We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from garden”
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #112 of 174 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Arriving at tea garden as the sun was setting, I thought I'd reached heaven. Amazing view, nice room, friendly service and good location. Great breakfast included also. Only negative, bathrooms need some work

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a great overall stay, the view outside our room was beautiful. You could see the Ella gap with mini Adam's peak in the left and Ella Rock on the right. We requested Sri Lankan breakfast the night before and the food was exceptional. Amari was happy to cook something different for us every time and it was probably one of the best during our stay in Sri Lanka. Climbing mini Adam's peak took about 1 hour and I would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 that was 4000 LKR per night for 2 people. No need for AC during our stay, begi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Good clean bedroom. Room could be noisy because it easy to hear your neighbors talking. The Hotel is on the edge of town but within 5 min walk of the center. Rooms have a nice view and owners have a nice pettable dog :). Overall good place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniël B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked with booking.com and paid a horendous price. Views are nice, but the rooms are not acceptable!!! Door didnt lock properly, dirty sheets, pillow was black of dirt, bed too short, towels dirty, holes in the mosquito net, breakfast ok, but not good enough for this price. Really bad experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

fantastic stay here at tea gardens. the trek from the station up the hill and stairs was totally worth it, the view is incredible (ella rock and mini adams peak). the staff were so lovely, a family-run business, very attentive helpful and cooked the best curry we had on our trip! rooms were nicely decorated and spacious. definitely try to get one up the top floor for the killer view. highly recommended getting up early for the trip to ella rock - breathtaking. wish we could have stayed here longer!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eanddbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We (a friend and I) arrived at Ella having had a few days on the south coast, and were ready for a couple of days in the famously spectacular Hill Country. Ella itself is small and well-equipped but touristy on Sri Lankan terms (I'll review the town separately), and the Tea Garden was the perfect base for us to explore it.

Without having booked ahead, we opted to try the Tea Garden first based on a single entry in Lonely Planet which made it sound like an interesting choice. There was a reference to the amazing views - a reference which didn't really do it justice. Having been led up to the highest point in the inn, the balcony outside our generously-sized room faced directly toward Ella Gap, with Ella Rock to the right and 'Buddha's Knuckles' to the left. It was breathtaking.

The room was clean and comfortable, and, as I say, a good size. The bathroom was functional with a decent shower which warmed up after a while. Outside our room we had a couple of sofas from where you could comfortably drink in this stunning landscape, and downstairs below us were other rooms and a beautifully set-out garden.

The hotel manager was one of the most friendly, helpful and useful hosts we met all fortnight. He was also a cracking cook - the breakfast (fruit platter, roti and omelette) was the ideal preparation for a good morning's walking. His rice and curry evening meal was also as good as any other we had (except for one particular place in Sigirya). He recommended walks, places to eat, places to drink... We were extremely lucky to have his help.

All in all, Ella was the highlight of my trip and the Tea Garden, with its views, warm hospitality and decent standard of accommodation, was a huge contributor to this.

Room Tip: If you can get the room at the top, overlooking Ella Gap, take it! We were charged 4,500 rupees - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Despite some negative reviews here on TripAdvisor, we booked this hotel for 4 nights for our stay in Ella and were positively surprised. The hotel is situated on a hill with a beautiful view of the waterfall, Ella Rock, and little Adam's peak from the terrace. Probably the best thing about the hotel is the food. Ella itself, in my opinion, has some of the best curry in Sri Lanka, each order comprising of several different vegetable curries, dal, and a small meat curry, if that is the main order. The manager at Tea Garden Holiday is a great cook, and we enjoyed eating there. We also participated in a cooking show he offered, where he showed us how to make the different types of curries. Breakfast was also good with a choice of an omelette or Sri Lankan breakfast, fresh fruits, freshly brewed tea or coffee, and curd and honey as desert.
The location of the hotel is great, around 100m from the center of town, but far enough from the road to be nice and quiet. The rooms themselves are basic but fine. There's no air conditioning, but there's a gap between the walls and the roof, and with the windows open, so there's enough air circulation to keep the place cool. Room service, like in most places we stayed in Sri Lanka, is on demand.
The place is great for anyone who came to Ella to appreciate the nature and the food and is a great starting point for hikes to the nearby hills and tea plantations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_clz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ella Tea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing