We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insight into Sri Lanka's main export”

Halpewatte Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Almost every tourist who visits Ella or Bandarawela area pays a visit to our tea factory for its popularity as the largest tea factory in Sri Lanka's Uva region. Our premises offer you an opportunity to experience a guided tour of a tea factory par excellence.Go around in the tea factory with an excellent guide and Learn everything there is to know about Ceylon tea, at a tea tasting session where you will experience the art of tea tasting and manufacturing. Tourists also have the opportunity to purchase factory-fresh teas, while gazing at the panoramic views from our factory.
Minsk, Belarus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Insight into Sri Lanka's main export”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The Halpewatte tea factory offers guided tours in English lead by Rahja. He can preempt and answer all sorts of questions about tea. We arrived around 11am and missed the first process of productions, which had aleady been completed by that time. The factory is open for visitors from 8am until 4pm and offers breathtaking views of tea estates from the terrace on the top floor. The visit is 300 rupees per person, which includes a short tasting session at the end. Blended teas can be purchased in the shop under the Halpe brand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    119
    33
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very educational”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The factory is really interesting. It is located in picturesque area with plenty of tea and rice plantation It is easily accessible by tuktuk and bus from Ella. The process of tea manufacturing is very educational and our guide Rajha was very helpful too. The tee factory is NOT working on Monday. It is open for visitors but there are no workers – so bare that in mind. At the end – nice please to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StefanKrastev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do not miss this if yo are in Ella”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took a tuktuk to this beautiful place (the ride was fun and beautiful as well).
It is definitely worth a visit. The tour is interesting and the views are magnificent.
It was one of our highlights in the whole trip to Sri Lanka.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank slsl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Educational, beautiful view, souvenir shopping available”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife really enjoyed this tour, mainly because she can understand accents a lot easier than I can. She found it really educational, and said the guide was great. I found the factory to be very clean and it was interesting to watch all of the workers doing their daily tasks. The tourist showroom on the top floor is huge and has a beautiful view. The guide will provide you with a sampling here at the end of the tour and then you can browse and buy whatever products you like. Prices range depending on brand. Also, the ride to and from this factory is enjoyable in a tuc-tuc, as it winds up and down a steep mountain roadway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveKeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Not expensive entrance (200 Rs per person), interesting and very informative tour of the tea factory. You get to touch and smell the tea through the production and I loved that. Lovely view at the top and tea tasting at the end of the tour. Nice selection of factory fresh teas available as souvenirs.

We got a tuktuk for 800 Rs to drive us to the factory, but he didn't have change for 1000 Rs so...you know how that goes in Sri Lanka.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halpewatte Tea Factory also viewed

 

Been to Halpewatte Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing