We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene environment, good food and amazing honeymoon experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Serene environment, good food and amazing honeymoon experience”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

When I first came across 98 Acres back in 2010 - my first impression was that this would be the ideal honeymoon destination for any couple. Away from the hustle and bustle of urban areas, it's a nice long drive with scenic views all around and an isolated location amidst the hills.

We went on our honeymoon in May 2013 and the resort managed to live up to all our expectations. The staff were friendly, the setting was cosy and the rooms were spacious and well maintained, They provide a set menu for all three meals, though the chef was nice enough to accommodate my wife's request for the soup she had the previous day even though it was not on their menu that night - now that is service!

Not all deluxe rooms have a the bigger sized bath with the tub, so if you are someone who loves to relax in a bubble bath be sure to request for it when you make your booking - we didn't realise the small print and ended up without one, but I was able to speak to manager directly who sorted it for us the next morning and moved us to another room - that's one more star!

The not-so-nice stuff: while on our honeymoon we experienced a light shower which wasn't all that bad but made the walkways a bit muddy, however they do have eco-friendly buggies that will escort you over to your rooms and between meals should you request for it. Only other downside (which didn't really bother us much to be honest) are the little insects after sunset - some of them seem a little scary but they're all friendly insects just looking for somewhere warm to camp for the night - shutting your windows closer to sunset should help! They have nets to cover up the bed and stop the creepy crawleys from getting to you and it works fine.

Overall, it was a great experience and we both loved it so much! We're hoping to back there someday when we visit Sri Lanka again and maybe stay longer if time permits. This place is worth a visit!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rdeen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    293
    84
    39
    18
See reviews for
255
793
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
148 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had room 101 which I think is the best as it is a corner room. The room is all windows on 3 sides which open up onto surreal views of Ella gap and tea fields.

This hotel is perched at the top of the valley. We could have sat out on the deck all day long taking in the scenery. Woman tea pluckers (Tamil Hindus) seem to float around the hills within the hotel property in their colorful clothing.

The only negative of the hotel is in the colder months it is cool in the open air restaurant especially at night while eating dinner. The food was so so, the beds comfortable.

We walked up little Adams peak in the morning which we enjoyed. The room is a little rustic but this only adds to its charm. I recommend this hotel for views that are very soothing to the eyes!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

98 Acres is a nice resort style accommodation, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the bathroom is clean - however the hot water is inconsistent. The golf buggy to your room is a wonderful idea as walking up and down the hill is a bit much after a long day hiking Horton plains. The restaurant is on the top of the hill, the food is average but the service is top notch. The pool and grounds very well maintained. Take a torch as storms often take out the power - they do have generators but if your walking down stairs and lights go out it can be scary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinthewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

was staying made no other choice & it perfectly made our stay comfort & satisfaction with the excellent service & friendly Staff.We had 03 nights stay at this fabulous resort and it was the one of the best place i ever stayed..Good food,Good atmosphere.

Rooms are clean,neat & tidy..good interior design of the room. Do not be hesitate to choose this place for you perfect Honeymoon or relaxation


.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room on ground floor It would give you good View outside of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepwijekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Our room was a deluxe and it was lovely. Great view each morning, excellent location and the pool was also great. Breakfast was good, lots of it and mostly tasty. We ate dinner once and the apparently homemade tuna burger tasted like a processed burger. My chicken burger was undoubtedly frozen. We had had rice and curry for a week up until that point and regretted taking a break, going back to rice and curry this time at jade tea garden! It's not cheap here but the rooms are nice. 15 min wallk into town, 200lkr tuk tuk back. Ps to avoid the same stupid mistake as us you can short cut to little Adam's peak from the hotel on a non signed path.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShaunGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in 98Acres for two nights and had an amazing stay there. The hotel is ONE with the stunning nature and very relaxing. We definitely wish we could have stayed longer. The room with its beautiful balcony made you feels as if you were at the top of the world. And, we loved all the wood and reclaimed materials.
The staff was friendly and helpful. From the time we check into the hotel till we check out they always tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible, and made us feel at home.

We went for a walk around the tea plantation, “hiked” up Small Adams Peak, ate good food, had plenty of relaxing cups of tea on the balcony whilst admiring the view, had a massage down the road and fully enjoyed our stay.

We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullis_and_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here. lovely setting with amazing views of the lush green mountains. But we found the service and food rather disappointing. The chalets are rather isolated and its not easy to contact the staff in a hurry. We tried to contact the hotel one morning arnd 6:30. Even the calls to the emergency number and the general manager went unanswered. Food the average. nothing exceptional. nothing to provide that oomph of a tea-estate hotel. at the time we made reservations the hotel failed to mention the fact that it was non-smoking. but we were allowed to smoke outside. which is also rather hazardous as the chalet roof is of natural dried leaf. I feel that though they are always booked they have not really got there act together.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms, Delux is the better option. But due to rates being rather reasonable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#3 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort and Spa

Property: 98 Acres Resort and Spa
Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Southall Travel so you can book your 98 Acres Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing