We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and excellent curries!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rawana Holiday Resort
Ranked #69 of 169 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money! Cheap basic rooms with great views (balcony rooms). The curries are the best we have tasted so far in Sri Lanka!
In this point in time you are working on the construction of more rooms. Looking forward to know how this will look once completed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights and ate in the restaurant each night - the reviews in the comments book are absolutely true - the food is AMAZING!!!!!! Fabulous flavours and excellent prices - it really was the best food we ate in our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka travelling extensively on the island. The food here is delicious and the staff VERY friendly and helpful!! Carpi the dog is a delight!!
Great value for money - good sized room, hot water, balcony.....checked out many other places in Ella and selected to stay here - good decision!!!!

Room Tip: quiet at night - just a stroll from the restaurant to the room - reasonably prices beer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foximamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location and each room has a large balcony with a nice view. The rooms are really clean and the bathrooms are large. The curry was great and breakfast was good too. Do not be put off by the entrance into the hotel, this is great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is very good and comfortable. Nice rooms with good views over the hills, great staff. From the outside it looks a bit rough but the inside is completely different, which is a shame. The real highlight of the Rawana is the restaurant - unfortunately we only ate here on our last night, so couldn't come back again, but on hindsight I would have eaten here every night - fantastic curry here. The cost of the room was OK and food was reasonably priced too. It is a 10 minute walk up a big hill from the main town area, so if arriving by bus I would advise taking a tuktuk with your bags to the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We got their last room, on the upper floor with a private balcony. No frills but the place was large and very well maintained and clean.

We stayed a few days and did try other restaurants for curries for dinner but theirs was just top-notch. Small quantities but so many different flavors in there. But make sure you order in the afternoon otherwise you'll be stuck with fried rice and such.

The location is good, not too close from the main road, but then in Ella, sound travels and echoes all over, so we had a construction site by the main junction that got noisy at times, and soundproofing in Sri Lanka isn't generally that great.

And it was nice they had a laundry service after sweating out all of my tshirts in the Sri Lankan lowlands' heat earlier that week.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sireviltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a couple of nights here having booked by telephone from NZ. There's some construction going on in the garden (sheltered restaurant seating) but it's not too intrusive. We had room 007 at the end of the upstairs corridor - it's a big room with a double bed, a single bed and a fold-up bed too. There's a great balcony at the front - perfect for a beer at the end of the day (Lkr230 from the bottle shop in town). The shower-room looks a bit dated but at Lkr2500 it's not too bad.

The restaurant does breakfast (poached eggs with a face!) and evening meals (garlic curry Lkr 450, chicken curry Lkr 200 +10% service charge) and beer some days but not others. It also has radio playing incessantly 50s or C&W music - cringeworthy!. Laundry service is reasonable - two t-shirts and a pair of trousers for Lkr 100 (there's no plug in the sink to do-it-yourself!).

It's a short walk into town which is there purely to cater to tourists - there's little charming about Ella - and the background music grates too! Buses to the south coast pass on the road just below the "resort" and go past the waterfall 6km away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charliechariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this very nice place in Ella. The rooms are spacious and clean, the people very friendly. The curry is famous, ordered in advance and was the best curry I had in Sri Lanka. The price of the room is ok and the view from the big terrace beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyceBhaktapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella Okreech Cottages
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#20 of 169 in Ella
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#8 of 131 in Ella
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Top Inn
Sun Top Inn
#50 of 169 in Ella
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Side Inn Ella
Rock Side Inn Ella
#25 of 169 in Ella
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawana Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawana Holiday Resort

Address: Wemulhena, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: £23 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rawana Holiday Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel In Ella. We provide excellent accomadation,service & great food very famous curry house Free WI-Fi Taxi Services Available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Rawana Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawana Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing