We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worthy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #113 of 146 Ella B&B and Inns
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worthy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

we have covered a lot road to find this paceful and beautiful place.
when we were climbing the road, i spotted this lovely house but dared not to go. based on experience, this kind of hotel with great location and beautiful construction would asks beyond what we can afford. so we went on looking around. it happened one hotel was closed and that little hotel offers the position that the serviceman of Tea Garden Holiday Inn can say hello to us.
so we were moved by the house and the not-so-expensive price.
this can be considered as the best view hotel during our trip in Sri Lanka.
recommended to everyone!
food is great and the dining room is fantastic.
the owner of Tea Garden Holiday Inn loves animals so much that they set a rice platform for birds and squirrels!

Room Tip: upper floor is better, and there are also two room seperate from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    39
    46
    29
    19
See reviews for
24
90
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The view was quite nice and the dinning area is very beautiful, I'm gonna upload some pictures.

I called one day before and made a reservation. The manager said yes yes we have rooms for you and please come please come and he even take down my name. But the next day when I showed up, nobody knows that I made a reservation. Apparently I called the son of the owner who was not really in charge of booking... But luckily the staff was quite warm and helped me settled in a smaller room with no window on the corner as it was getting really late, they also offered me discount because of they failed to keep the booking record.

I spent one night there, but would not mind staying for a couple of nights more if I were having a more decent room with a view.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with good view!! Cuz it's gonna be so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing but the rooms are quite basic. The location is good. The staff is nice but were not very fair on the prices, I had negotiated the price down as the hotel was empty and they managed to bring the bill up to the initial price by adding unexpected taxes..

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Objectif100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Probably was nice when originally built but now needs totally renovating. Bathroom needed a thorough deep clean to say the least, and the bedroom windows didn't even close properly. Mosquito net had a couple of cigarette burn holes in it too. No fan, but luckily the weather wasn't too hot. The best I can see is that the staff were friendly and helpful, but the place obviously isn't managed properly. The hotel is up a very long flight of steps so is not easily accessible for everyone. No tv or safe in room and the wi-fi only works a few feet away from the router in the dining area. Large balcony outside our room with seating area and fantastic view (when it's not raining), but really the view doesn't offset all the other negatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great position but is very tierd. Our shower was pathetic and loo had problems. The staff are friendly enough snd the breakfast was ok. However I'm sure there are better places to stay in Ella. PS rice and curry next door at Rawanna Resort is a must.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavapotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just a short walk from the main street in Ella, and up a long flight of steps (not a lot of fun after a long journey and with a heavy backpack!). The rooms are ok for the price, bathroom a bit dark and grotty. The main advantage this guesthouse has is the large balconies with great views, where you can relax with a drink. The breakfast was fine, but I didn't eat here in the evening as the restaurant was rather lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was the only disappointing hotel I stayed in, in Sri Lanka. When we booked everything else was gone, as Ella's hotels are small and quickly fill up. Book early if you want something nice. Staff were average, views were truly stunning, but not enough to make up for our room. We had a family room above the kitchen, it was a disaster. The room would have been okay, but ... The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned since installation, and was a graveyard for dead mosquitoes (as well as lots of live relatives). There wasn't even a bar of soap to wash your hands or anywhere to even hang a towel. We didn't shower for our luckily short two night stay.The room had an opening in the roof to the outside, which meant mosquitoes came in all night, and we were only provided with one net for 2 beds. The second night after the staff couldn't come up with a solution, I just pushed the beds together under the one net, which worked out ok. But the first my husband was the hero, I slept with our son under the net, and my husband got bitten all night long. Where ever you book in Ella make sure there are mosquito nets, they are essential. We booked on booking.com which was a mistake as I think there price was 2-3 times what we should have paid if our tour company had organised it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstraHBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Rock Side Inn Ella
Rock Side Inn Ella
#21 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#29 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Adam's View
Ella Adam's View
#96 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ella Stream Site
Ella Stream Site
#125 of 146 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Homes
Country Homes
#13 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#28 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Property: Ella Tea Garden
Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing