We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe with nice outdoor setting, reasonably priced food with wide selection of Western dishes (great pizzas!).”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #41 of 146 Ella B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cafe with nice outdoor setting, reasonably priced food with wide selection of Western dishes (great pizzas!).”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Good food and wide range of dishes. Had both lunch and dinner here and was impressed with both the variety and quality of food. The pizzas were especially good. Lovely outdoor setting as well. Reasonably priced and efficient service (although not with the biggest of smiles!).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel_Delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    83
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
90
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

After arriving in Ella after being on safari for 48 hours Dream Cafe and Guest House was like an oasis in the mountains.

The rooms are awesome! Super clean, huge, great lounge area and really comfortable beds...the best so far in Sri Lanka. The best part is the amazing hot powerful shower! A welcome treat after the endless cold drizzles that we've had so far on our trip.

The food in the cafe downstairs is delicious. Decent coffee and COLD beers! Very exciting for us as we're all about our beer being cold which is rare over here! Pizzas and hoppers are also to die for.

Can't fault this place, on the Main Street in Ella so good location. Our room was at the back of the building so traffic noise was not too bad but the kitchen was below our room so the smell of wood fired pizza was seriously enticing!

Room Tip: Room 103 at the back of the building is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefreedomtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely big rooms which include a bedroom with comfortable bed and a separate lounge area which was a lovely addition. Very good hot shower, which was very welcome after a 7 hour train journey. Good location in centre of Ella. Only downside was noise from street which was enough to disturb sleep. Surprisingly noisy road. Also had similar experience with howling dog which added to noise! Breakfast was good - nice to have proper coffee! Enjoyed our 2 night stay but would suggest ear plugs if a light sleeper.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egersund, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was pleasant surprise. We had looked at several hotels, and stopped at this one, simply because we were getting tired. From the outside, right there off the main street, we thought it was going to be a dingy motel. The owner or manager (I guess) happily showed us a room, and we were blow away: Not one but two rooms. One a nice-sized living room, and the other a huge bedroom. The bath was fine and everything was clean. There was also a room for our driver. We walked around town a bit, and settled on eating at the guesthouse café. It was pleasant, and the food was good, if not memorable. One tiny criticism: We wanted to share a sampler plate of local cuisine between two of us as an appetizer. The waiter said the portions were tiny, so we ordered one each and they tuned out to be big enough for a dinner in themselves. And we had already ordered a main course. So don’t listen to the waiter unless you are a huge eater. But we slept well and when we got up very early to catch a train, the staff had coffee ready, and had prepared a box breakfast to take with us. One word of warning: The hotel does not take credit cards and the only ATM in town, right across the street, had run out of money (something that apparently happens all the time) so bring enough cash or make other arrangements.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile


Beautiful room: Very spacious and clean.nice bathroom! Mosquito net available, friendly staff. Good breakfast (toast, jam, eggs, fruit juice).

Downside: VERY loud at night (restaurant underneath; main road and glass door).
Not cheap! (6400 rs).

Overall: wouldn't do it again because of the noise.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Asus1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay the at the Dream Cafe. We paid 4,500 lkr (around £22.50) for bed and breakfast. The room was modern, comfortable and stylish with a nice balcony. Dream Cafe also served great food and breakfast was good. At night dogs howled and someone was revving their motorbike for awhile but it quietened down after 10.30- also anywhere along the main st would experience this noise.

Room Tip: Staff were happy to show you around the rooms that were available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I had a pot of hot lemon tea here, which was nice. The cafe has a nice garden, in which the plants seem to fence off the awful car waste from the street.
It's a good place to hang out with friends for a break in Ella. Even though it's one of those places exclusively for foreign tourists. One doesn't get to see any locals sitting down and swiping their fingers on iPhones.
But the wifi is simply too SLOW. My table and other tables all shared the same problem. The signal seemed strong. But it doesn't get us anywhere.
But

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevinChen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#27 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nimsara Homestay
Nimsara Homestay
#17 of 146 in Ella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ella Guest Inn Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Rock Face Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
59B Rest Inn Ella
59B Rest Inn Ella
#39 of 146 in Ella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cafe & Guest House

Property: Dream Cafe & Guest House
Address: Main Street | Badulla District, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cafe & Guest Houses provides a brand new construction for accommodation which was done recently in addition to the famous restaurant. It offers spacious rooms with wooden floors and attached bathrooms with ultra modern design.These comfortable bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual style. We look forward to your company whether you're staying in the guest rooms, or experiencing the famous food of the restaurant. One thing is for sure, you'll be sure to come back. Accommodation Stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our comfortable 8 bedrooms which are newly constructed are tastefully decorated to highest standards when compared to other places in Ella and fully furnished, each with its own individual style. All rooms are having attached bathrooms designed with latest accessories and rich with elegant design ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dream Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing