We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great place to be take care of!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunnyside Lodge

Our home on the range, surrounded by a tea plantation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our home on the range, surrounded by a tea plantation
The view of the Lodge as you approach it
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
37 reviews
Our home on the range, surrounded by a tea plantation
The view of the Lodge as you approach it
Bedrooms with queen size beds, spacious and airy
Our linen is personally chosen to make you feel at home
View from within the Octagon dinning room
Boarded sitting room with fire place
Indoor cozy dinning
Self contained pantry
Driveway to the Lodge
Bicycles are provided free for your family to explore the surroundings
Nature trails for those quiet moments
For the tennis lover, TRU-FLEX professional court
Birding is a pleasure at the Lodge
The Ella Gap is just a 15 minute walk from the Sunnyside Lodge
Betty will be happy to provide you with fresh milk!
And there are fresh eggs too from our free range layers
Enjoy the changing skyline at Sunnyside
The entrance to Sunnyside Lodge is beside the Ella signboard when coming into Ella from Bandarawela
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ella, Uva Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A-geok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to be take care of!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Sunny side lodge is an interesting place to stay in. While it is only about 8min walk away from the train station and the small sleepy town, we had arranged for transport, and the owner had gotten a tuk tuk to ferry all three of us in one tuk tuk! A real experience I must say.

Upon arriving, we had the whole place to ourselves, together with a "butler". It was a ground level house with 3 bedrooms, 1 living room, 1 dining room, a kitchen, a laundry porch, and lots of space all around. I liked that it is very spacious, and I should think that families with young kids will appreciate the playground outside, as well as the free bikes for use.

Rooms were also clean and hot water was readily available (Ella can be a bit cold in evenings). Wifi didn't work that well initially but in the end, we managed to speak to the owner's brother who got us a solution promptly.

We arrived late (trains in Sri Lanka arrive late, and run at amazing slow speeds - 20km/h?? ), so we asked the butler for food recommendations. We were referred to a restaurant in town which served nice curry with rice, but be warned, in this sleepy town, food takes around an hour to serve.

Our next morning started off well as our butler, Ramesh, had prepared breakfast based on our orders the night before, the string hoppers were well prepared. Ramesh (although very quiet), also kindly accompanied us on our little hike up little Adam's peak.

We typically enjoyed our time at the lodge as we were well taken care of. Ramesh was able to help us arrange for our visit to the tea factory, as well as our transport out to Mirissa, although I must admit that we were also cautious to check out the street prices before committing to his recommendations. His recommendations turned out well and I guess it's probably different languages and culture that got us second guessing his intentions!

I would definitely recommend this place to those who like to be well taken care of!





5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzeNorth...
Northumberland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this place. Such a beautiful setting. A well tended garden overlooking the terraces of a tea plantation. So peaceful & calm, with great views.
The house is immaculate & well maintained. Not ultra modern but well furnished.
Ramesh, who looks after the house is just lovely. A gem, a real gentle person. And his cooking is wonderful. He provided us with a 7 course curry & rice. Each dish absolutely delicious, the best we've had.
To have a home away from home, was a real treat.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madurai, India
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Teprandi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Western comforts of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was an exceptional holiday home with all the Western world's amenities (actually reminded us of our Canadian cottage experience:)). Was well designed, with a great cook, friendly, and most of all, privacy high up in the mountains. however, Wi-Fi was also there so you could stay connected if you chose to. Very serene environment with access to the hustle and bustle of the little town Ella close by. We have 3 young kids and they thoroughly enjoyed it! Absolutely a little piece of heaven on earth. Everything you can think of has already been thought of by the homeowner. You must try this place!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The design of the home (Western but with Sri Lankan touches) really appealed to our comfort and that of our kids. Made it a much more pleasurable experience.
Liked least: Was extra chilly at night, but not too many options for warming up in the rooms
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLOK52
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay and eat...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really great place to stay. Views of the tea plantation and right across the valley. 3 really good rooms with everything you could need and a great sitting room, dinning area and kitchen. The bungalow is a real haven and the children loved exploring all round and using the tennis court.

We opted to get dinner and breakfast prepared for us by the cook Ramesh. These were delicious and very very good value. He prepared different meals for the children and took real care over the food - the rice and curry was delicious and the banana pancakes on our last morning were superb!

The bungalow was only five minutes from Ella but felt really secluded. It was so good to be able to relax as a family in a whole property.

Thank you very much.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The tennis court!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandDStan
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa! Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 6 (4 adults & 2 children). The driver's quarter was provided. This bungalow was everything we wanted. It has 3 nice rooms with ac and hot water. The best part was that the cook was included in the price. We paid for the grocery and he cooked us great meals. The kids used the slides and enjoyed riding the bikes. We also enjoyed the chicken farm and the vegetable gardens.

This bungalow had amazing views of the tea plantations. The train station was very close by.

We highly recommend this place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The property and the view
Liked least: Wifi was not reliable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing