We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #107 of 141 Ella B&B and Inns
Nago, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Moderately priced with fantastic views. One of the nicer places I stayed in. The rooms themselves are average and the bathrooms a bit grungy but sitting on the verandah or in the garden with a drink in hand at sunset was perfect. The restaurant was a bit empty and the food mediocre. Advise eating in town. Probably better for backpacker types rather than posh hotels types

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    39
    46
    29
    18
See reviews for
23
90
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

My partner and I have just spent 2 nights at the Tea Garden. We stayed in one of the rooms lower down from the restaurant with an amazing view of Ella Rock. Our room was comfortable and big with a lovely balcony area. The rooms are basic but good value for money. The shower worked fine, and the room was clean. The outside light was at first not working, however we let the manager know and it was changed without any problems. All of the staff were very accommodating, especially at breakfast. We had a lovely breakfast both mornings; the poached eggs were done to perfection! The manager couldn’t help us enough with our questions about Ella. The resident little sausage dog was also very charming! I would defiantly recommend a visit to the Tea Garden holiday inn!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you want to be away from the hotel and restaurant area choose the 2 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielaura123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
269 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I booked this place and later I found out many negative ratings. But the reality was better,than I expected. Nice (or better : excellent) views of the nature,hills and waterfalls. Rooms are simple,bathroom quite worn out. When we came, I have checked if the hot water was working,but next morning was cold again.We asked the manager to fix it, he switched in some socket and ever since the hot water supply worked without problems. Main pain = no wardrobe in a room. We were family of 3, so finally you have all things over the bed,in a luggage...and definitely in a big mess.
Breakfasts were very good, lots of fruits,relatively good coffee (measured by Sri Lankan standards). They are very helpfull, bringing new toasts and fruit.
WiFi signal in the room poor, but I did not troubled - we have bought Dialog SIM card
(cca USD 10.-)after arrival at the airport = with 1GB free internet data,many SMS and free calls-it will give you real freedom and chance to be online almost EVERYWHERE in Sri Lanka. After 9 days I still had almost 80% of the data available.

Room Tip: Room nr. 07 has the best view of waterfalls and nature( for 2 pers. and extra bed possible), underne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent views but not much else to recommend it. Was told the restaurant would open at 7pm for evening meals, went down at 7:15 to be told that the chef had to go somewhere so restaurant was closed. On returning from dinner outside the hotel at about 20:30 we asked for coffee but was told that it was too late. Room was clean but little or no hot water in the morning. If I had paid $30 for the night I would have thought I had got what I paid for but at $50 it was way overpriced. Having travelled a few times in Sri lank now you can get much better for less money, good job it was only for 1 night.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I am still at the hotel (my second night) and can't wait to leave tomorrow morning - although there are "last minute" problems with the car transfer booking I requested several months ago! This hotel is in a great location and has fantastic views and has so much potential - but managers obviously don't want to spend money on improving it ... or time on training staff. Staff are incompetent, lazy, unfriendly, unprofessional and disinterested in guests. I had to ask 4 times for some soap - but staff were too busy playing indoor games and failed to respond over several hours. Food was almost cold - and close to inedible - very mushy. Unfortunately rice and curry dishes were not "authentic Sri Lankan" style. Bedroom was reasonably clean but drab and depressing. Furniture very worn. Bathroom was very smelly and shower virtually cold, despite attached electric hot water heater. Wi-fi not available in room - and otherwise generally unreliable. Overall an extremely disappointing place - only real positive was the resident sausage dog (dachshund) which was very friendly, unlike the staff!!

Room Tip: My tip is to avoid this hotel altogether!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in the tea garden hotel for two days. We were forewarned by other travelers on both booking.com and tripadvisor, but since other places were all booked we booked in this hotel.
At first we believed we had a good deal since the room has a beautiful view.
However, after two days all the important details become apparent. Everything is falling apart, the shower is cold, and extremely molded. There is no wifi in the rooms all though the add says there is. You have to sit next to the router in the restaurant to get any wifi.
The staff is generally uninterested (we had to ask for towels and soap) and they try to take advantage of you by asking high prices for a drive to Tissa by lying about the duration of the drive and the knowledge of the driver. If you do not have to book here, please do not. There are nicer paces with better caretakers in Ella

Room Tip: If you have to be here, try the top room in the corner with a view to the ella rock. However, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

A good place to stay. Sit on the verandah, admire the views, have a drink and watch the sun go down. It's not what you'd call flash but it's quite comfortable in a plesant location. The rooms are fine, although the mozzie net is way too small, especially when it tries to cover two single beds. It's a bit of a trudge up the hill to get to it but what the heck it's good for you. It's also home to the only saussage dog in SL.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#55 of 141 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Adam's View
Ella Adam's View
#96 of 141 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ravana Heights
Ravana Heights
#53 of 141 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#24 of 141 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 141 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spice Hut Hostel
Spice Hut Hostel
#121 of 141 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Property: Ella Tea Garden
Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing