We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of a very good holiday”
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #111 of 150 Ella B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highlight of a very good holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We (a friend and I) arrived at Ella having had a few days on the south coast, and were ready for a couple of days in the famously spectacular Hill Country. Ella itself is small and well-equipped but touristy on Sri Lankan terms (I'll review the town separately), and the Tea Garden was the perfect base for us to explore it.

Without having booked ahead, we opted to try the Tea Garden first based on a single entry in Lonely Planet which made it sound like an interesting choice. There was a reference to the amazing views - a reference which didn't really do it justice. Having been led up to the highest point in the inn, the balcony outside our generously-sized room faced directly toward Ella Gap, with Ella Rock to the right and 'Buddha's Knuckles' to the left. It was breathtaking.

The room was clean and comfortable, and, as I say, a good size. The bathroom was functional with a decent shower which warmed up after a while. Outside our room we had a couple of sofas from where you could comfortably drink in this stunning landscape, and downstairs below us were other rooms and a beautifully set-out garden.

The hotel manager was one of the most friendly, helpful and useful hosts we met all fortnight. He was also a cracking cook - the breakfast (fruit platter, roti and omelette) was the ideal preparation for a good morning's walking. His rice and curry evening meal was also as good as any other we had (except for one particular place in Sigirya). He recommended walks, places to eat, places to drink... We were extremely lucky to have his help.

All in all, Ella was the highlight of my trip and the Tea Garden, with its views, warm hospitality and decent standard of accommodation, was a huge contributor to this.

Room Tip: If you can get the room at the top, overlooking Ella Gap, take it! We were charged 4,500 rupees - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    39
    46
    29
    19
See reviews for
25
90
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clausthal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Despite some negative reviews here on TripAdvisor, we booked this hotel for 4 nights for our stay in Ella and were positively surprised. The hotel is situated on a hill with a beautiful view of the waterfall, Ella Rock, and little Adam's peak from the terrace. Probably the best thing about the hotel is the food. Ella itself, in my opinion, has some of the best curry in Sri Lanka, each order comprising of several different vegetable curries, dal, and a small meat curry, if that is the main order. The manager at Tea Garden Holiday is a great cook, and we enjoyed eating there. We also participated in a cooking show he offered, where he showed us how to make the different types of curries. Breakfast was also good with a choice of an omelette or Sri Lankan breakfast, fresh fruits, freshly brewed tea or coffee, and curd and honey as desert.
The location of the hotel is great, around 100m from the center of town, but far enough from the road to be nice and quiet. The rooms themselves are basic but fine. There's no air conditioning, but there's a gap between the walls and the roof, and with the windows open, so there's enough air circulation to keep the place cool. Room service, like in most places we stayed in Sri Lanka, is on demand.
The place is great for anyone who came to Ella to appreciate the nature and the food and is a great starting point for hikes to the nearby hills and tea plantations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_clz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we have covered a lot road to find this paceful and beautiful place.
when we were climbing the road, i spotted this lovely house but dared not to go. based on experience, this kind of hotel with great location and beautiful construction would asks beyond what we can afford. so we went on looking around. it happened one hotel was closed and that little hotel offers the position that the serviceman of Tea Garden Holiday Inn can say hello to us.
so we were moved by the house and the not-so-expensive price.
this can be considered as the best view hotel during our trip in Sri Lanka.
recommended to everyone!
food is great and the dining room is fantastic.
the owner of Tea Garden Holiday Inn loves animals so much that they set a rice platform for birds and squirrels!

Room Tip: upper floor is better, and there are also two room seperate from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The view was quite nice and the dinning area is very beautiful, I'm gonna upload some pictures.

I called one day before and made a reservation. The manager said yes yes we have rooms for you and please come please come and he even take down my name. But the next day when I showed up, nobody knows that I made a reservation. Apparently I called the son of the owner who was not really in charge of booking... But luckily the staff was quite warm and helped me settled in a smaller room with no window on the corner as it was getting really late, they also offered me discount because of they failed to keep the booking record.

I spent one night there, but would not mind staying for a couple of nights more if I were having a more decent room with a view.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with good view!! Cuz it's gonna be so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing but the rooms are quite basic. The location is good. The staff is nice but were not very fair on the prices, I had negotiated the price down as the hotel was empty and they managed to bring the bill up to the initial price by adding unexpected taxes..

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Objectif100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Probably was nice when originally built but now needs totally renovating. Bathroom needed a thorough deep clean to say the least, and the bedroom windows didn't even close properly. Mosquito net had a couple of cigarette burn holes in it too. No fan, but luckily the weather wasn't too hot. The best I can see is that the staff were friendly and helpful, but the place obviously isn't managed properly. The hotel is up a very long flight of steps so is not easily accessible for everyone. No tv or safe in room and the wi-fi only works a few feet away from the router in the dining area. Large balcony outside our room with seating area and fantastic view (when it's not raining), but really the view doesn't offset all the other negatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great position but is very tierd. Our shower was pathetic and loo had problems. The staff are friendly enough snd the breakfast was ok. However I'm sure there are better places to stay in Ella. PS rice and curry next door at Rawanna Resort is a must.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavapotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Rock Side Inn Ella
Rock Side Inn Ella
#20 of 150 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#31 of 150 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Adam's View
Ella Adam's View
#95 of 150 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ella Stream Site
Ella Stream Site
#128 of 150 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Homes
Country Homes
#11 of 150 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#30 of 150 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Property: Ella Tea Garden
Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing