We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and nicely done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views and nicely done”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for 2 night in the 98 acres resort. Compared to other places we stayed, this was class apart. But then we did pay the premium too. I have nothing bad to say about this place. But one might be better off staying in Kandy / Nuwura Eliya. There's not much in Ella to pay the premium to stay here. We stayed here in June and it is possible that the place is lot more nicer and beautiful in winter. But Nuwura Eliya blew our minds off and in hindsight I might have been better off staying there.

Room Tip: Upper rooms for sure .. Better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anup_ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope you had a pleasant stay. There are plenty of things to indulge in when you are in Ella, lots of hikes and breathtaking views to enjoy. Nonetheless thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. We do hope to see you at 98 Acres Resort, and maybe the next time you will enjoy your stay at Ella. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    312
    94
    41
    18
See reviews for
281
828
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here before it was officially open in January 2012. I was pregnant at the time with our daughter. We named her Ella after this stunning place.
We were supposed to be staying in Nuwara Eliya but due to my morning/afternoon and evening sickness, the cold made it worse so we had to leave and head towards warmer climate. We reached Ella and our driver had heard about this place....they werent officially open but did have some finished rooms.
We loved every moment and plan to go back with our daughter next year who is now 20mths old.
The chef made us a meal specifically to our requests, the room and surroundings were amazingly stunning. The staff were friendly and courteous. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adinalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. We are utterly glad that we served as an inspiration in naming your baby, it truly is wonderful and humbling to receive such kind comments, guests like you are the reason we strive to do better each and every day, thank you for inspiring us to be better. We highly appreciate all the kind thoughts and comments on Trip Advisor, the staff will be so glad to know you enjoyed your stay under the circumstances. There is so much to enjoy, now that we have opened a beautiful Spa and a Gym and a lot more activities that you surely will enjoy. We would love to have you stay at 98 Acres Resort again, we hope to see you soon with your lovely daughter. Its was an absolute joy having you stay with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There are not enough words to describe how beautiful, tranquil, peaceful & stunning 98 Acres is!

From the moment we arrived we knew we were going to experience something out of the ordinary, by far the most amazing villa accommodation in Sri Lanka.

The rooms catered for your every need and were immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable. Our only concern in Room 110 was there was a very strong chemical, kerosene smell in our room which caused us to cough all night and we had to sleep with our doors wide open, dumb founded as to where odour was coming from besides this it did not spoil our stay and we are happy to rate this hotel 5 star in every other way.

The dining pavilion with its beautiful architecture, extensive menu to select from and wonderful staff made our experience very enjoyable.

I would recommend this hotel to the most fastidious of travellers it certainly won't disappoint.

Hope to visit again one day, thank you 98 Acres keep on doing what you do well, you certainly have it right.

Room Tip: Room 110 has a dreadful chemical smell, avoid this room until problem is fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesandPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. We are so glad that you found the stay extremely enjoyable, and appreciated the ambiance and everything we had to offer. We do apologize for the kerosene odors and the inconvenience it caused, and thank you for rating it Excellent despite of the fact. Thank you so much for the humbling review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure the staff knows you appreciated their efforts to make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you so much for the recommendations as well. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort, it was an absolute pleasure having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

though the reception is not organized and poor at their service the place is breathtakingly beautiful. Cottages are situated so close so you may experience some disturbances from your next door. Restaurant staff is great and breakfast is nice too.

Room Tip: there is a staff room in the middle and try to avoid room near to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anuruddha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. We hope you had a pleasant stay. We apologize if there were any shortcomings during your stay. Thank you for the review on Trip Adviosr, and we will make sure to convey your thoughts to the restaurant staff and let the chef know you loved the breakfast. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel provided exactly the type of experience we were hoping for....if not more!
The property alone is stunning not to mention the incredible views from the bungalows. Nestled away the resort feels like an oasis in the middle of trees, flowers, tea plantations and nature. The restaurant was good (especially the banana lassi!), the pool was excellent, the whole place was beautiful and tranqil. The rooms themselves were neat and clean (only problem was the moths and couple of small bugs but totally expected when literally in the middle of nature!) but all forgotten once you opened the curtains and was once again taken aback by the view!
An excellent experience overall - HIGHLY reccommend it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Its a joy to hear that we were able to provide you with the exact experience you were hoping for, and so glad you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you so much for the lovely way you have described our hotel and for all the kind thoughts and comments on Trip Advisor. We will make sure the Chef knows you loved the food, especially the Banana Lassi. We sincerely do hope you come again as it was a pleasure having you stay at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

It was my first time to 98acres and I absolutely fell in love with it at first sight. The scenery and the whole concept of the resort being in the middle of a tea plantation was absolutely genius. The food was delicious and the staff were so warm and helpful at all times. I just wished we spent more days there, I would really love to go back and spend more time with it's scenic view, this place was something I hated leaving behind...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Resort. We are utterly glad that you had a wonderful experience, it is our priority that every guest has a unique experience, and we are happy that you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Thank you for the kind thoughts and comments on Trip Advisor. We will make sure to convey your kind thoughts to the staff, and would let the chef know you loved the food. Please do come again, its was a pleasure having you stay at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Well this could have been a terrible review but it's not because the management (and the staff we talked to) took our complaints very seriously. This location is amazing, the view incredible and the service good. We came while they were trying to film a commercial, which resulted in some excessive noise (which really kills the ambiance of the place). We told the staff and the marketing manager had them cancel the shoots at the pool the next day for us, plus I heard them shushing the crew the next morning, further showing me they took everything I said seriously. We loved our room and the swimming pool. The food was good and the walk to Adams peak is easy and nice.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. Thank you so much for the Excellent rating and the thoughtful review on Trip Advisor, despite all the inconvenience caused, for which we heartily apologize. We will make sure the staff knows that you appreciated all their efforts to somehow make sure your stay was a comfortable and a pleasant one. We are utterly glad that despite all the commotion, you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the food and the hike to Little Adam's Peak. Please do come again, we would love to have you stay at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#3 of 11 in Ella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort and Spa

Property: 98 Acres Resort and Spa
Address: Passara Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Southall Travel so you can book your 98 Acres Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing