We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms unfortunately located at the main road ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #44 of 174 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile


Beautiful room: Very spacious and clean.nice bathroom! Mosquito net available, friendly staff. Good breakfast (toast, jam, eggs, fruit juice).

Downside: VERY loud at night (restaurant underneath; main road and glass door).
Not cheap! (6400 rs).

Overall: wouldn't do it again because of the noise.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Asus1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay the at the Dream Cafe. We paid 4,500 lkr (around £22.50) for bed and breakfast. The room was modern, comfortable and stylish with a nice balcony. Dream Cafe also served great food and breakfast was good. At night dogs howled and someone was revving their motorbike for awhile but it quietened down after 10.30- also anywhere along the main st would experience this noise.

Room Tip: Staff were happy to show you around the rooms that were available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I had a pot of hot lemon tea here, which was nice. The cafe has a nice garden, in which the plants seem to fence off the awful car waste from the street.
It's a good place to hang out with friends for a break in Ella. Even though it's one of those places exclusively for foreign tourists. One doesn't get to see any locals sitting down and swiping their fingers on iPhones.
But the wifi is simply too SLOW. My table and other tables all shared the same problem. The signal seemed strong. But it doesn't get us anywhere.
But

Stayed: November 2013
Thank KevinChen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is located in the Sri Lankan hill country, which is scenic enough as it is, but this hotel is in a great location, in the town and easy access to some brilliant places to take enviable pictures of the amazing sunrises that this place gets. It is also five minutes walk from the railway station - I would recommend a train ride through this countryside for anyone.
The hotel is clean with large comfortable rooms. The restaurant has excellent food and the staff were very accommodating for the wants of a five year old.

Room Tip: The family room has two good sized rooms, with sofa beds for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the Dream Cafe in August with our 4 children for 2 nights, location is great, the rooms were huge, very clean and well furnished. The staff were friendly and brilliant in helping us plan our trips from here. The cafe downstairs was superb with a great choice of cheap and good quality food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Good:
Beautiful, huge, spotless rooms.
Hot water, the best bathroom I've seen in Sri Lanka
Good restaurant
The rooms open to a shared balcony, so you can come and go as you please without having to go into the main building
Good location, on the main street (which is quite peaceful, as Ella is really small), close to the station and next to Nescoffee, which is where you want to eat.

Something great about the staff is that if you want help, they will help you. And what's best - if you want to be left alone, they will leave you alone. After a month of traveling through the region I was really tired of people following me and trying to "do me favors" and sell me stuff. Nothing of that in Dream Cafe (or in Ella, really). Everyone was happily doing their thing.

Bad:
Spotty wifi. That's all, really.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singtheendsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after a recommendation from another traveler we met. The bedroom & bathroom were super - clean & beautifully decorated. The food in the restaurant was brilliant. We would have loved to have return there again but alas it was not on our route.
I would also like to mention that the owners went out of their way to make my son's 15th birthday extra special by providing us with a birthday cake that they had organised for him. They gave it to us as a treat. What excellent service. Thank you

I can thoroughly recommend this for any one travelling with or without kids.

Room Tip: Recommendations from travelers are always the best. We changed our initial plans to go here & we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
180 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cafe & Guest House

Address: Main Street | Badulla District, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: £31 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cafe & Guest Houses provides a brand new construction for accommodation which was done recently in addition to the famous restaurant. It offers spacious rooms with wooden floors and attached bathrooms with ultra modern design.These comfortable bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual style. We look forward to your company whether you're staying in the guest rooms, or experiencing the famous food of the restaurant. One thing is for sure, you'll be sure to come back. Accommodation Stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our comfortable 8 bedrooms which are newly constructed are tastefully decorated to highest standards when compared to other places in Ella and fully furnished, each with its own individual style. All rooms are having attached bathrooms designed with latest accessories and rich with elegant design ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dream Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing