We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Balinese style eco resort.”
Review of 98 Acres Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98 Acres Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Nice Balinese style eco resort.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our review is as a casual visitor, not a guest of the hotel.

We came across the 98 Acres whilst taking a pleasant walk to Little Adam's Peak. The hotel consists of chalets perched right on the cliff edge. Looks precarious. If you don't like heights, this may be an issue for you, as the windows and balcony open right onto a 1000 foot drop!

It apparently opened last year, and the overall feel is an upmarket, nicely designed resort.

They have a cafe looking into the yonder, with great views.

It was absolutely empty when we were there. So this resort is either struggling, or everybody was hiding. It also has a pool, but I can't help thinking the climate is a bit cool for that, up in the hills?

Along a winding country path they have their gym and spa. Note : it is a couple minutes walk to get to this section, so if you come in rainy season, then I guess you just get wet? Or that carry a brolly over your head.

And that is the essence of the Resort, it is eco, outdoorsy. Everything is outdoors. Nicely done. Lots of railway sleepers used for pathways.

If you want a slick city hotel style, this is not for . If you want a slightly Balinese themed, thatch roofed, open to the elements type of thing you will like it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Luxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for visiting our resort and the comments, however your comments can be slightly misleading to our future guests considering the fact that you did not stay at the resort.
We would like to kindly mention that there is no 1000 feet drop from our rooms, it is a completely misleading fact, from the top floor there is a 20 feet drop and the lower room has a 5 feet drop to the ground. We would also like to take the opportunity to mention that the resort is not struggling, it is just an assumption you have deduced, in fact the resort is operating over a 92% occupancy even though it is the low season and a lot of guests wait in queue to book a room at our resort. Even though we are in the hills, the pool is used by our guests on a daily basis. We have golf buggies to carry anyone to and from the spa and the gym, so even during the rainy season the guests have nothing to worry about and are able to enjoy everything we have to offer. Thank you again for visiting, maybe next time you can stay over at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    291
    83
    39
    18
See reviews for
253
788
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a lovely 2 nights at 98 Acres - the views from all the balconies are breathtaking and lots of interesting walks in the area. This is not a negative review but just a couple of things to consider; this was the most we paid for accommodation in our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. You are paying for the location and views, and that is fair enough. We had a standard room (lower balcony) which is really quite basic and not that well appointed. The mattress was the poorest quality of all places we stayed, light switches are out of reach from bed, and bathroom fixtures a bit too simplistic and dare I say it - cheap (toilet roll holder broke without any undue pressure). 98 Acres is an "Eco resort" but I felt that was a guise for not providing quality room facilities that would otherwise be expected. "Eco" and quality are not mutually exclusive. The shared areas, pool, etc. are lovely and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Watch out for the rustic timber decking on the terrace - wear flat shoes - potential for a injury alert! Staff were helpful and very pleasant. Don't let this put you off, it really is a lovely spot, just be aware of what you are buying here.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views. Standard rooms are quite basic for the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We do hope you enjoyed the stay. We however would like to heartily apologize for not being able to live up to your expectations. The mattress we have equipped in each an every room are of the highest quality and recommended by all the hoteliers, and this is the first complain we've had about the mattresses so we are rather surprised. Thank you for the suggestions you have provided we will take steps to immediately fix everything you have mentioned. Thank you for the compliments on the gardens and the pool area, we will make sure to pass your kind regards to the staff. Thank you again for the review on Trip Advisor. We do hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely place to stay. Rooms were large, clean, and the bathroom had some unique features. Took a bit to get used to the shower rose, but as long as it didn't hit the wrong bits, felt wonderful. Don't believe there was an air conditioner, however, we didn't need it. with stone walls the place was a comfortable temp. Found it interesting, the minimal amount of services you need to make a stay comfortable. The Room, a bar/restaurant and pool! What more do you need. Didn't even go to see the games room, or spa. Happy to have a drink by the pool, and relax over looking the valley and watch the tea pickers work. Only issue was the bar staff were a little slow, and uninterested. Forgot our order of champagne, when trying to be romantic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmudgeeTheMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay, and enjoyed the rooms and the pool, and everything we had to offer. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and the review on Trip Advisor. We do however apologize on behalf of the bar staff, we will make sure to advise them to not to repeat their mistakes. We do hope you had a wonderful time despite the inconvenience. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Breathtaking view of Little Adam's Peak and Ella Rock from every room. Upper rooms have more sunlight. Lower rooms have bigger balconies from where you get a stunning view of stars in the night sky. Views at the rustic restaurant are equally amazing, which make up for the average food quality. 

For a 5-star hotel, rooms could have been better maintained - a missing sink plug here, torn netting on the bathroom window there. With no aircon, it got rather stuffy at night as we had to keep the balcony door closed to prevent insects from entering. 

The pool was out of order. The advertised wifi in every room held true for only one of the two days I was there, and even so, was intermittent. There was hardly any information on activities in the local area. And no laundry service.

One bonus was the private access shortcut to Little Adam's Peak - an easy 1 hour round trip - and the absence of overenthusiastic freelance guides.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigMamaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the views and hope you enjoyed your stay. However we would like to heartily apologize for the minor drawbacks you encountered during your stay, we made sure to look in to the issues then and there and fixed them immediately. There was hot unexpected weather during the week you stayed and were experiencing a bit of a drought, but generally this area of the country does not require air conditioning. The pool was out of order due to a motor break, we heartily apologize for the inconvenience. Information about guest services and activities are included in each room, restaurant and the reception, if you call the reception our guest services officer Judith or recreational officer Indika would have provided you with a briefing of all the activities around the area and outside of it. Thank you nonetheless for the review on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to 98 Acres for our Honeymoon and we spent two days there. The Hotel is situated in a magnificent scenery..specially you could get an amazing view from your own room... also the service,foods and the staff been wonderful..and we really had a wonderful experience there.. 98 acres one of the hotel we want to spend some time again..

Room Tip: every room gets the same amazing view so we recommend any room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us. We hope you had a splendid time and enjoyed everything we had to offer. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and the review on Trip Advisor, and thank you for uploading the amazing photographs. We will make sure to let the staff know you appreciated their efforts and also would let the chef know you love the food. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort, it was a pleasure having yo stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

it was a suggestion from a friend and we stopped by for a drink and it was amazing.. attentive service, amazing views and comfortable seating make this a great place to kick back for a few hours! we tried their traditional drink Arak. i can recommend anyone!! place for everyone. we took the train to Ella to see the stunning view and beauty of Sri Lanka. definitely worth it. Next of my visit to Lanka, definitely will stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beculale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for visiting us, we are glad you enjoyed the drinks and the time spent at our resort. Thank you for the comments and the review on Trip Advisor, and we will make sure the staff knows you appreciated their attentiveness. We sure do hope you come again and maybe stay over at 98 Acres Resort. It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

No words to say how wonderful it is.we stayed there for 01 night in 15th May & this was the 2nd stay at 98. it is the best hotel we ever stayed. view is superb by surrounding trees and when woke up just felt we are on a rock. we had a excellent service by Chef and restaurant staff. food superb...!!!!!!! but few things only for your future developments love to keep as suggestions it s better if could you offer a welcome drink & face towel on arrival and other thing is on arrival one of receptionist gave room key to us & told " room is not ready yet, go there in half an hour. but without waiting we went the room, but it was cleaned. as i felt they wanted to keep us waited until check in time & it was almost 13.00 hrs. most probably guests are coming after a long travel & tired. so they should care guest bit more.
every things amazing. please only front office should give more attention to the guests & to be helpful. we love wonderful 98 Acers and hope to be there again & again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with again. We hope you had a wonderful experience this time around too. Thank you so much for the wonderful thoughts and the review on Trip Advisor, we will make sure to convey your kind thoughts to the Chef and let him know you loved the food, and also make sure the restaurant staff knows you appreciated their help. We would however like to sincerely apologize for the communication error that took place. The incident with the room happened due to a communication error from the house keeping staff to the front office,the housekeeping staff had not mentioned to the front office that the room was ready, hence the front office had no idea the room was ready. We do not intentionally keep guests outside till check in time, if the room is ready we do allow then to go in. we also serve the welcome drink once you are settled down in the room. However we will encourage the front office staff to pay extra attention to the guests. Thank so nonetheless staying with us, we hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
21.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort

Property: 98 Acres Resort
Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Southall Travel so you can book your 98 Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing