We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice log cabins, though walls are bit thin”
Review of Little Folly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Folly
Ranked #12 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after the great reviews found on tripadvisor. On arrival we were expecting cake, but where not given any :( but had to order and pay for it.
The cabin were really nice, though the walls between the 2 are paper thin. The Owner did draw a map for a walk around the region, and it was quite nice.
The Owner asked us if we wanted to visit a tea factory, and he said there was one he would recommend. He said he called them first to see if they where working, and they said yes, but upon arrival found out the factory was not working as the day before was a public holiday and no picking was done. The tour was still good, though we where unable to appreciate the full experience.
On leaving here, there was a 10% surcharge on the bill for the included breakfast's, as he said the service charge was not included, which is the first time we have come across this despite having had breakfast included at every other place.
Overall a nice place, but did not live up to the reviews given.

Room Tip: go for the log cabin over the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roshnivyas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Ella. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The home cooked food is also fantastic. The location is great very close to little Adams peak. The owner is extremely friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauralouclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If Ella is a little corner in Sri Lanka, Little folley is a little Corner in Ella. Slightly apart from the rest but on the way to Little Adam's Peak, it has two gorgeous cottages made of wood and surrounded by flowers. The rooms are extremely clean and you get a welcome juice and cake when you check-in. Both are not to be missed as the guesthouse has a reputation for being the best cake shop in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilSeriedipendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really would highly recommend it!

A party of 4 girls we got a log cabin to stay which was perfect and helped with keeping costs down as we are students. The cabin was really nice - good size, clean and comfortable.

The owner was amazing - he made us feel like family and even gave us a lift to the train station as we were running late for our train - he also drew us maps to help us along on our walks.

It's a great location to go on walks from and close enough to walk to the central strip of Ella with all the restaurants.

The cake was very nice also and you should definitely try the lemon one!

I would definitely return here! Excellent guest house!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkemp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in one of the cabins. The room was immaculatly clean and well furnitured. The owner was very helpful and yes, the cake is delightful! The only drawback is the sound coming from the other adjacent cabin. But we couldn't be bothered....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfreriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Tucked away up the hill from the main junction, this is a cozy, friendly place. Moist cakes are excellent too. Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) fit into the cabin well; an extra bed was provided.
Book early, there are only a few rooms, although 2 more cabins are bing constructed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fallfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I loved my stay here. I was put in one of the cabins and, although there are slight soundproofing issues between the two, I didn't lose any sleep or peace and quiet over it. The cabins are spacious with comfy beds and mosquito nets and the whole place has a super chilled vibe. It is also conveniently located for Little Adams Peak (and for cake afterwards- they serve delicious ones!) The owner just couldn't do enough for me- he was superb!

Room Tip: the log cabins are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.4 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Ella Flower Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#9 of 165 in Ella
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.3 mi away
Ella Okreech Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Folly

Address: Passara Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Ella
Price Range: £27 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing