We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The view is absolutely breathtaking and will definitely be the highlight of your stay here. There is a great spa on site and the setting is lovely, with a lovely pool and restaurant and beautifully manicured gardens set among the tea plantations. The walk to "little Adam's Peak" on the other side of the valley is well worth it and you will be rewarded with beautiful views over the Ella region. If you go early in the morning you will see women from the local village heading to work picking tea in their beautifully coloured saris. I stayed in a standard room and I must say that the room itself was very basic. The room was big but only had a double bed in it - when it clearly needed a king or queen sized bed. The room wasn't very well appointed and the bathroom in particular wasn't well designed. The room in general felt tired and not well maintained. It didn't match with the standard of the rest of the resort, which was disappointing, especially considering that this is not a cheap hotel. I stayed at places that were half the cost elsewhere in Sri Lanka but were much better appointed. The breakfast is good (lovely view) but they give you too much food, which is uncomfortable in a third world country where people can be very poor. The staff are pleasant but not as attentive as other places I stayed, they don't seem that invested (maybe because this is part of a large, international hotel chain, not a locally run business). Overall though, enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. We are extremely glad you enjoyed the views and the spa and also the hike to Little Adam’s peak. However we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused. We would like to let you know that we have equipped standard room with queen sized beds and king size beds in every deluxe room. We maintain and upkeep all our rooms on a weekly basis, we apologize if there were any inconvenience. For breakfast we specifically ask all our guests their preferences and everything is prepared to cater to your preferences. Thank you for all the comments and suggestions and we will take measures to improve our food and beverages staff. We are a family run business locally. We heartily apologize for the inconveniences caused. We would like to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

we were there for only one night to spend our honey moon tour and it was really nice place also food was just amazing! room was absolutely stunning with environment friendly stuff. I just love their room structure and I enjoyed the pool as well. we only have the trouble with check in time cuz we were arrive bit earlier therefor staff offer to access the pool area for us. I had an argument with a front office staff member because she was bit rude with me when i ask room to be ready bit earlier. that was our fault we arrived earlier but she shouldn't be that much tough with us. we were coming all the way from katharagama so we didn't have any idea about the reaching time to our next destination.apart from that everything was superb. view, room structure, furniture ,friendly housekeeping- kitchen- restaurant staff, food I just love them all. we already sent another couple to there end of June and i said them be there on time to avoid the tough- inflexible conversion of front office members. lol anyway we will definitely return this place and will recommend this place to other people as well, thank you so much giving me a such a nice & romantic honeymoon experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to spend you honeymoon with us. We are so glad you had a memorable, nice and romantic honeymoon, and we hope you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Thank you so much for the lovely thoughts and the review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure the House keeping, kitchen and restaurant staff know you appreciated their efforts to make sure you had a wonderful stay. We would definitely let the Chef know you absolutely loved the food. However we would like to sincerely apologize on behalf of the reception staff, we will make sure the reception staff knows their mistakes and make sure to advise them to not to repeat their mistakes, we are so very sorry. Thank you so much for recommending 98 Acres Resort to your friends, and also for the photos you have uploaded. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we do hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing. Given that the hotel is so close to nature, it is expected that a few bugs may be found. The hotel is environmentally aware so it is not free of insects, but that is part of the experience. The pool was great and the food varied and well cooked. I must say that one of our party had a few bad experiences- hornets in the room, a fall in the reception area that was not well lit, and a mix up with his bill that anyone should have seen he was a not a female of a totally different name! I think the front reception desk needs more training. If someone hurts themselves quite badly, a little more than a bandaid and some antiseptic cream could be give. Please note that Sri Lankan drivers/guides cannot stay at the resort and must seek accommodation elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. We hope you had a pleasant stay and were able to enjoy everything we had to offer. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and the food, however we would like to heartily apologize for the inconveniences you and your party experienced. We are so sorry for the mix up of the bills at the reception, we will make sure the reception staff knows their mistakes and provide them with more adequate training. We also would like to apologize for not providing you with adequate medicine we will take precautions to make sure these kind of incidents don't take place in the future. Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. We do hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Our sincere apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our review is as a casual visitor, not a guest of the hotel.

We came across the 98 Acres whilst taking a pleasant walk to Little Adam's Peak. The hotel consists of chalets perched right on the cliff edge. Looks precarious. If you don't like heights, this may be an issue for you, as the windows and balcony open right onto a 1000 foot drop!

It apparently opened last year, and the overall feel is an upmarket, nicely designed resort.

They have a cafe looking into the yonder, with great views.

It was absolutely empty when we were there. So this resort is either struggling, or everybody was hiding. It also has a pool, but I can't help thinking the climate is a bit cool for that, up in the hills?

Along a winding country path they have their gym and spa. Note : it is a couple minutes walk to get to this section, so if you come in rainy season, then I guess you just get wet? Or that carry a brolly over your head.

And that is the essence of the Resort, it is eco, outdoorsy. Everything is outdoors. Nicely done. Lots of railway sleepers used for pathways.

If you want a slick city hotel style, this is not for . If you want a slightly Balinese themed, thatch roofed, open to the elements type of thing you will like it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Travel-Luxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello

Thank you for visiting our resort and the comments, however your comments can be slightly misleading to our future guests considering the fact that you did not stay at the resort.
We would like to kindly mention that there is no 1000 feet drop from our rooms, it is a completely misleading fact, from the top floor there is a 20 feet drop and the lower room has a 5 feet drop to the ground. We would also like to take the opportunity to mention that the resort is not struggling, it is just an assumption you have deduced, in fact the resort is operating over a 92% occupancy even though it is the low season and a lot of guests wait in queue to book a room at our resort. Even though we are in the hills, the pool is used by our guests on a daily basis. We have golf buggies to carry anyone to and from the spa and the gym, so even during the rainy season the guests have nothing to worry about and are able to enjoy everything we have to offer. Thank you again for visiting, maybe next time you can stay over at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a lovely 2 nights at 98 Acres - the views from all the balconies are breathtaking and lots of interesting walks in the area. This is not a negative review but just a couple of things to consider; this was the most we paid for accommodation in our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. You are paying for the location and views, and that is fair enough. We had a standard room (lower balcony) which is really quite basic and not that well appointed. The mattress was the poorest quality of all places we stayed, light switches are out of reach from bed, and bathroom fixtures a bit too simplistic and dare I say it - cheap (toilet roll holder broke without any undue pressure). 98 Acres is an "Eco resort" but I felt that was a guise for not providing quality room facilities that would otherwise be expected. "Eco" and quality are not mutually exclusive. The shared areas, pool, etc. are lovely and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Watch out for the rustic timber decking on the terrace - wear flat shoes - potential for a injury alert! Staff were helpful and very pleasant. Don't let this put you off, it really is a lovely spot, just be aware of what you are buying here.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views. Standard rooms are quite basic for the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We do hope you enjoyed the stay. We however would like to heartily apologize for not being able to live up to your expectations. The mattress we have equipped in each an every room are of the highest quality and recommended by all the hoteliers, and this is the first complain we've had about the mattresses so we are rather surprised. Thank you for the suggestions you have provided we will take steps to immediately fix everything you have mentioned. Thank you for the compliments on the gardens and the pool area, we will make sure to pass your kind regards to the staff. Thank you again for the review on Trip Advisor. We do hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely place to stay. Rooms were large, clean, and the bathroom had some unique features. Took a bit to get used to the shower rose, but as long as it didn't hit the wrong bits, felt wonderful. Don't believe there was an air conditioner, however, we didn't need it. with stone walls the place was a comfortable temp. Found it interesting, the minimal amount of services you need to make a stay comfortable. The Room, a bar/restaurant and pool! What more do you need. Didn't even go to see the games room, or spa. Happy to have a drink by the pool, and relax over looking the valley and watch the tea pickers work. Only issue was the bar staff were a little slow, and uninterested. Forgot our order of champagne, when trying to be romantic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SmudgeeTheMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay, and enjoyed the rooms and the pool, and everything we had to offer. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and the review on Trip Advisor. We do however apologize on behalf of the bar staff, we will make sure to advise them to not to repeat their mistakes. We do hope you had a wonderful time despite the inconvenience. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Breathtaking view of Little Adam's Peak and Ella Rock from every room. Upper rooms have more sunlight. Lower rooms have bigger balconies from where you get a stunning view of stars in the night sky. Views at the rustic restaurant are equally amazing, which make up for the average food quality. 

For a 5-star hotel, rooms could have been better maintained - a missing sink plug here, torn netting on the bathroom window there. With no aircon, it got rather stuffy at night as we had to keep the balcony door closed to prevent insects from entering. 

The pool was out of order. The advertised wifi in every room held true for only one of the two days I was there, and even so, was intermittent. There was hardly any information on activities in the local area. And no laundry service.

One bonus was the private access shortcut to Little Adam's Peak - an easy 1 hour round trip - and the absence of overenthusiastic freelance guides.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank BigMamaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the views and hope you enjoyed your stay. However we would like to heartily apologize for the minor drawbacks you encountered during your stay, we made sure to look in to the issues then and there and fixed them immediately. There was hot unexpected weather during the week you stayed and were experiencing a bit of a drought, but generally this area of the country does not require air conditioning. The pool was out of order due to a motor break, we heartily apologize for the inconvenience. Information about guest services and activities are included in each room, restaurant and the reception, if you call the reception our guest services officer Judith or recreational officer Indika would have provided you with a briefing of all the activities around the area and outside of it. Thank you nonetheless for the review on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
181 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort and Spa

Address: Passara Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: £162 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Southall Travel so you can book your 98 Acres Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing