We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #41 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“ Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The all day breakfast is ace and fairly reasonable too as it includes tea or coffee and a fruit juice. Had to come back twice to start off my day for it! Staff are pretty helpful too! The garden is really pretty too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank molampha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    83
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
90
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed just one night but we enjoyed excellent hospitality. The rooms are equipped and its very comfortable to stay there. In the place there is a restaurant that serves great food and even has an espresso machine (very rare in Sri Lanka). The place is located in the central area of ​​the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My family and me spent one night in the Ella in Dream Cafe. We had a nice time there and really liked Ella and this hotel. The restaurant is really nice and have special dishes which was a nice refresh.
The only thing is that I agree with the recommendations written below - the fact that the hotel is located on the main street makes it a bit nosisy and I have to admit I woke up quite early because of the buses outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed here one night with my parents. We did not manage to get two separate rooms, but the triple room was really big and it was no problem at all to share. Breakfast was great - try the Sri Lankan one. Pizzas also highly recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkLste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Dream Cafe. Our room was very spacious and the shower was new with lots of hot water. Everything appeared clean. The downstairs cafe is one of the town's best and they're pretty good at organising excursions/ your onward journey.
Here's the downside though: it is located on Ella's main street which means you get a relatively constant flow of buses and trucks passing by. We were abruptly woken up by one such bus stopping in front of the hotel playing loud music at 2 a.m.
The other thing is that it isn't exactly a budget-friendly option.
Also, we asked if we could get our breakfast really early (the plan was to go to Ella Rock) but staff was reluctant and we had to settle for later than originally planned. Those are the details they should work on.
If the Dream Cafe can resort these issues (except the location on noisy road, that won't change), then it certainly has the potential to be one of Ella's best places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiHeadhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Samy was a great host. The rooms have recently been renovated and we were offered a lovely family room which slept 5 for only a bit more than the cost of a double. The road is busy but we found that most of the traffic stops at around 10 and the restaurant is one of the best 2 or 3 in the town. Overall a great experience and very relaxing

P.S. but don't pick up the cute street dog puppies - they have fleas!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultanate of Oman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Freindly staff food good rooms appalling. Stayed one night on a tour. Room no. 2 & 4 were dirty with a makeshift shower and electrical socket hanging off the wall. Rooms upstairs possibly better but not seen

Room Tip: Ask to see room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailblazer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreamcafe e, Owner at Dream Cafe & Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
There was certainly a mistake here - The driver/guide approached us and asked for the cheapest rooms - he was told that the standard rate was 5500Rs for our guest house rooms. He then asked if we had cheaper - he was told that we had two rooms but just for drivers.Then he showed his elderly guests these rooms telling them it was a bargain. We insisted that they view the guest rooms and would never have considered any body but drivers using the rooms in question.
There are enough reports on our new operation supporting our high standards - we cannot control or divert the manipulations of drivers/guides who often have their own agenda!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#55 of 152 in Ella
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
59B Rest Inn Ella
59B Rest Inn Ella
#34 of 152 in Ella
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Holiday Bungalow
0.3 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.3 mi away
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
#40 of 152 in Ella
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cafe & Guest House

Property: Dream Cafe & Guest House
Address: Main Street | Badulla District, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cafe & Guest Houses provides a brand new construction for accommodation which was done recently in addition to the famous restaurant. It offers spacious rooms with wooden floors and attached bathrooms with ultra modern design.These comfortable bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual style. We look forward to your company whether you're staying in the guest rooms, or experiencing the famous food of the restaurant. One thing is for sure, you'll be sure to come back. Accommodation Stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our comfortable 8 bedrooms which are newly constructed are tastefully decorated to highest standards when compared to other places in Ella and fully furnished, each with its own individual style. All rooms are having attached bathrooms designed with latest accessories and rich with elegant design ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dream Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing