We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great location, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #113 of 146 Ella B&B and Inns
NJ
Level Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great location, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was great! We were on the top floor with a beautiful view of the Ella gap. Fan in room, hot water, soft sheets. They don't have menus I the restaurant but prepare delicious local dishes like the rice and curry. 30 seconds from town. Wifi in rooms and lots of outdoor seating. We really enjoyed our stay. They even organized our safari to yala for us. When we left the manager walked us to the bus stop, 30 yards away, and told the driver where we were heading to to make sure we got there. It was our favorite accommodation in Sri Lanka....enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank njword420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    39
    46
    29
    19
See reviews for
24
90
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed only one night. Good location and views on the valley,very friendly staff. Our room needed renovation (mold on the walls) - Good for short stay but cant imagine staying longer with mold in the room. I learned in SL that it's always better to check the room before moving in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our stay at the tea garden inn was simply amazing! The staff is very helpful and friendly, the location perfect with a magnificent view over the valley, very good breakfast and all of that for an affordable price!
By far the nicest place i've stayed in in Sri Lanka so far!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfaltado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel have great location, with beautiful views on surrounding hills.
Kind and helpful staff. Wifi connection is good in whole building.
Rooms are modest and not perfect, but traveling around Sri Lanka taught me to overlook those imperfections.
Personally, I would love to return. Accomodation is not perfect, but panoramatical views and kind people makes up for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krsko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here only one night. The room was a little bit expensive, because bathroom needs to be renovated and there was mold in the walls. We had dinner and breakfast and it was really delicious. It was ok just because we stayed only for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabinaAndBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Tea Gardens is way up on a winding road from the main part of Ella and then there are some stairs to conquer before getting there, so beware of that for starters. The rooms are clean and staff are helpful; I think there’s always someone on hand to carry the luggage up the steps which is handy! We needed to swap rooms as there was a flushing toilet issue but that wasn’t a problem; the staff were more than happy to help. On the second night as the rain pelted down, we ate in the hotel and it was lovely, a traditional Sri Lankan curry with the trimmings; very tasty and not expensive. All in all, not the worst place to stay and certainly above average. One thing; they advertise, in the hotel, to visit a tea plantation nearby, called Oodoowerre. It is a fair hike up the mountain but just brilliant when you get there. For some reason it’s advertised at the Tea Garden and we were so pleased to have gone. Hope you enjoy you stay.

Room Tip: Beware the steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelizard1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I found the place beautiful. The hotel has the best views of the mountains with just about every room facing the mountain gap. We woke up for the sunrise which rises right in the gap. The place is clean and very lovely, with plants and flowers, the room was just fine although rustic (for those expecting a high class hotel). Yes, there are some steps to get to, so if you cant walk up steps consider another place. It is more rustic like a hostel but has clean rooms and a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUNYProf0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Rock Side Inn Ella
Rock Side Inn Ella
#21 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#29 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Adam's View
Ella Adam's View
#96 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ella Stream Site
Ella Stream Site
#125 of 146 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Homes
Country Homes
#13 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#28 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Property: Ella Tea Garden
Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing