We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”
Review of 98 Acres Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98 Acres Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during our tour and what a wonderful place. The rooms are a combination of rustic and luxury and you really feel at one with nature staying here. The bird noises and views when you wake up in the morning are wonderful. Sleeves are needed at night but that was quite welcome after the 30 degree heat elsewhere. We walked up Little Adam's Peak which is well worth the effort as the views are incredible from the top. We then walked into Ella, which is a lovely little town, for lunch. A swim was needed by the time we got back to 98 Acres and although this is a little colder than usual it was very refreshing and well worth it for the views alone. Supper in the restaurant was delicious and very romantic and the service and attitude of all the staff throughout the resort couldn't be faulted. We would definitely like to return here sometime in the future.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello
Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. Thank you so much for the wonderful thoughts and comments, we highly appreciate it. We hope you had a wonderful stay at our resort, and it is so glad to hear that you enjoyed the views from Little Adams Peak it sure is spectacular up there. We will make sure the Chef knows you loved your meals and also your kind thoughts on our staff. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we would definitely hope t o see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    291
    83
    39
    18
See reviews for
252
788
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a very special place, which we enjoyed immensely. The chalet
style nature of the accommodation and the quirky interior features are
enchanting for a short stay and all rooms enjoy stunning views from their
balconies (tobacco smoke can be intrusive though in the 2 storey
buildings). There are also delightful walks to enjoy from the property.
The restaurant / bar has it's own building with panoramic views over the
surrounding country and serves good quality food and beverages in a
friendly informal way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palma8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Resort. Thank you for your comments on the interior of our rooms, we are glad you liked it. We do apologize if you had any trouble with tobacco smoke. We highly appreciate your comments and thoughts on our Food and Beverages and our Service. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you had a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A wonderful and peaceful hotel in the middle of the tea plantation 98 acres
You can also arrange a personal visit of the tea factory from this resort, there you will have a professional guide and will explain all about the tea production.

98 acres hotel ia a peaceful place, excellent food, nice spa and easy hikes trail starting just in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury room top floor of the cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Resort.
We will make sure to pass on your thoughts about the food to the chef. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and your thoughts on our resort and also thank you for the visiting our Tea Factory, I hope you had a pleasant experience and gained some insight into tea production. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Me & My wife stayed over for 2 days @ 98 acres and it was one of the kind resort that we experienced.
The atmosphere and environment kept us away from the urban culture. we were really amazed with the architecture of the entire resort and we enjoyed it very much, climate was quite good, it was not too cold. we experienced a clear sky throughout our stay and the view from the room was speechless. i will no doubt recommend this place to any Sri Lankan or Tourist.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rimaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, we highly appreciate your kind thoughts and sentiments. We are so utterly glad you had a wonderful time at our Resort. Thank you again for your review on Trip Advisor. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paxos, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for anniversary treat

It was poya day when we arrived so no alcohol! No anniversary gin & tonic! Ha ha we survived

UNBELIEVABLE View from room at sunrise, one of the best ever.

Very impressive resort with only 12 rooms. Staff rushed us a bit on check out, there was a golf buggy outside at 11:59 to collect bags but understand that new guests arriving but felt 'pushed' all the same.

You have to stay here if u fancy a little treat. If only to wake up at dawn for the tropical bird calls & to see the sunrise

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi,
Thank you for deciding to spend your anniversary at our resort, we are so glad you had a wonderful time. Thank you so much for your humble thoughts and your review on Trip Advisor. We apologize if you felt a bit rushed at the checkout. We will inform your suggestions to the House Keeping department so they will correct their methods. We hope you enjoyed your anniversary and maybe next time hopefully the bar will be open and you can try out our signature cocktails !!! It was a pleasure having you at our resort. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was my second visit to 98 acres. This time we stayed at the resort. It still has a unique allure that prevails since its opening. The view of the surrounding countryside is simply breathtaking and the mist at night envelopes the resort in a peaceful serenity.

Rooms are spacious and generously equipped with a wide range of amenities. Surprisingly despite the cold climes outside the rooms were quite warm and cozy.

The restaurant offers a wide range of al la carte options and make yummy burgers.

All in all it was a great trip and will definitely return in the near future :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiran_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hello,
Thank You so much for deciding to stay with us again! We are utterly glad you had a spectacular experience. Thank you for your Second review and we very much appreciate your humble comments. We will make sure the chef knows you loved the burger. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, it was our pleasure to have you. Hope you to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This is the place if you want to relax, look a something beautiful all the time, get a fabulous service - which is not servile, just very polite. The food was excellent, the bungalows full of air and everything is really good taste. The massages took place overlooking the teaplantages - we will go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. We highly appreciate your wonderful thoughts and your review. It's such a joy to hear you had a splendid stay at our Resort. We will make sure to convey your kind regards to the chef and our staff. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Thank you gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
21.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort

Property: 98 Acres Resort
Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Southall Travel so you can book your 98 Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing