We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True home stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Homes Guest Inn
Ranked #61 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“True home stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant home stay, the rooms are basic but if you like to stay in a nice family environment then this is a good choice.
The hostess is a very sweet lady, not so great with English but can make herself understood and understand as well.
We had a very nice dinner and the breakfast is as good as any other places where they extra charge you for it.
It's located about half way from the city center to Adam's little peak, making it very easy to walk around.
Great value for money!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RuiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    40
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
33
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for Christmas 2012. A family of 7 people, we had the place to ourselves, along with a few other friendly travelers in the other wing. The location is excellent, really near Little Adam's Peak, the garden beautiful, the food amazing. Sumitra went out of her way to accommodate us. She cooked us a Christmas dinner we will never forget. She helped us with everything, organized further travel, gave useful advice. She is a dynamic and lovely lady. Definitely recommend the place, would absolutely go back if we ever go to Ella again. Thanks for a memorable Christmas, Sumitra!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmP243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and the place was nice.

Rooms are simple but clean and the setting is peaceful.

Shower was a bit of a dribble, but a hot dribble none the less!

The owner was friendly and helpful although a little pushy with her taxi service and her friends spa.

That said, we owe her big time as we left our passports in our room and she arranged for them to be dropped of with us in Tangalle for 3000 r.

There are lots of nice places to stay in Ella so look around.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen_and_Nath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed there in mid Nov. Lovely place, great price, amazing hostess, burning hot water, stable WiFi.

We arrived in Ella on the morning train from Kandy (highly recommended by the way). It started to rain in the afternoon, which is typical for the hill countries in November. We had nothing else planned for the day, so we were just walking around town checking out which hostels to stay at. The hostess approached us near a major intersection and we thought she was one of the touts; so we ignored her at the beginning as we didn't want part of rent going to the touts. The rain got heavier, and we were walking towards Holiday Homes Guest Inn, the lady followed us and claimed she was the owner. Since she was very smiley and super friendly, we decided to take a look, plus the rain doesn't look like it was going to stop any time soon. She led us through this "short cut" in the rain, it looked way to sketchy, and we became suspicious again... long story short... we ended up staying at Holiday Homes Guest Inn and it was a great decision. She served us a pot of tea and we just chilled and chatted in by the garden till night time. She then cooked us some delicious local noodles. Her husband works in Kuwait and is only home about half the year. Most things in her house are brought home by her husband from Kuwait as taxes are lower there (especially on electronics). This was a real home stay experience as you are living in the same house as the locals. She's currently saving money to build a 3-4 stories hotel next door, you can see it's under construction next door, and will remain so for a while. Her mother lives in the next house, and broker in the one after that.

O ya, and it's only 30min walk to mini-Adam's peak there, great place for sunrise!

Room Tip: Room are simple, but it's clean, got a mosquito net, washroom with burning hot water. So everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimthegreatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The hostess was the sweetest woman on earth !!! She is so loveley.... This place has to come in the books. Nice rooms,Good new bath room.. Nice patio to relax on out side..you can walk from here to little Adams peak and town... I say go there !!! Kind regards from holland

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank amyschaeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I am so glad to have met Sumitra who was the best host we had in Sri Lanka. The rooms at Holiday Homes are nice and clean and her gardens are beautiful. As I admired the jackfruit tree in the garden I mentioned offhand that I had intended to try the famous Sri Lankan jackfruit curry, Sumitra promptly picked one and offered to make it for my dinner that very evening. She did and it was wonderful and served in generous portions!

The guesthouse is in a quiet peaceful location in between the centre of Ella and Little Adam’s Peak. Both are convenient walking distance from the guesthouse. The food and service are fantastic at this little place so I highly recommend it. One fellow there, perhaps Sumitra’s husband, talked about the history of Buddhism with me at great length and recommended various places to visit in the vicinity of Ella.

We were sad to leave after only one night, but Sumitra put us in touch with her brother Jayasena who runs a lovely guesthouse in Kandy. He picked us up from the train station, making the arduous journey a lot more pleasant and simple. You really must stay at Holiday Homes if you are in Ella, and ask about her brother’s guesthouse if you are going to Kandy too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Death_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Sumatra is a wonderful host and a real character! She makes it feel like home and is a wealth of information for things to do in Ella.

Try the breakfast, which is great value and delicious. Rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable, with hot water, fan, and mosquito nets.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Rustle Hill Home Stay
Rustle Hill Home Stay
#68 of 152 in Ella
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
#40 of 152 in Ella
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#8 of 152 in Ella
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adam's Peak Stop Over
Adam's Peak Stop Over
#79 of 152 in Ella
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Lantern Inn
Green Lantern Inn
#49 of 152 in Ella
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wisdom Home
The Wisdom Home
#35 of 152 in Ella
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Homes Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Homes Guest Inn

Property: Holiday Homes Guest Inn
Address: Sapumalthenne, Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 6 rooms - 2 double beds in each room. 4 Can accommodate in a room. Fully tiled rooms. Each room is having attached bathrooms with hot water. Fan can be provided on request, but in Ella there is no need of fans during most of the time. Other amenities: Living area with comfortable sofa, Common TV (satellite TV), Wi-Fi Internet, Dining area with wooden table, Food Specialized on Sri lankan styled meals which are home cooked. Garden setting. Relaxing environment. Tea estate in front of the house. Summer huts to relax and to have meals. Parking facility is available. The location and view. The location of the guest house is a residential rural area surrounded by trees and with the view of mountains. There is a pine forest near the place. Other Services: Transport can be provided with our own van. Free pick up from railway station for our guests (we can arrange our own vehicle). We can arrange tours to any destination in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Homes Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing