We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Sri Lankan profiteering”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #112 of 146 Ella B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“More Sri Lankan profiteering”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This place is a short but steep walk above the township of Ella. The climbing does not stop there as the guest house is tiered up the side of the hill. There is a big veranda area around the main building with a number of sitting areas. Inside there is a large dining room. They do serve cold beer here.
The rooms do not have television or air-con but the climate here does not require it. They do have mosquito nets which are required. The older rooms have wooden furniture but the two new rooms that we were given had queen sized metal beds. The floor was black with alternating saffron and white walls and a pitched wood lined ceiling. They may ultimately look colourful and modern but unfortunately they had not been completed when they were given to us. There were not even glasses, soap and toilet paper provided initially and I had to askt. It was like camping in a shed with a bed. I understand that furniture is on the way. Our bathroom door could not be secured closed and our friends room had no bathroom door. There is a nice big veranda in front of these rooms that looks down to the main street below and to Ella Gap to one side. But the point is, the management should not have been letting these rooms until they had been completed.
The evening rice and curry was adequate but the breakfast was as minimalist as our room; banana, toast/butter/jam, egg, coffee.
The most enthusiasm we elicited from the staff was when they asked when we would be paying. The young Dachshund on duty was however very friendly and charming.

Room Tip: Check the room out carefully before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    39
    46
    29
    19
See reviews for
24
90
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

You can sit at the corridor, just relax yourself and wathing the Ella Gap (is a valley) and Little Adam Peak. And you can wake up early to enjoy the sun rise at the corridor. You can request for internet service with using their computer from the staff. They serve very good curry and rice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChunTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed at Tea Garden Holiday Inn for 3 nights in late December.

On the plus side: it's in a nice, quiet spot up on the hill, with lovely views from the top balcony and some nice places to sit outside and drink tea and read and relax. Like other reviewers, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful, though it definitely felt like a hotel rather than a B&B where one might get to know the family a little bit and get more personalized advice about what to do and where to go. We had dinner there once, which was quite good, and the breakfasts were somewhat standard (with fruit, toast and made-to-order eggs) but plentiful.

On the down side (and this is a big downside!): the room was very basic, very moldy and the hot water non-existent. For the equivalent of about $40/night, it felt like we weren't really getting our money's worth -- relatively speaking -- in terms of basic amenities.

If, like we were, you're trying to find a room when most of Ella is booked, this isn't a terrible option and does have some nice features -- but the next time we go, we'll be looking elsewhere...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baryongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

A relatively charming little hotel with extremely friendly staff - friendly friendly, not 'I'm being nice because I want your money friendly'!
The food was standard Sri Lankan fare, but of good quality and portion size.
The charge was 3800rps per night, which for the time of year was reasonable.
HOWEVER! The bed that I slept in had bedbugs, as did one that my friend slept in. We both had at least 10 bites on our torsos that lasted for well over a week - very itchy. Furthermore, the advertised 'hot water' is dependant on sunshine as it's solar heated - cloudy day, forget a hot shower. If enough guests whinge, the owner will turn on the electric boiler, but be the first to shower in the hotel on these days, because after one shower the boiler is empty.
So, despite the plus points, I could not recommend this place for an overnight stay for a tired Western traveller.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diceman9102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Rather basic guesthouse, with all the essentials (clean rooms, hot water, friendly and efficient staff) as well as internet access, good food, friendly and efficient staff and balconies with stunning views to Ella gap. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

The staff here were very helpful and gave us advice on places we could visit in Ella and how to get there, what time of day to go etc. They had a cute little Daschund puppy that I fell in love with too.
The view of the mountains from our room was amazing. The room was 3800 rupees/night for a double room. The only downside was that there was no aircon or even a fan! It didn't end up being a problem at all though, as the weather in the hill country is pretty cool, especially at night.
They also have driver's quarters and meals at no extra charge, if you are traveling with a driver/guide.

Recommend while you're in Ella, to do the 2 hour walk to Ella Rock- the view is amazing! Also, Little Adam's Peak, and Ella waterfall are nice places to visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theekshna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Went in to this place after an terrible experience in "Grand Ella Motel" with a worst possible welcome at "Elle Motel"

But in "Tea Garden" staff was so friendly and and cheerful. They showed us the rooms and gave us the selected room. The view from the hotel was great and one of the best views you can find around Ella.

After selecting the room we went to see one of the nearby waterfalls and when we came back, the rooms were ready and the waiters brought teat to the sitting area just outside the room, where we could experience the sundown from high above the ground while enjoying a tea.

Food and rooms was ok for us and had hot water also. Rooms were average but value for money.

They made the breakfast also the way we wanted.

This is a good place to stay at an average price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Rock Side Inn Ella
Rock Side Inn Ella
#21 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#28 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Adam's View
Ella Adam's View
#96 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ella Stream Site
Ella Stream Site
#125 of 146 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Homes
Country Homes
#13 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#26 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Property: Ella Tea Garden
Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing