We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
Ranked #39 of 146 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas, Manabi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great family, very helpful to plan stay in Ella. Breakfast was wonderful with tea, fruit, eggs, and bread. Just a short walk down to the main road, but close to the Little Adam's Peak. We stayed 2 nights, had to switch rooms due to another reservation, but both rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for this review... and for staying here...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    32
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
55
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a 1 night stay [but now wish it had been longer] in May. Nelson and his friendly dog made us feel very welcome, like a family friend. The guest house has only 3 rooms but each one is comfortable and has the basic amenities, the breakfast was also very basic but fresh. There is a large outdoor verandah to relax on and enjoy life in a small Srilankan village. It is in easy walking distance to the main part of town and to the Ella Gap hotel for a drink in a lovely garden with great views. Nelson also upgraded our driver to one of the guest rooms which was much appreciated.It was a very good value for money on budget stay. !!! Highly Recommended !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We warmly welcome your great review about here.. really we like to treat all the guests and be helpful to them without disturbing their freedom.. Thank you !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights. Our room was rather small but the space was enough. The bathroom was nice and clean. The pressure of water in the shower was week, but the water was hot. There is no view from the rooms so just get up early and go out:) The WiFi was going on and off which was disturbing. The breakfast included a nice omelet, tea, toasts etc. The owner is a helpful person - ask him anything. The location is good enough. The guest house is located on the way to Little Adams Peek. I think it's a good place for 2-3 nights. For a longer stay I would choose something more special next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review about this... Hope you would like to come again with our new features..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here just for 1 night and actually we skipped Ella. We arrived in the afternoon and left in the early morning. So we only had a quick impression of Ella. Freedom Guest Inn is a 5 minutes walk away from the main street and a 10 minutes walk away from the train station. That is fine by me, because it means that it is quieter during the night. There a living room with 2 bedrooms with each their own shower (and hot water). The water pressure of the shower was low. But as long as i can take a shower, I am happy. You share the spacious living room and that is fine by me. Although nobody was staying in the other room. We took the double bed room. Room (incl. living room) and shower were clean, big enough, bed was comfy and there was a mosquito net. There is wifi, but it only worked properly in the living room. Breakfast was simple but really tasty. The owner is a really nice man, who takes time to give you information and is willing to help. He explained us (even draw a map with the names) directly how to travel, where to get off and which bus number to take, when he asked us where we were on going the next day. Also he brought us to the bus stand after departure. We really appreciated his help.

We only had 1 blanket on our bed. Ella can be really chilly during the night, so I asked a second one. This wasn’t enough. Put some clothes on or ask for a third blanket. Unless you radiate your own heat.

The best part of our trip with the train to Ella from Kandy was actually the train ride itself. Especially the part before you arrive in Ella. Look to the right and you see beautiful waterfalls (it just rained), rice paddies and beautiful nature. If we had more time to spend, we would definitely spend at least one more day in Ella and at Freedom Guest Inn. However we decided to go to Tissa for Yala NP. Which was great!

I definitely recommend this place.

A general tip:

SL has a wide variety of sockets. I have seen 4 different kinds of sockets. A universal, a Bristish, a Sri Lankan and a European one. The European works a little bit different. You need a small plastic pin (no metal!!) if you want to make use of it. The thing is that you never know which socket to expect. Some rooms have 2 different types of sockets, some 3 and some only 1.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
sooo amazing review that we've ever seen... Thank you so much for you to this great review and for staying here out of hundreds of guest inns in Ella. Hope to see you in future as a more delightful guest inn with your thankful help !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rooms are value for money - clean and comfy. Nelson even switched on the hot water at 4.30am so we could have hot showers before departing for a trip to Horton's Plain. Excellent advice re Small Adam's Peak and a walk back through the tea plantation and along the railway line! Also, the New Year's sports in the domain.....tug of war during the day and dancing into the night.
The breakfast were lovely served in Nelson's "police" china! His wife prepared a delicious dinner too. You can walk into the town. Nelson picked us up from the station on arrival and dropped us at the bus stop on departure - no cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you sir, for this great review and hope you have enjoy here.... see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our first impression on Freedom Inn was 'Wow, the actual place looks even nicer than the photos'! The rooms, the common area and the courtyard are very clean. We can see Nelson is working hard to maintain and improve this place. My two little boys run and play in the courtyard happily everyday. Nelson's breakfast is the best of compared to other places we stayed in Sri Lanka, with 3 different kinds of fruits!! Sometimes even jackfruit if you are lucky.

Nelson is very knowledgeable about Ella and its surrounding. He can tell you when the train is the passing the nine arch bridge, where to shoot the best picture. He can explain to you how the Demodara loops work, and where to watch the train approaches. He is the best tourist information centre in Ella!

Like what other reviews have mentioned, the water pressure is very low, but according to Nelson water is scarce in Ella. He has to buy water from a private company and they charge him 1 rupee for a litre. He needs about 3000 litre to fill up his tank. 'Water is problem, but slowly, slowly I improve it', says Nelson. Nelson also offers his tuk-tuk service for his guests. It may not be always the cheapest but he will never over-charge you extensively. Freedom Inn is really a nice place to stay. Keep it up, Nelson!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelyeNochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your great ideas about us.... we love your comments really.... Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Freedom Guest Inn is a good budget option in Ella. We found the atmosphere very relaxed and slept heavenly. Rooms are a bit small, water pressure in the shower was very low -- but at the time of our visit there was almost no rain for about ten weeks. Nelson, the host, is a thoroughly nice man and one of the few in the tourism industry in Sri Lanka, who is genuinely on the side of his guests. The center of the village with lots of nice cafes and restaurants and a great local bar is only a 5 min walk away. Stayed there four nights and felt rested and refreshed when we had to leave (which was much too early). Thank you, Nelson!

Room Tip: Room in the back right corner of the house felt very quiet. They also have a cottage for those, who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for this review... your cool idea is great to look forward in good angle of the business.. Thank you very much and invite to come again and compare the new conditions....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.4 mi away
Eeshani Guest Inn
Eeshani Guest Inn
#48 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rock Face Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Sun Top Inn
Sun Top Inn
#47 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Blue View Inn
The Blue View Inn
#49 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#28 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Guest Inn Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Guest Inn Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Guest Inn Ella

Property: Freedom Guest Inn Ella
Address: 131 / 1 Passara Road Ella, Ella 2143, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nice place to stay just 300 m away from ella townhot water. wi-fi, taxi service olso provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Freedom Guest Inn Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing