto the bathrooms so as to help with the problem of mould. In the hills we have such high humidity with the clouds actually entering the rooms that we have opted to make our bathrooms as bright and airy as possible ie large spacious bathrooms, exhaust fans and gorgeous Japanese Noren curtains. While yes, some people prefer more privacy in the bathroom by way of closed doors we have managed to keep our rooms completely mould free with no dank musty smells as you find in lots of bathrooms in the hill country, much more pleasant and hygienic for our guests.
Secondly....we have succumbed! While we have always had curtains on the verandah room, wonderful wispy white ones, they have now been replaced with heavier drapes (much to my dismay but much to the delight of some of our guests!) and....
While i am on the subject of the verandah room, the window has also been fixed so that it closes easily, making this room completely "cat proof!"
We are glad however that you still enjoyed staying with us despite a few minor issues, and sincerely hope that we will see you again some day.
safe travels
Karen, Martin and the gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

All of the reviews say it all.......beautiful location, wonderful breakfasts,super hosts and sweet cats......we stayed in jungle room for 3 nights.......very small but the view and the private little terrace was perfect......bathroom is just OK...shower in middle of room.......the rooms in the main house are much larger......but lack the ambience of the jungle room.....Thanks Karen and Martin for our wonderful time in Ella......

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Four of us holidaying in Sri Lanka spent 4 nights at Waterfalls. It was the highlight of the entire holiday. The location is idylic, with the view of the waterfall, farms and forest across the valley. Our rooms were light, airy, spotless and well appointed. The breakfast of wonderful fruit, curd, eggs, and hoppers, taken on the balcony overlooking the view was delicious. However, it was with the dinner that Kamal really excelled himself. The curries were wonderful. On Sunday he came with us to the market in Banderawella and purchased a variety of exotic vegetables and a huge fish which he presented, beautifully cooked, for dinner that evening. His desert cakes were all very good, the best being a coconut and lime one. We really enjoyed eating with the other guests, from many different countries, chatting and sharing experiences.
Karen and Martin were away when we arrived and did not return until our third day. It says much for the excellent service provided by Kamal, Gayan, Nali and Lanka, that everything worked perfectly in their absence.
Lanka and his friends took us on tuktuk trips to explore the local area, which is of outstanding beauty. We visited Ella Gap, Little Adams Peak and Little Worlds End and bathed in the nearby waterfall. The climate in Ella comes as a wonderful relief from the heat and humidity of the coast.
Waterfalls is a truly amazing place and remarkable value for money. Our advice - stay there if you can!

Room Tip: We had the Verandah and Studio Rooms. If you do not like to climb stairs, choose the Studio. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

All the reviews we read are correct, we stayed 2 nights it's a amazing place, our breakfast was the best we had eaten on our tour.
A big thank you to Karen & Martin who are always on hand for any information you may need
Our strong advice is : BOOK EARLY.

Thank you for a perfect stay

John & Pat

Room Tip: All are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.7 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#4 of 86 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 140 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chamodya Home Stay
Chamodya Home Stay
#1 of 140 in Ella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfalls Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfalls Homestay

Property: Waterfalls Homestay
Address: Watagodawaththa, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfall Homestay perched on top of a hill, directly in front of a waterfall, surrounded by jungle makes this one of the most stunning places in Ella to stay. Choose from three beautiful rooms, two with 180 degree views and one with french doors opening on to a large veranda. Relax on the sundeck and watch the monkeys playing in their jungle garden while Kamal, one of the best cooks in Sri lanka, prepares your meals for you. Waterfalls is a piece of paradise and only 1.5km from the town of Ella makes it definitely worth venturing of the beaten track for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterfalls Homestay Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing