We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Little Folly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Folly
Ranked #8 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the two cabins and it was one of the best accommodations we had. The cabin was clean and comfortable. We heart nothing from our neighbours. The owner was very friendly and helpful. He told us that he will build a thicker wall between the cabins after the peak season in order to improve the comfort. The dinner was a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    42
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We didnt stay in Little Folly but we had tea and cakes there and they were so delicious I had to write this review. We tried a few different kind but my favorite were Lemon and Chocolate.We could not have enough. And last week were were in Hatton and my wife wanted to go to Ella just for the cakes.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ritesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The bungalows are very nicely settled in a garden, surrounded with flowers and trees. The fruits juices are to die for, especially Passion Fruit and Sour Sop. Great Sri Lankan breakfast, nice pancakes. Although we didn't feel very confortable with the tenant at the beginning, this is one of our favorite place in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruit_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

A good budget option, clean and has hot water . The room can be a little musty due to the humidity but this is remedied by opening the windows even at night.
The owner is very pleasant and helpful and has a huge knowledge of walks in this area. He has a small restaurant at the side of the road.
The main drawback is the lack of soundproofing within the common wall between the two log cabins. You can hear every spoken word and sound.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCB935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouloc, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Mr Gunasiri picked us up himself from the station and made us feel immediately at home. We stayed in one of the lovely log cabins in the forest, which are very spacious and have their own sitting area outside. The cabins are set back from the road and charming. Mr Gunasiri is a mine of information about local walks and drew maps for us so that we never got lost. The wifi worked fine and the breakfasts were good - especially the tea! The staff were really friendly, and brought us extra blankets and let us borrow plates from the kitchen when we only wanted some fruit to eat in the evening. The cabins however, though lovely, need some tweaking, which we pointed out to Mr Gunasiri. There is absolutely no insulation in the wall between the two cabins, so therefore no privacy at all. Once the insulation problem has been sorted out, and it really does need fixing, Little Folly cabins will be a great place to stay. At the moment - if you ignore the lack of privacy, we can thoroughly recommend Little Folly as a really nice place, in a lovely setting. And it's within easy reach of the town.

Room Tip: Only average for the cabins, for the lack of privacy, but they are lovely. See above. The room by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abueladefrancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

After taking a bus from Kataragama through the most amazing scenery to Ella we arrived at Little folly where we had planned on staying 2 nights, one night in the log cabin and one in the green house. The two log cabins, which were joined together, were beautiful and quirky with slices of tree set into the floors and set back from the road in a forested area. The green room however was beside the road so we decided to just stay the one night. The main problem with the cabins were that it felt as though the neighbours were sharing the same room as us, even when speaking quietly we could hear everything. Another issue was the wifi - pretty unusable at the time we were there. On a more positive note, the cakes Gunisiri sold were delicious and he himself was very understanding when we said that we'd only wanted to stay one night.

Room Tip: If booking both cabins then fine, otherwise the noise from neighbours may keep you awake if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tustin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Dont know why this little guest house is under specialty lodging not b&b's.
Owner was so kind and picked us up at the train station in the pouring rain.
Very accommodating. Gave us extra blankets and b.c he was booked our third night, he called another local guest house and made a reservation for us.
Cabin very clean.
Nice hot shower.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.6 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.1 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#7 of 153 in Ella
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Okreech Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 153 in Ella
646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#21 of 153 in Ella
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nine Arch Lodge ella
Nine Arch Lodge ella
#9 of 111 in Ella
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Folly

Property: Little Folly
Address: Passara Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing